about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
380 818038 Sep 24, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $593.78
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.64
9.36
9.5
ef70_200_4_1_

Specifications:
High-performance, L-series telephoto zoom lens combining light weight and compactness with an f/4 maximum aperture. Inner focusing and the ring USM enable quick and quiet autofocusing. Also, a circular polarizing filter can be attached and used without difficulty because the front lens element does not rotate during focusing. The tripod collar (sold separately) is the same one used with the EF 300mm f/4L USM.


 


Page:  20 · 21 · 22 · 23 · 24 
          
Jack Flesher
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Oct 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3489
Review Date: Jul 10, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great optics, compact design, lightweight
Cons:
No IS and relative to its larger 2.8 IS brother, this lens shows slight vignetting at f4

For a zoom, this is a very good lens! It is compact, lightweight, and relatively inexpensive compared to its f2.8 IS bretheren. Additionally, the lens is sharp from f4 up. At 80mm, the center performance is slightly less than that of the IS lens, but the corner performance is far better than the IS lens. At 135mm, the two lenses are virtually identical in center performance, with the f4 lens delivering better corner performance. At 200mm the f4 edges out the IS lens at both the center and corners, but the advantage is slight. All in all, remarkable performance. The one thing I notice with this lens is some slight vignetting at f4 which is not present in the IS lens. However, this likely won't show up in many images unless you shoot a lot of evenly lit walls at f4 Smile I doubt I'd miss the extra stop much, but wish it had IS.

Jul 10, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add Jack Flesher to your Buddy List  
Michael-M
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Apr 21, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2698
Review Date: Jun 17, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very light when compared to the 2.8 version. very sharp, maybe too sharp, but i'll live with it.
Cons:
it started my addiction to L glass.

shot with it this weekend at my first wedding, and i haven't had to sharpen any of the pictures.
printed right from the card and people were as happy as i am with the results.


Jun 17, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Michael-M to your Buddy List  
Storm
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 21, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 99
Review Date: Jun 12, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp. Fast focus. Makes for a great portrait lens. Great first "L" lens. Just as sharp as the IS/2.8 version.
Cons:
None. Don't really need the extra stop.

I would definitely recommend this lens. I initially thought I would need the IS version, but I have not yet found this to be true. This lens is light and very usable a f/4.

Jun 12, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Storm to your Buddy List  
hugoso
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 291
Review Date: May 27, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpest zoom in this range in all focal lengths. comparible to primes! light weight and compact.
Cons:
No IS version.

Put a IS on it and this lens will be a true killer.

May 27, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hugoso to your Buddy List  
coolest
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 26, 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
Review Date: May 26, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good lens quality, good looking (except the hood), light weight, nice build, great image quality!!
Cons:
Super expensive tripod mount ring, stupid looking hood, no weather proof, strange size for filter...

his is such a great lens, image quality is as good as 70-200 F2.8 (after reviewing it and reading many other people's reviews, I really can't say which one is better than which one).


It is really cool to carry around and not feeling tired... (I use EOS 1V, that's 1.3KG already with PB-E2), has a good zoom range, and the weight that my hand can hold it steady (like aiming a gun on someone) for a long period of time.


The bad news is... after struggled for 3 months, I decided not to buy the tripod mount ring... it's pretty much 1/3 of the cost of this lens... what's the point? I might as well save the money and contribute to my lens collection in the future!!


Another bad news is... I hate that 67mm thread size... I tried to sell my B+W UV Filter, which is not bad at all, but... no one seems to use a lens with such a filter size... (even within Canon EF lens family, I can't find more than 2 lens that uses 67mm filter...)


But hey, after all, with such a cheap price, that squeeze you into the "L" club, yet it gives you top image quality amongst zoom lens, what a bargin!!


May 26, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add coolest to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: New Zealand
Review Date: May 26, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good lens quality, good looking (except the hood), light weight, nice build, great image quality!!
Cons:
Super expensive tripod mount ring, stupid looking hood, no weather proof, strange size for filter...

This is such a great lens, image quality is as good as 70-200 F2.8 (after reviewing it and reading many other people's reviews, I really can't say which one is better than which one).

It is really cool to carry around and not feeling tired... (I use EOS 1V, that's 1.3KG already with PB-E2), has a good zoom range, and the weight that my hand can hold it steady (like aiming a gun on someone) for a long period of time.

The bad news is... after struggled for 3 months, I decided not to buy the tripod mount ring... it's pretty much 1/3 of the cost of this lens... what's the point? I might as well save the money and contribute to my lens collection in the future!!

Another bad news is... I hate that 67mm thread size... I tried to sell my B+W UV Filter, which is not bad at all, but... no one seems to use a lens with such a filter size... (even within Canon EF lens family, I can't find more than 2 lens that uses 67mm filter...)

But hey, after all, with such a cheap price, that squeeze you into the "L" club, yet it gives you top image quality amongst zoom lens, what a bargin!!


May 26, 2003
Edit/Delete Message
Richard N
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 3, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 146
Review Date: Apr 21, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $590.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, excellent picture quality, focus limiter, compatible w/ TCs
Cons:
No IS, expensive accessories

I agree w/ my fellow reviewers, it is probably the best value in the current Canon lens line-up. You can't make it any sharper. Also very good performance with 1.4x II TC (picture quality and AF speed). Very useful on my backpacking/trekking trips, given its weight and rugged build. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Apr 21, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Richard N to your Buddy List  
deanchi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 14, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 27
Review Date: Apr 14, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, sharp, price
Cons:
no o-ring on mount

Its light weight and smaller size allows me to carry it in most bags.

Image quality is hard to tell apart from its f2.8 counterparts.

It's now one of my favorite portrait lenses.

Unbelievable value for the price!


Apr 14, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add deanchi to your Buddy List  
mskad
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 20, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 115
Review Date: Apr 12, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $575.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Performance "wide" open, construction, USM
Cons:
Inconvenient lens hood, Expansive optional tripod mount ring

An excellent lens, build like a tank with outstanding (USM) AF performances. No need to stop with this lens (at least on my D60): sharp from f/4 to f/16, center to corners. Wonderful color rendition and contrast.

Apr 12, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mskad to your Buddy List  
gurtch
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 10, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 557
Review Date: Apr 10, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light Weight, Low Cost (relatively speaking), great performance.
Cons:
Haae not found any

I absolutly agree with the above comments. I am new to Canon equipment (I sold a bunch of Contax stuff-no viable digital body), and got this lens and Back Ordered the new 17~40 f4L. I use this lens when my wife and I go on long walks at the Jersey Shore and it's light weight and easy handling are wonderful. I just made a 10D ressed up 13"x19" and it is sharp, grain free, and contrasty........magnificent lens!

Apr 10, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gurtch to your Buddy List  
deevee
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 367
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: light, sharp, inexpensive
Cons:
odd size filter

an excellent all around lens for film as well as digital...as sharp and contrasty as the f2.8 w/o the weight penalty...can be handheld, w/o need for a tripod socket...built solid like any L lens...nice bokeh for portraits...a must for landscape /hiking photography which is my main fotografy...but i've shot tennis with good results...only 1 <0 thing to say, the odd size filter requires u buy a new filter and filter adapter ...this is one lens in canon lineup that requires this odd size.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add deevee to your Buddy List  
BigJoe
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 13, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 690
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Light, Excellent Build
Cons:
No IS

Canon's 70-200 f/4L is considered by many to be Canon's single best value in their lineup of lenses. I tend to agree. Here's why:

The 70-200 f/4L features optical quality among the best of any zoom Canon makes. It is contrasty, sharp, and has accurate color rendition. Also important to consider with any tele lens is the quality of its bokeh (out of focus rendition). With its 8-bladed aperture diaphram, this lens delivers buttery smooth out of focus background that will really enhance your shallow depth of field images.

Moving on to physical build, this lens is made to take a licking. It is the 50 f/1.8 II's antithesis. It features full metal body construction with a nice large rubber gnarled zoom ring and a smaller (but by no means "small") focus ring. Being the f/4 version of this lens, it is quite light to carry around, and also light enough that the camera's lens mount can support the weight alone without need for a tripod collar.

Full Time Manual focusing with a ring type USM AF drive is the order of the day here. Focusing is fast, silent and smooth. Need to focus manually? No problem- just turn the focus ring and you can override the AF, regardless of the AF/MF switch. Manual focusing is comfortable and smooth.

The only feature I can think of that would make this lens better is IS, but I doubt we will see that because it would take away from sales of the 70-200 f/2.8L IS. For the $580 price of this lens new, you can't find a better value in a high quality tele zoom. If you are looking for something in this range and don't need the extra light gathering power (or bulk) of the f/2.8 version, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this lens.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BigJoe to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
380 818038 Sep 24, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $593.78
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.64
9.36
9.5
ef70_200_4_1_


Page:  20 · 21 · 22 · 23 · 24