about | support
home
 

Search Used

Bogen / Manfrotto 3001- Pro Tripod

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 82710 Aug 10, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $113.88
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
10.00
9.0
product_83851

Specifications:
four leg angle settings
center column with an innovative three faced design
double positioning vertical and horizontal center column
low-angle adapter built in the center column for ground level shots
rapid action lever leg locks with just 45 run


 


      
natalia.atkins
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 24, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 65
Review Date: Aug 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Weight, Center column, robust
Cons:
none for the price

This is a good choice for those on a budget. I only paid US $50 for this used, in excellent condition; it was an upgrade for me from the Manfrotto 725B travel tripod with an integrated ballhead. I wanted something only slightly heavier, with the capacity to mount interchangable tripod heads, and I am more than happy!

I was a bit worried about the height, but the tripod head and camera adds about 30 cm to the height, and even my 6' 2 " partner finds the height good with the column only partially extended. We shoot landscapes with this tripod, with the 322rc head and 329 pan head, and the tripod is often used close to the ground anyway.

Just as a point of interest, the upper legs & center column are the same width as the 725B, which means the lightweight ballhead /center column of the 725B can be interchanged with center column of 3001 pro (making a very lightweight combination).

Used with the 322rc or 329 heads, this seems to hold our birding lenses, the Canon 300mm F/4 L and the 400mm F/5.6 L . However we use these lenses hand held or with a monopod normally. Just thought it was interesting to find it robust enough for these longer lenses.







Aug 10, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add natalia.atkins to your Buddy List  
Bobbo Clark
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 332
Review Date: Mar 15, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $120.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Built well, easy to clean/tighten/fix/replace parts quickly, sturdy, removable column can be reattached three ways.
Cons:
spiked feet an additional option, not a carbon fiber :)

i got this several years ago, and haven't looked at another tripod untill recently b/c i wold like a CF gitzo, but they cost too much.

some say it is too short, but i'm 6', and with an SLR and head on it and no column, it's high enough for me wiht a little bit of bending, but not too uncomfortable. why would you want a really tall tripod that can possibly wobble? kinda defeats the point of a tripod. same thing with the center column...i haven't used it to make the camera higher EVER, and only about 5 or 6 times to shoot some macro. PLUS the height of the tripod gives the camera less distance to fall if you slip up mounting it to head.

i found a 4-in-1 screwdriver that the hole for the bits is the same as the lever tension nut, so it's perfect for working on my tripod. i have to clean it every now and then, so i just unscrew everything with one tool, wash it, and put it back together. very nice!

all in all, the second best ~$100 i've spent on camera equipment, the first being the new bogen horizontal grip head.

however, you may not agree with my opinon, so go to a store and try it and other tripods out first.


Mar 15, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Bobbo Clark to your Buddy List  
neuro
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 202
Review Date: Oct 24, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Bogen build quality, size, ability to change center column, ability to put center column horizontal, ability to tighten snap locks on legs as they loosen on you
Cons:
snap locks on legs can pinch your hands

This was my first moden tripod I used for any serious applications. I bought it used from B&H with a 486RC2 ballhead, so the bubble level on it is useless. If you have a pan/tild head it could come of use of course.

I used it with the standard center column for a year before replacing it with the Bogen short center column and regret not switching it earlier. Last year the legs loosened up on me, but a quick tighten of the nut on the legs snaps fixed that quickly and they haven't come loose since.

Belive it or not, but this tripod and ball head fits perfectly in a razor skooter travel bag, which makes a sturdy cheap bag to carry the tripod over your shoulder.


Oct 24, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add neuro to your Buddy List  
L Weathers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 16, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 231
Review Date: May 29, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: $122.95 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Ideal, all-around size. Adaptable to either of three configurations: ballhead only, centercolumn/ head, sidearm/head. Good support for my 180 macro and 70-200 F4. May be marginal for 70-200 2.8 & larger lenses. Probably OK for 300 F4 unless windy conditions exist. Use at lower heights for adverse conditions and heavier lenses, or use larger tripod.
Cons:
Snap locks pinch my hands below thumbs or between thumbs and index fingers. Loosened the tension adjustments, but they still pinch. No one else seems to have mentioned this fault. I find it to be the main fault of the tripod. Due to the pinching problem, I replaced with Gitzo 2220 Explorer. Noisy snap locks.

Model # 3001BPro
Bought new approx. August 2001.

Excellent tripod for medium to smaller weight lenses.

Configured tripod with a Linhof Profii II head and RRS clamp.

Nice design except for the hazardous "pinch" locks.
They pinch tripod legs & user's hands. Newer models
may have addresed this problem. I would rate this tripod
"excellent" except for the pinch locks.


May 29, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add L Weathers to your Buddy List  
jrsinclair
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 2, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3397
Review Date: Apr 7, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast setup- the horizontal beam is great. Spreadable legs are the best. I use the Slik ball800 pro. Solid combo.
Cons:
Heavy (stable) Noisy snaps.

This is the Manfrotto 190PRO in Canada.
Real nice and solid for my 70-300.


Apr 7, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jrsinclair to your Buddy List  
Cahir Davitt
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 4, 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 19
Review Date: Mar 28, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $146.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Versatility and adjustability. Durable engineering quality. Low angle adapter. Spirit level included. Weight. Repositionable centre column.
Cons:
For the price, should include carrying strap as standard.

This Tripod is easy to use and quick to setup. The flexibility of this tripod is excellent, allowing me to use it at very low angles or at eye level. The weight gives it a solidity that is welcome when photographing landscapes in the wind.

I matched my tripod with a Manfrotto MA222 Trigger Grip Ball Head which allows quick and precise positioning.


Mar 28, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Cahir Davitt to your Buddy List  
Arka
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jun 13, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 10674
Review Date: Jan 14, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $84.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sturdy and easy to set up. Very stable once fully erected, and the unit collapses quickly.
Cons:
It's heavy. Even CF won't help much here, though it will certainly cost you and arm and a leg.

This is a great tripod for camera/lens combinations as high as 200mm/2.8. Much of this tripods ergonomics and weight capacity are dependent on the ball head you attach to it.

Mine has screw-tight leg locks (not to be confused with the silly twist-type locks commonly found on Gitzo 'pods, the only reason I would never buy one), which in my view are more durable than the snap locks.

The legs are clearly quite durable, and setup time is fast, esp. if you are mounting to a ball head with a QR plate. The tripod is very flexible and allows for setup in virtualy any shooting position, including very low to the ground. Overall, I am very happy with this set of legs, though I DO wish that the whole kit were a bit lighter. At over 5lbs with a light ball head, the setup does not make a great travelling companion if you are packing light.

Arka C.


Jan 14, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Arka to your Buddy List  
pukkita
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 6, 2003
Location: Spain
Posts: 184
Review Date: Sep 14, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $119.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Versatility (low angle adapter, multiple locking angles, horizontal center column for macro), stability, price. Good max. load vs weight relationship.
Cons:
Weight :) leg spikes as an option.

Known in Europe as Manfrotto 190 Pro (ProB is the black version) this tripod seems to be well engineered, sturdy and durable. I matched it with a 141RC (Bogen 3030) head.

At 1.9kg (4.2lbs) isn't very light specially if you add the typical head weight 1kg (3lbs) head for 3kg (6.6lbs) total weight. But the carbon version isn't much lighter (just 300gr/0.66lbs less) and more than double the price.

If weight is your concern then Gitzo is the best option IMHO. If neither weight or portability (0.7m /27inches with 141RC) is an issue, or at least not worth spending the triple, this is a very advisable combo in terms of price, features and quality.


Sep 14, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add pukkita to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: Spain
Review Date: Aug 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $130.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent function for price. Many features found on the 3001 are found on other models costing much more. Removeable center column is nice as are the leg positions and low level shot ability of the tripod.
Cons:
I ordered the black finish and it does scratch easily. Chrome will look better in the long run.

Great advanced beginner/serious amatuer tripod. Very stable and adjusts to many different angles and positions for almost any kind of shot needed. While it isn't the lightest tripod out there, the build quality is very good for the price and if you're looking for something to use for a variety of purposes from studio to outdoor work, the 3001 won't let you down.

Aug 6, 2003
Edit/Delete Message
monoprint
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 4, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 889
Review Date: Jul 4, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $113.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: The ability to place the center column in a horizontal position coupled with the 4 leg angles, allows the camera to be oriented in almost any imaginable position.
Cons:
Weight at 4.2 pounds and a maximum height of only 57 inches are drawbacks. Maimum load of 11 pounds might be a problem.

With the easy-to-use snap leg locks, the vertical and horizontal positioning of the center column and the four leg positions, this is a nice piece of equipment. Though for some it may not be high enough or support enough weight. If that's you, the next step up is the 3021Pro.

Jul 4, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add monoprint to your Buddy List  
marianco
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 26, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Jun 17, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: 19.5 inches long when you remove the center column - you can pack both separately in a carry-on suitcase. Very sturdy. Inexpensive.
Cons:
Heavy at 3.5 pounds, if you prefer light weight at the expense of stability.

I've had this for a decade. It's a great tripod. Much less expensive than Carbon Fiber. Amazingly, Bogen/Manfrotto's Carbon Fiber tripods are just as heavy as their aluminum ones.

Jun 17, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add marianco to your Buddy List  




Bogen / Manfrotto 3001- Pro Tripod

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 82710 Aug 10, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $113.88
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
10.00
9.0
product_83851