about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tokina 20-35mm AT-X 235 AF PRO

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 76623 Jul 14, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
80% of reviewers $458.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.17
8.83
8.1
8232atx235afpro

Specifications:
The AT-X 235 AF PRO is a wide-angle zoom lens that will produce dynamic images, which are sharp from edge to edge. The fast, constant maximum aperture of f/2.8 makes wide-angle photography, like reportage, effortless in difficult lighting situations such as indoors or at dusk.

Two Pioneering all-glass aspherical lens elements, one front and rear, (F&R aspherical) are employed to eliminate wide-angle spherical astigmatism and correct edge/marginal light rays for superb image quality. Hoya Corporation, the world’s largest optical glass manufacturer, has created a micron-tuned precision molding technique with the accuracy to form aspherical surfaces to the thousandths of a millimeter. These aspherical elements, as well as 11 more of the remaining 13, receive Tokina’s unique multi-coatings to further improve optical performance.

Continuing the tradition of AT-X, this AT-X PRO series lens boasts a solid, all metal construction using duraluminum alloy. Tokina’s Focus Clutch Mechanism allows maximum AF response and sensitivity while focusing manually.


 


          
miked58
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 2, 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well built, acceptably sharp at f2.8 and then gets better
Cons:
None so far

I got mine pretty cheap on an auction site about 25% of new price. The build quality is quite striking when you haven't had an expensive pro lens before. It is not as heavy as the canon 24-70mm f2.8 since that is also bulky as well as heavy. This feels good on a mid range camera (I use a 50D). At first I thought it was soft but shooting in RAW and converting with some normal sharpness it soon rivaled my other sharp macro lenses. I am still playing with it to find its foibles but pretty good and very happy so far. Some CA appears at odd times but far less than I was expecting. I am not into manual focusing so the clutch seems OK. The focus is not lightening speed but quite fine for the type of landscapes and portraits I do. I haven't tried any action but you don't use these for action anyway.
I have used some camera microadjustment on the lens and it is now very consistent.


Jul 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add miked58 to your Buddy List  
pc168
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 9, 2007
Location: China
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 17, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Quite sharp (when in focus). F2.8 is usable. Stop down a bit will get excellent resolution.
Cons:
Out of focus (with work around)

I've been using more than 6 lenses on my 1DMarkIII without any focus issue except this one! Tried 3 copies and they were always out of focus when using the center AF point. However, the focus issue can be resolved when I switch to multi-point AF (ring of fire). When in focus, this lens is quite sharp.



Feb 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pc168 to your Buddy List  
M.T.
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 18, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 118
Review Date: Apr 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Well built and quite sharp, especially for the money. f/2.8
Cons:
AF not as fast as USM, not as sharp as a prime or L glass but also much less $$$

This is a great lens for a great price (second hand anyway). It is well built, though hefty. Flare and distortion are well controlled. I'm on the fence about the clutch manual focus mechanism. but rarely use so not a big deal. Definitely recommended!

Apr 20, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add M.T. to your Buddy List  
regm
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 30, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Review Date: Aug 31, 2005 Recommend? no | Price paid: $479.95 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Fits the range I most often use in my work, supposedly a great lens and a good buy according to others.
Cons:
Pictures out-of-focus

I used this lens on a Canon Elan 7E and my Canon 20D. Pictures are almost all out of focus, some worse than others.
On a comparison test with the 18-55mm Canon kit lens, the Tokina was far worse.
The Photozone ratings for these two lenses:
18-55 = 1.18
20-35 = 3.97
Looks like I got a dud, I'll be returning it to Tokina for....repair?

Whether it means anything or not, the shots on the film camera looked better than the digital photos


Aug 31, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add regm to your Buddy List  
condyk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 14, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 300
Review Date: May 8, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A substantial lens with great build quality. Focus and zoom really nice to use. Canon 17-40 L quality. Auto focus super fast. Amazingly dynamic, sharp images. Hood works very well.
Cons:
Expensive new, but a good SH buy! It's wide but not super, super wide: I tend to use 25-30 range mainly anyway.

I bought my copy second hand and so luckily missed out on the £500 + new price paid in the UK :-) Very happy.

Has proven to be awesome value. I really like the pictures this lens takes straight from the camera. Lots of keepers and most require only very minor, if any, contrast tuning in Photoshop.

A good lens if you don't need super wide, i.e. like most people, and you want a lens that can actually stay on your 1.6 crop DSLR camera for most of the time.

Highly recomended, especially second hand. Built like it will last a lifetime.


May 8, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add condyk to your Buddy List  
soarder
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 24, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 25, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid Build like a tank, sharp and no distortion. Not expensive, a lot of value for money, can compeet with a canon 17-40 L
Cons:
A bit soft at F 2.8, just a bit heavy. Focus ring is a bit confusing.. Not a 17-35mm, lenshood is bit small..

I bought this lens by Ebay in Germany.. I was lucky with the price as it was brand new..! This lens rocks! I have tested it next to a 17-40 L and it this baby is no less. Of course the canon has 3 mm more wide-angle.. The images are sharp at F4 and higher. At F 2.8 it is a bit soft and you get extremely small dept of field, but above it is great! No Distortion.. and that is really nice. For landscapes, this is the lens..! And it is solid build… It felt of a bookshelf, and it had no scratch at all.. The focus ring is a bit annoying, because you need to push and pull for letting it work. But mostly I work with AF, and than it is not a issue.. Lenshood is a bit small.. Af works ok, not superfast, but fast enough! I can recommend this lens, especially if you pay a good price for it.. If money is not a issue, Buy the 17-40 L of canon, same quality, but more wideangle..

Mar 25, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add soarder to your Buddy List  
spartan123
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Nov 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3683
Review Date: Oct 20, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $619.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, range ,speed and the fast fixed aperture! Built very well.
Cons:
None

This is becoming one of my favorite wide angle zoom lens.

Focuses way faster then what I though it would. Sharp with great color and contrast.

I highly recommend this lens.

spartan


Oct 20, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add spartan123 to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: Sep 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank, dropped out of car, bounced off floor a couple of time and still works like a charm. Solid build. Great pictures.
Cons:
None really, its a great lens, I had it for Nikon, just switched to Canon and it was the 2nd lens I picked up for the Canon. 1/2 the price and 99% the quality of manufacturers lens !!!!

As stated above, its an amazing lens. I have dropped it, had it drop out of a car and its unmarked. Solid build, rugged construction.

In your hand it feels like a tank, the focus (manual) is fantastic, not sloppy at all. In AF its a no brainer !

Unless you want to pay double for the manufactures lens and not really get better pictures, pick one up today.

HIGHLY recomended


Sep 27, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
rolftruck
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 8, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sep 4, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $325.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: build quality, zoom range, easy handling, crisp results
Cons:
none

I haven't had this one too long (bought it used) but it's done 10 rolls of film on an F90x and I have only good things to say. Images are very sharp at middle apertures, and seem perfectly acceptable at 2.8. Haven't seen any flare problems yet, nor unwanted/unexpected distortions. Best part is the way it feels on the camera -- nicely balanced, as if really belongs there. This one is definitely a keeper. I have other Tokina Pro lenses (17, 28-80, 80-200) but I think this one is the best of the bunch, rivalled only by the 28-80. I also have Nikkor primes throughout this range (20, 24, 28, 35, MF or AF) but without having done any deliberate testing, I think only the Nikkor AF 24 is sharper.

Sep 4, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rolftruck to your Buddy List  
trsqr
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 24, 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 38
Review Date: Jul 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $529.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Build quality, performance when stopped down, internal focusing, handling
Cons:
Performance at f/2.8, flare, focus clutch mechanism

Despite the AF/MF/Focus clutch kludge this lens is a joy to use. Performance with a 10D is good at f/4 and below. f/2.8 is a little bit soft.

Build quality and the feel of the lens in your hands is exceptional. Manual focusing ring feels well dampened, unlike newer Canon lenses.

In theory, the lens offers full time manual focusing, but the AF speed is quite slow when using FTM, so better use AF without FTM or plain MF.


Jul 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add trsqr to your Buddy List  

   



Tokina 20-35mm AT-X 235 AF PRO

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 76623 Jul 14, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
80% of reviewers $458.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.17
8.83
8.1
8232atx235afpro