about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 28-300 f3.5-6.3 Macro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 145807 Dec 17, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
45% of reviewers $245.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.23
7.38
5.6
28_300_macro

Specifications:
Sigma Corporation is pleased to announce the availability of the new 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 MACRO lens.Ultra compact dimensions, length: 3.3", diameter: 2.9", Filter Size: 62mm and a 10.7:1 zoom ratio make this lens the ultimate traveling companion. This versatile, all-purpose zoom can capture a wide ranging series of subjects using its wide angle, ultra-telephoto and close-up capabilities. It incorporates 2pcs Special Low Dispersion SLD glass elements and 4pcs Aspherical Lenses, to produce a high level of optical performance. Aspherical lenses provide excellent correction for all types of aberration while making a very compact construction possible. This lens has a minimum focusing distance of 50cm at all focal lengths. Equipped with a macro mechanism for close-up photography at 300mm telephoto, with a reproduction ratio of 1:3. It is equipped with a "zoom lock" to prevent the zoom setting from being changed inadvertently. It incorporates an internal focusing system, which eliminates front lens rotation, allowing the use of polarizing filters and Petal type hoods. The lens materials used in this new lens are lead and arsenic free ecological glass.


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
Shivz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Apr 26, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Versatility. All in one, practical, light weight. Good customer support at Sigma. A perfect travel lens for hobbyist photographer.
Cons:
Less than excellent image quality.

I have had this lens for a few years now. I use it on my Canon EOS film camera. I think for a hobbyist it is a wonderful travel companion, but it is not a serious lens for pro use. The auto zoom function stopped working, but Sigma fixed it for me within a week. That happened in year 2 or 3, so the unit was out of warranty, the cost was about $55.

A note to Ohansen, there is a lens lock that prevents the lens from extending while not in use. The lock looks like the Auto/Manual focus switch and it is close to the mount.


Apr 26, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Shivz to your Buddy List  
jameslander
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 27, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5
Review Date: Feb 26, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Workable, all in one lens. Avoids changing lenses in adverse conditions. Results fine for 90% of work, and close up facility a real bonus.
Cons:
Really needs a tripod at 300mm.

I have used the lens with my EOS10D under a variety of conditions, and by judicious use of the "film" speed, have always managed to get good results. Results at 300mm may be less good, but I suspect camera shake as the cause.

Buy it for its' massive zoom range and you will not be disappointed. Life is but a compromise, after all.


Feb 26, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jameslander to your Buddy List  
ohansen
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 30, 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Review Date: Dec 30, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Zoom range
Cons:
Weight, zoom extends when carried

Excellent zoom range, and I've taken hundreds of nice pictures with it. However I was disappointed with the image quality and frequent underexposures, and deeply annoyed at the lens always extending by itself when hanging over your shoulders (at 300mm it's quite long). After a few months I got fed up and started using my Sigma 24-70 3.5-5.6 and Tokina AF 70-210 4-5.6 again, and didn't use it for ages until I recently sold it.

Dec 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ohansen to your Buddy List  
CyberDyne
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1274
Review Date: Dec 15, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $219.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: One lens for all purposes... good for a trip perhaps?
Cons:
This lens will turn the BEST DSLR into a reasonable point & shoot digicam!

First,. with a lens of this type we have to have perspective..
We simply can not expect the kind of quality available from more serious glass. If we set aside such expactations,. we may find something to like.

It all boils down one positive,. but its a biggy. (or smally?)

Portability.
This lens is an entire kit in one lightweight lens. This is where it may have it's place.

But image quality will suffer. Wide is not too bad.. but 300mm is god awefull compared to the real thing.

Focus is actually pretty quick and not too loud,. but it is no USM/HSM focus to be sure. It mis-focuses about 20% of the time forcing you to let it "hunt" for a while.

Put this on your DSLR and you will transform it into a compact 10.8X zoom Digicam. If you compare it that way,. then it isn't soo bad,. but considering that a great 10X zoom digicam can be had these days for $400.00,.. why would you wnat to spend over a graand on a DSLR and this lens to get a similar image?

Conclusion:
Don't EVER think of getting this as your first lens or only lens. But if you have a well rounded kit of good lenses,. then something like this may be of interest for certain situations where quality takes a far backseat to ultra portabilty.

Here are some halfway decent shots I got with one;
http://cyberdynesytemsimaging.fotopic.net/photo.php?id=564030
http://cyberdynesytemsimaging.fotopic.net/photo.php?id=1015599
http://cyberdynesytemsimaging.fotopic.net/photo.php?id=508477
http://cyberdynesytemsimaging.fotopic.net/photo.php?id=497059
http://cyberdynesytemsimaging.fotopic.net/photo.php?id=528047
http://cyberdynesytemsimaging.fotopic.net/photo.php?id=527916


Dec 15, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add CyberDyne to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 28-300 f3.5-6.3 Macro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 145807 Dec 17, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
45% of reviewers $245.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
6.23
7.38
5.6
28_300_macro


Page:  1 · 2