about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
104 290904 Jan 15, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $632.87
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.88
8.79
8.7
l3a_copy

Specifications:
The large angle of view (122 degrees super wide angle of view at 12mm along the diagonal axis) is ideal for shootings indoor as well as landscape photography. It has a variable angle of view from 122 degrees at 84.1 degrees. Four Special Low Dispersion (SLD) glass elements are provided for effective compensation of color aberration, which is a common problem with super-wide angle lenses. Two pieces of Glass Mold and one-piece hybrid aspherical lenses offer excellent correction for distortion as well as all types of aberration. By effective arrangement of lens elements and advanced technology this lens has Super Compact dimensions of 3.9 inches full-length, and 3.4 inches maximum diameter.

It is equipped with Inner focusing system that will keep the length of the lens unchanged while controlling aberration. The models, which are equipped with HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor, available for Sigma, Canon and Nikon camera mount lens) system offer Full Time Manual Focusing. It has a minimum focusing distance of 11 inches (28cm) at all focal lengths. This lens is equipped with an integral Petal-type hood to block out extraneous light.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
      
Santoso
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 23, 2007
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Color, contrast, price friendly and full frame!!
Cons:
No Filter

My 2 cents: no matter what others said, for cannon full frame user this lens is in a league of its own. The widest lens I can get for my 5D is 16-35 not to mention the price you have to pay. The difference of 16 vs 12 does matter. For my full frame when price vs value in question, this lens is a definate 10. stop down to 8 and above, you cant find much difference with those expensive ones. A must for cannon full frame; landscaper, cityscaper, and indoor shooter.

Mar 2, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Santoso to your Buddy List  
Pell
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 26, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1592
Review Date: Feb 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Nearly as sharp as a Canon 16-35 stopped down at the same F stop (sharper in the corners in certain situations). Great colour and contrast,works perfectly on a fullframe and I was honestly very impressed.
Cons:
As many others stated, no real mountable filters however not a huge deal unless you are worried about dust.

Best wide angle lens for the dollar I have purchased. Great build quality, fast focus, quiet, WIIIIIIDDDDEEEEEE on a fullframe, relatively small, relatively fast aperture. I am really pleased.

I was worried at first because I have heard Sigma has sketchy quality assurance but we got a great copy. I compared it against the 16-35 mk1 stopped down with the same settings and it only marginally was sharper with better colour and contrast, very tough to tell the difference.

If you can find one cheap and have a fullframe, this is absolutely worth the money. If you need it for indoors or low light use, I would shy away from it as it is a bit slow for that.


Feb 18, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Pell to your Buddy List  
veroman
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3803
Review Date: Feb 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $599.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp Extremely low distortion, usually none at all! Excellent color Super wide angle Moderately priced
Cons:
Unable to mount front filters Must be stopped down to at least f/8 for very best results

I purchased a Canon 16-35 Mark II some time back for shooting very tight spaces during interior work, but I found I wasn't using it as much as had anticipated (I generally use primes), so I sold it. Also, the very noticeable barrel distortion at the wide end was hindering its usability on occasion.

I later purchased Sigma's 12-24 for those same tight-space situations, crossing my fingers when I clicked the "Submit Purchase" button in the hope of receiving a first-rate copy of this lens.

Well, it appears I did.

The 12-24 is actually serving me better than the Canon 16-35 II did, and I use it much more often than I did the Canon. It's ever-so-lightly less sharp and less detailed than the Canon, but you'd really have to be pixel-peeping to see the difference. Once in print in magazines I would venture there's no discernible difference whatsoever in sharpness, contrast and color.

Color and contrast with the 12-24 are truly excellent ... top-notch, in fact. And the vanishingly low distortion puts this lens in a class by itself. You really have to use it to believe it. There's absolutely NO barrel distortion with this lens, even at 12mm!

I shoot 100% tripod-mounted with this lens and almost always stopped down to f/11 to f/13 max. At those settings, it's always tack sharp. Shooting larger apertures tends to introduce some loss of detail and sharpness. Images from the 12-24 also have an unexplainable "brightness" to them, and I don't mean it overexposes at a given setting compared other lenses. They simply look, well, brighter than the Canon and other wide angles I've used ... more alive, perhaps?

This lens is an exceptional value, provided you purchase it from a dealer who will let you exchange copies until you find one that matches the best descriptions and reviews of this lens. I lucked out and nailed one on the first try. Others have not not been so fortunate. There are many, many stories of photographers who went through 4, 5, 6 and 7 and 8 copies before finding one up to spec. On the other hand, you can always send your first copy to Sigma for adjusting, if need be. They're very good at it and very accommodating.

I paid $599 for mine. An amazing price for this level of optical quality.


Feb 8, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add veroman to your Buddy List  
Kevin Sherman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 11, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1045
Review Date: Jan 31, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $540.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: WIDE! Great build quality, feels sold. Very well priced.
Cons:
Colors and contrast a bit weak when compared to some Canon glass (specifically the 50mm f1.4 and the 24-105 f4L).

So far this is a great lens! I purchased primarily for the 12mm end and it certainly doesn't disappoint! Not as sharp as my Canon glass, but Canon doesn't have a 12mm full frame lens!

If you have a need for an ULTRA-wide angle lens, look no further!

Little informal review, http://weblog.xanga.com/ksherman_86/640315088/sigma-goodness.html where I show a comparison of just how wide the lens is, compared to the 50 f1.4 and the 24mm end of the 24-105 f4L. In addition, I have a comparison shot of the difference in color/contrast that I mentioned in the Negative box above.

-KS-


Jan 31, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kevin Sherman to your Buddy List  
Generalair
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 27, 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: I love this lens! Originally I bought it to get the wide angle to compliment the other lenses I have. But shooting landscapes and old buildings I found myself carrying around a lot of heavy glass and not using them. The colors a great sharpness awesome on top you get dramatic effect of perspective. I didn't even break out the macro as this lens's minimum distance is very close and sharp. There is no dark corners on the my 5D. Can't wait to take it out on my next trip its seems to be replacing my 17-40L.
Cons:



Dec 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Generalair to your Buddy List  
littlome
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 66
Review Date: Nov 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Solid build, great field of view on full frame
Cons:
Slow aperature, soft

Went through three of these (two of which were calibrated by Sigma) looking for a razor-sharp copy that a few lucky others claim to own. All three copies after calibration were about the same sharpness.

With post-processing, provides wonderfully wide and saturated prints. Although images seem soft on the screen while pixel-peeping, the lens is more than sharp enough to produce prints with very good detail. Corners at the widest settings on full frame tend to be on the soft side.

All in all, I am very happy with this lens. I'm able to get incredibly wide shots and position the camera in ways to get creative shots not possible with my other longer wide-angle lenses. I've gotten quite attached to this lens, it's a lot of fun to use.


Nov 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add littlome to your Buddy List  
Rodney_Gold
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 24, 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 218
Review Date: Nov 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: WIDE!!!!!!! , not too pricey, pin sharp , amazing on FF, excellent AF
Cons:
Nothing so far

I was hesitant to buy this lens based on these reviews , I must have got a really good one , cos even 200% crops with it at wide open are seriously good. I have a 28-300L on FF and this lens is an ideal compliment. I find IQ BETTER than my 17-40L (which I had stupidly sold)
Flare when the sun is in the frame is a small issue, but understandable. First time I have EVER liked "vignetting" or some light drop off when wide open as it gives a sort of polarising effect with skys. The light drop off on my 17-40 was far worse and used to bug me. I use it for interior and exterior architectural stuff , auto photography (interiors), landscapes etc. I have got some really interesting shots with this lens. I was never really an ultra wide angle fan or indeed WA , but I'm now converted.
Dont really see the use of it on a cropped cam tho in terms of UWA , but have used it to great effect on my 30d
Filter issue is a non issue for me , I dont use polarisers.
I tried the new 14L II , but at it's price it was a no-no
The IQ was no better than the sigma and pop contrast etc was neither , the 12-24 is more flexible. I dont shoot with the sigma wide open 99% of the time , so the 2.8 of the 14L II was academic.
I had bought a Tamron 15-30 real cheap prior to this lens and wasnt all that happy , the 12-24 is soooo much better.
When first mounting the lens , my camera went moggy and I thought "uh uh - some problem" , but it wasnt the lens , it was the fact my battery grip was not tightend properly on my 5d. I just wish I had bought this lens long ago.


Nov 13, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Rodney_Gold to your Buddy List  
John Mills
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 23, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 377
Review Date: Oct 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Low barrel distortion for such a wide lens, good construction.
Cons:
Bulbous front element, cannot put filters on the front.

I was using this lens on my 20 and 30D's and was continually getting really soft images on the right hand side of the image. I now use it on my 5D and I am getting completely sharp images from corner to corner. I think it has an issue with crop sensor cameras! The lens is fantastic for tight architectural uses at 12mm.

Oct 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add John Mills to your Buddy List  
ritz05
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 6, 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sep 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: THE widest lens you can get for fullframe , sharp, good IQ and contrast, desent build, and it is wide
Cons:
Front bulging, no filters, usually have to stop down 1/1 when using outside, prone to flares in sunligt.

This popeye is my second 12-24 , the first one was a bad copy, but I think this one is okay. I find it great at my 1D3.

Samples at : http://www.pbase.com/ritzlau/sigma_12-24


Sep 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ritz05 to your Buddy List  
Per Zangenberg
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 17, 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 11
Review Date: Aug 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: THE widest lens you can get for fullframe (except fisheye), sharp, good IQ and contrast, desent build, did I mention it's WIIIIIIDE!
Cons:
Front bulging, no filters, usually have to stop down 1/1 when using outside, prone to flares in sunligt.

I had the 10-22 for my 30D, but after going with 5D I needed a new wideangle lens. This Sigma has a very good rep for fullframe and is a whole 5mm wider than 17-40L and many say IQ and correction is even better than 17-40. On APS-C (1.6x) this lens has no meaning though.

Samples:

http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=455
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=457
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=393
http://www.zangenberg.net/foto/index.php?id=400


Aug 9, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Per Zangenberg to your Buddy List  
picnic
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 25, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1428
Review Date: Jul 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: little to no flare, little distortion, quiet accurate focus, excellent IQ for wide zoom
Cons:
Can't use filters, bulbous lens with hood that won't protect a lot

I have hesitated for over a year about buying this lens due to reviews citing QC problems. I bought it this week--and wish I had earlier. I did a head to head real life test, on tripod, with my very good Sigma 15-30 and was surprised to see the 12-24 do better--at all FL (did not expect much at longer end).

Its quite sharp, softer in corners but totaly expected with this ultra wide lens. Focus was quick, accurate and quiet. CA is controlled nicely and you have to push really hard to get it to flare. Lack of distortion is pretty amazing in this wide lens. Color is less warm than my 15-30, contrast is better. Overall, I'm really pleased with the lens. My copy had a stiff zoom but its loosened up quickly and now is just about right. Just a terrific lens on a 5D.


Jul 17, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add picnic to your Buddy List  
ray_lam5
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 18, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 71
Review Date: Mar 17, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $540.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: super wide, great build, sharp
Cons:
slow for interior shots, quite heavy, some flare

Picked up a 2nd hand copy and was slightly concerned about recieving a soft copy after reading so many forums and views. Afer shooting a few shots in good light i am mightily impressed. The wide angle on my 1d equates to around 15mm and at last provides the length o am looking for. The built in lens hood offers the bulbous glass a good level of protection, so i dont really agree with the negative vibes that this lens has recieved.

Mar 17, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ray_lam5 to your Buddy List  
GOVA
Offline
Image Upload: On

Registered: Nov 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1088
Review Date: Dec 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Built quality/materials used - exceptional 12mm wide is well corrected and very usable
Cons:
None for what it is.

I use this lens with 5D. I use it @ 12mm most of the time, that is why I'd purchased it in the first place.

This lens is something else... Images at 12mm are very good.
Do not expect its corner performance to be similar with 24-70L or something alike. This is a super ultra wide zoom, and for its purpose it performs very good.

I like its built quality and materials used very much. It feels very solid in all respects. F/4.5-5.6 might be a limiting factor for some, especially for indoor shooting. I just shoot at ISO 1600-3200.

I love using it outdoors since usually I can stop it down a little and not worry about available light.




Dec 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add GOVA to your Buddy List  
Hans im Glueck
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 6, 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 17
Review Date: Dec 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp ,almost no distortion,even @12mm at full frame. Exellent build quality
Cons:
Corners a little soft wide open.There is some Vignetting. Issues with qualitycontrol:Test your copy before You buy it !

If You`re looking for a ultra wide angle at full frame, this is the right choice. Its impressing, how the lens masters that angle with almost no distortion even at 12 mm. Sharpness is very good in the center, and, if stopped down, also in the corners.
Beware of bad centered copies . Try it before You buy it.


Dec 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Hans im Glueck to your Buddy List  
gretar
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 11, 2005
Location: Iceland
Posts: 1
Review Date: Nov 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: almost everything
Cons:
not able to use front protective filter

My first Sigma. Tried a few last year for my Rebel XT, but all suffered from a front focus problem. Now, tried the 12-24 with my 5D and was blown away. Sharp across the range, good contrast, colours and everything. A real gem. Was expecting to try a few copies (read other posts on quality control or lack of it), but the first one was the one. The serila number is 2005xxx. Maybe Sigma has gotten their stuff together. Very happy with this lens. My other lenses consist of none L lenses (being not a professional and supporting a family), being Canon 50 mm/1.8, Canon 24/2.8, Canon 70-300 IS, Tamron 24-135 and Tamron 2X. Highly recommended.

Nov 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gretar to your Buddy List  
Amsterdam
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 16, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Review Date: Oct 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Unique ultra wide angle zoom lens, almost no barrel distortion, price, HSM, compact build
Cons:
Sigma QC

This is a truly unique ultra wide angle zoom lens, which can give dramatic results if u know how to use it = getting close to ur subject. Its great for all styles of photograhy; a picture taken with a normal wide angle lens, lets say 24 mm, becomes stunning. Especially used at the 12mm setting on a full frame DSLR (i used it on a Kodak SLR/c).
However, there is a major issue and that's Sigmas quality control. I had to send the lens no less then 3 times to the service centre. There were all kinds of problems with my sample: Very blurry corners, incorrect distance meter, no serial number on the lens, etc etc. After the third time they got it right.
So i really recommend this lens especially if ur using a full frame DLSR, but beware about which sample you buy!


Oct 17, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Amsterdam to your Buddy List  




Sigma 12-24mm f4.5-5.6 EX DG Aspherical HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
104 290904 Jan 15, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $632.87
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.88
8.79
8.7
l3a_copy

supersize


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next