about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
104 214442 Jun 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $101.62
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.65
9.43
9.0
3029ef_50_18_1_

Specifications:
Canon's first revision of the standard focal length prime.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next
          
keith_g_wagner
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Review Date: Mar 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $125.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, image quality great at all settings, extremely shallow depth of field at or near wide open is very artistic and makes the subject stand out very nicely from the background.
Cons:
Out of manufacture.

First, despite the review header on this thread, do not think for one second that you are going to get this lens for the supposed "average" price of about $90.00. If you do, you are buying a lens that is in pretty sorry shape, or from somebody who does not know what they are selling. This lens actually sells for about $120 (if you are lucky) to about $160 (if you just want one, now). Shop for a good price, but don't drive yourself crazy trying to find one for FM's "average" price. You won't find it unless there is something significantly wrong with the lens or the seller. or both. Pay the going rate, and feel good that you have one very, very nice lens (approaching L quality, IMHO) for a relatively inexpensive investment.

I shopped for a long time, and bought one that was being sold
as a part of a lot of camera goods (filters, extension tubes,
other miscellaneous stuff). My estimated actual purchase price for the lens (after selling all the other stuff off) is $125, and I feel lucky to have gotten it for that.

I agree with all other very positive reviewers here, and would only add these comment: this lens is particularly good with digital EOS cameras like the rebels, D10, D20, etc., for two reasons. First, At 800 ISO or higher, it is possible to use this lens in good room lighting without any flash and get a fair number of keepers (not all). Certainly far more that even the far more expensive EFS 17-85mm IS lens (which I also own), despite its image stabilization capabilities, and with a much more artistic depth of field (blurred backgrounds that make the subject "pop" out). Second, due to these cameras' 1.6x crop factor, this, lens operates at exact magnification. Try it: mount the lens, look through the camera and then open your other eye -- it's as if the camera is not there. The image in your eyepiece and without the camera are practically the same size and distance.


Mar 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add keith_g_wagner to your Buddy List  
tKoetting
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 656
Review Date: Feb 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $140.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent portrait lens on a 1.6x crop body. Great value.
Cons:
Focus motor like a dentist drill. Wicked CA wide open.

I got a Mark I version on eBay, then added a 58mm step ring and mounted the hood from an 85/1.8USM. Overall I'm pleased. Unlike the newer mkII version, this one actually has an Manual Focus ring which comes in handy. My copy is useable from f2 up. As sharp as any lens made at f8.



Feb 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tKoetting to your Buddy List  
browntimdc
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 7, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $125.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness and contrast from f5.6. Outstanding value.
Cons:
Noisy autofocus.

Anyone who wants to properly learn the craft of photography must experience the "normal" lens. Comparing it to zooms is misguided. The 6 element "plasmat" design predates WWII. Every serious camera company has made this lens. It's soft wide open but that's a lesson in compromise. On a 1.6X crop digital camera it's a great portrait lens.

Jan 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add browntimdc to your Buddy List  
Orgnoi1
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Oct 20, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 665
Review Date: Dec 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Inexpensive, Great Focus, Metal Mount
Cons:
Slightly Noisy, Cheaply set up m/af switch, Only 52mm instead of 58mm

Up till lately this really sat in my bag more then most... but I use it more than 50% of the time now, and I am not sure I would justify the purchase of a 50mm 1.4 over this lens... its that good...

Dec 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Orgnoi1 to your Buddy List  
ray_lam5
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 18, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 71
Review Date: Dec 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: lovely brokeh, light and compact, sharp for the price
Cons:
manual focus ring is cheap and plastc, hunts when focusing in low light

I like this lens, mainly for the portraits but have used effectively for architectural and landscape detail shots. Images are vivid are colourful good sharpness. Could be better built, bought one through ebay. I would dread to think how bad the mark 2 version of this is built quality wise, this is good but not amazing. Do find it to be a useful and inexpensive start to my camera setup.

Dec 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ray_lam5 to your Buddy List  
mlavander
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 11, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 701
Review Date: Oct 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $74.00

 
Pros: Best Canon lense value for the price, BY FAR. Sharp, awesome huge aperture, light weight. Bokeh.
Cons:
AF hunts in low light, AF is slow in AI Servo mode tracking moving subjects in lots of light. Prone to ingest dust.

For the price, this is a great lense to keep around...but now that I have my 70-200mm f/2.8L, I'm using the 70mm for portrait shots of my daughter instead of the 50mm.

I tried using it at some mountain bike races, but it wasn't tracking the riders like my 17-40 f/4L can.

It worked absolutely sweet taking shots of a friend doing trials riding after dusk with no flash.

Overall, I highly recommend this lense for messing around with since you will never go wrong with the price!


Oct 29, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mlavander to your Buddy List  
Samegapixel
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 6, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 29
Review Date: Sep 27, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very cheap for what you get, focusing seems to be pretty accurate, much sharper at 50mm than my kit lens, very light, pretty good at f1.8, nice metal feel.
Cons:
For me 50mm (80 equiv. on my 350d) is a little long for my favourite uses of f1.8 (indoor e.t.c) so its a shame this quality lens for this price isn't a slightly better focal length. Nothing else really bothers me about this lens though.

Comments above.

Sep 27, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Samegapixel to your Buddy List  
aaaja
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 29, 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 60
Review Date: Sep 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: cheap, nice
Cons:
cheap, nice

........just untill you hold a 1:1,4 in your hand.
If you are semy serious about your hobby or even working as a pro...soooner or later you will get the 1:1,4 .

So maybe save the money towards it?

If a 50mm is not an important lense to you...then the 1:1.8 will do...



Sep 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add aaaja to your Buddy List  
IronDad
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 68
Review Date: Aug 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, fast and cheap!
Cons:
Noisy

I think some people are confusing this lens with the newer 50mm 1.8 mkII ("Negatives: cheap build, plastic mount" )... this review thread is about the older metal-mount lens with the distance scale window. I agree with the poster who said: "there is something historically classic about owning a fast 50mm! " You can't go wrong with this lens.

Aug 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add IronDad to your Buddy List  
Sprout Crumble
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 5, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 444
Review Date: Jul 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, small, light and bright. Well made (MK I)
Cons:
AF not the fastest.

Very useful lens that takes up little room in the bag and is capable of superb results, particularly stopped down a little.
I find it something that doesn't get a phenomenal amount of use, but when you need it, no zoom will do.

Managed to get mine in a high-street sale for a stupid price (under $13!!!!). Would have happily paid ten times as much.


Jul 2, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sprout Crumble to your Buddy List  
mcenut
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 23, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great image and build quality.
Cons:
Focus moter is noisy, but not terrible.

This lens is becoming so hard to find it is increasing in price.

Jun 23, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mcenut to your Buddy List  
LeeG
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 220
Review Date: Jun 21, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $70.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: cost, sharp, light weight,$70.00! xlnt potraits on a 1.6 crop digi.
Cons:
none for this price.

it may be plastic, but build is good for this low price. no problems at all with this sharp lens!

Jun 21, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add LeeG to your Buddy List  
randyat
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 13, 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 212
Review Date: Jun 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp/Light/Fast/Cheap
Cons:
None yet

As a previous poster said, I also use this lens ~95% of my people/portrait/fashion/glamour shots.

I can't imagine shooting people without this lens.

I had (and still have the Mark II) but I looked high and low for this lens, luckily, I was able to find one Smile

Go get it!!!

Randy
http://rtamayo.photo.net.ph


Jun 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add randyat to your Buddy List  
Dajon
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 8, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Review Date: Jun 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $55.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price -speed and sharpness
Cons:
perfect for the price

50f1.8 mark1 : I love this lens! i bought it for 55 bucks used and then i sold it -bumb move! but now i bought it back-phew! its a great lens to leave on your back-up body and the 1.8 aperture is nice to have when traveling -or handheld indoors - 100 times better than any standard 28-90 type zoom for optical quailty - and there is something historically classic about owning a fast 50mm!

if you can find one at a good price -snag it!


Jun 17, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dajon to your Buddy List  
abam
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 25, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4201
Review Date: Jun 6, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp. very fast. very cheap.
Cons:
you'll want to be fairly careful with this lens. some even rattle, which is interesting for something made from plastic.

this is one of canon's sharpest lenses, according to photodo.com. based on my results in the real world, i can believe that.

on my 1.6 crop sensor, the effective focal length is 80mm, which is ideal for sharp, close-quarters portraits.

the build quality is not terribly inspiring, but then again, i am very careful with my gear and generally shoot night scenes; so this is not an issue. for those like me who shoot in semi-controlled environments, the build quality will do just fine. if you are an ice-climber or a photojournalist in monsoon country, you'll probably be better off skipping this lens.

for around 70 bucks at an online store, you can buy into the potential for truly high quality images. the price also means that you can skip buying a protective filter for this lens. without an extra, image-diminishing piece of glass in front of your lens, you'll get the full potential of the 50mm/80mm prime; and if it breaks or eventually gets scratched, just buy another one for a few bucks more than a good filter would have cost!


Jun 6, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add abam to your Buddy List  
Gorham
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 1, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Metal mount; good construction; fast focus; clear, neutral images.
Cons:
Small filter size.

I bought this used having stupidly sold my original one. Very dumb move. But I sought and was lucky enough (two years ago now) to find a Mark I and won't part with it again.

I like this lens for its speed and excellent focusing. The results are good, especially in low light situations wide open.

This is one of those lenses (along with the 85/1.8) that would send Canon to the lens hall of fame for quality vs. price.


Really a great little lens which I'd heartily recommend in the Mark I version. I've seen the Mark II and have read that they're optically the same. Maybe but it didn't feel right and I felt like I was using a toy lens. I would strongly recommend holding out for a used Mark I but they're getting harder and harder to come by.


May 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Gorham to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 50mm f/1.8

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
104 214442 Jun 12, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $101.62
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.65
9.43
9.0
3029ef_50_18_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7  next