about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
104 215105 Jun 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $101.62
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.65
9.43
9.0
3029ef_50_18_1_

Specifications:
Canon's first revision of the standard focal length prime.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 
          
marksct
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 3, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 245
Review Date: May 25, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $65.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light. Sharp, Excellent clarity, color.
Cons:
Build. Made of plastic. So you buy three for the price of the f1.4 and save them for when one wears out.

Money!
My portrait lens on my 10D.

The best value for a photo lens in the world, bar none.

Everyone should have this in their bag.


May 25, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add marksct to your Buddy List  
adrian-e
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 12, 2004
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 5
Review Date: May 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $85.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent image quality, sharp, contrast, cheap, light and fast AF
Cons:
Poor build quality, lack of distance scales, extending zoom (front element)

This is a fine lense: sharper than my 70-200 f/4L, lighter than my 17-40 and cheaper than both Smile. I'm glad this one is not that expensive as my lenses take a real beating sometimes.

I love this thing for portraits and low-light situations.


May 13, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add adrian-e to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: Switzerland
Review Date: May 3, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap, sharp, fast AF
Cons:
None



May 3, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
Derek_S
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 22, 2003
Location: N/A
Posts: 450
Review Date: Sep 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: It's really cheap!
Cons:
It's really cheap(ly built)!

Surgeon General's Warning : Use of this lens "filterless" on female portraiture is extremely hazardous to your health. In some instances, you will receive a kick to the groin upon showing women pictures of them taken with this lens.

Outside of that, this is the Grado SR-60 (if you get that reference, you are really, really, really cool. Really.) of the photography world. It's sharp, has a nice contrast, focuses relatively well in low light, and cheap to boot!


Sep 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Derek_S to your Buddy List  
Gochugogi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9630
Review Date: Jul 12, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $95.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, cheap, small, light, dependable & kick ass lens
Cons:
Gritty MF & people keep asking if I want to sell it...

For years this was one of my favorite lenses due to its sharpness, perspective, portability and low cost. It shares many characteristics with the EF 35 2.0: small (42 mm L), light (188 g), 5-blade diaphragm, 52 mm filter threads and focuses close (45 cm). The front element does not rotate, but the lens changes in length when focusing. This front element extension is why AF is a little slower than other AFD lenses such as the EF 24 2.8.

Surprisingly, AF is about the same speed as the EF 50 1.4 USM. Unfortunately, the AF motor is noisier than most AFD lenses. The manual focusing ring has a loose gritty feel, the worst I have used. This lens has DOF markings for F11 and 16. In contrast, the EF 50 1.8 MK II lacks a DOF scale and the EF 1.4 USM only sports F22.

The six-element design is highly flare resistant compared to a zoom lens. Moreover, it is extremely well corrected, sharp and contrasty (Photodo 4.2 MTF).

The EF 50 1.8 has been out of production since the early 90s, so it's difficult to find the original ES-65 lens hood. Unfortunately, there are three good substitutes that clip-on just like the original: the EW-65 II, ET-65 III and ES 65-III. The EW-65 II is the hood for the EF 35 2.0, so it's on the small side. The ES-65 III is the hood for the TS-E 90 2.8 but fits perfectly and affords excellent protection. The ET-65 III is the hood used for the EF 70-210 USM, EF 100-300 USM, EF 85 1.8 USM and EF 100 2.0 USM. Although it looks too big, I have used the ET-65 III with this lens for years and it gives the maximum amount of protection possible without vignetting, plus it looks cool.

Unfortunately, this wonderful lens was discontinued in 1990 and replaced by the cheaply made EF 50 1.8 MK II. Optically they are identical, but the newer version has a plastic mount rather than metal, lacks a distance window and uses a bogus screw in manual focus adapter on the end of the barrel. What a step down! [hurl] Canon probably did this to make a clear distinction between it and the EF 50 1.4 USM, a wonderful lens if you don't mind spending $350. The result is that the old EF 50 1.8 holds its value on the used market, selling for more than a new EF 50 1.8 MK II.

If you wish to buy a MK I used, expect to pay about $100 for one in excellent condition. Mint ones may be a bit more.


Jul 12, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gochugogi to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: Jun 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact, optically almost as good as the 50/1.4, inexpensive, well built.
Cons:
Zizzy AF motor, no RT-M.

This is optically within a hair of as good as the bigger and much more expensive 50/1.4, at all apertures including wide-open. After discovering this knocking around a drawer at my parents' house, I decided to sell the 1.4: for most practical purposes, it does the same thing with less, 2/3 stop brightness difference and USM notwithstanding. The DOF scale is better on this lens than the 1.4, too.

Jun 29, 2003
Edit/Delete Message
mwinog2777
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 2, 2003
Location: N/A
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jun 11, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $69.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low price; light weight; sharp focus; fast lens
Cons:
None

I continue to be amazed by this small/light-weight lens. It is very sharp at 1.8; no need to stop down. I've put my flash away; with fast ISO's, no need for flash. Acts like an 80mm lens, with 1.6 adjustment factor. Leave it on camera, and rarely use any other lens. Can't beat the price.

Jun 11, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mwinog2777 to your Buddy List  
ChuckyB
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 13, 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 29
Review Date: Jun 10, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $125.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp prime. Very good aperture. Very low price.
Cons:
None.

The second revision of this lens doesn't have the distance scale.

Jun 10, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ChuckyB to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
104 215105 Jun 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $101.62
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.65
9.43
9.0
3029ef_50_18_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7