about | support
home
 

Search Used

Bogen/Manfrotto 3001D Tripod Legs

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 37259 Dec 14, 2007
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $110.29
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
8.83
8.9
product_83851_1_

Specifications:
four leg angle settings
centre column with an innovative three faced design
low angle adapter built in the centre column for ground level shots
rapid action lever leg locks with just 45 run


 


      
BillBrowning
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 51
Review Date: Dec 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $138.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light, strong, flexable in use from ground level to max hight.
Cons:
The locks will pinch your fingers.

I like this tripod for all the reasons stated by others. I like being able to put the camera right on the ground.
Now I have discovered another way to use it. I had been wanting a "wimberly" mount for my longer lenses. When I was playing with the 390 RC head that came with my tripod I found by flipping the camera mount up as for shooting verticals and mounting the lens foot to that I had a alt/AZ mount. I can't wait to try it on a flying bird. I live near the coast and there are many large birds that make great subjects.
|_ is what the head looks like when it is set.

Bill


Dec 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add BillBrowning to your Buddy List  
yesisaidyes
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 8, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 68
Review Date: Jun 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $99.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Good value, stable, good height, light weight
Cons:
Not good for big lenses, has its stability limits

I use this tripod for hiking, backpacking and it strikes a great balance between weight and stability. This is not the tripod to get if you are shooting with big lenses and do not have far to walk. But if you are heading into the mountains for extended trips to shoot landscapes, wildlife (with a reasonable zoom) or plantscapes (this one gets LOW), there are few better choices - perhaps only the Gitzo Mountaineer.

Jun 22, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add yesisaidyes to your Buddy List  
JLim
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 198
Review Date: Nov 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great with Manfrotto 3265 Grip Action Ball Head with Quick Release - Supports 5.6 lb
Cons:
none so far.

I bought this tripod with the Manfrotto 3265 Grip Action Ball Head with Quick Release and this is a great setup!

It's perfect height, size and everything! If it was cheaper, it would've been even better!


Nov 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JLim to your Buddy List  
blackeyes
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 25, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jul 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Light weight, can lay flat on floor or table, price
Cons:
Didn't come with carrying bag

I've only owned and used this beauty for two days but for the price it's a steal. For the amateur photographer on a tight budget this unit does the trick.

Jul 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add blackeyes to your Buddy List  
Zweben
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Review Date: Apr 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Quite sturdy for the size, durable, pretty good build quality, leg locks have adjustable tension, big height range, goes from really sort to tall.
Cons:
Leg locks pinch sometimes, kinda heavy.

Nice and sturdy, yet still fairly portable. High enough for me to use standing straight up (I'm 6' 1"). Does its job and does it well.

Apr 9, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Zweben to your Buddy List  
mcordin73
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 31, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 92
Review Date: Mar 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great flexability. Very sturdy - once in place, stays in place. It looks good!!!
Cons:
Pinchy leg extenders clips. Vertically Challenged.

My review is actually for the 3001BPro

This tripod has nice versatility; it gets low, and stays in place well. The center column can be moved to a locked horizontal position to get to floor level. However, the column is just fine vertical and a savvy guy like me has a clip on the hook at the end of the column to hand a little weight when necessary. I've used it extended to its maximum height with a rather large 80-200/2.8 on the D70 (remote shutter release - of course) and I've found it very stable - definitely recommended for 35mm SLR systems and smaller MF.

Bottom line: Worth every penny. It's fun to get this tripod into some unusual locations with the versatility of the legs and center column. It makes getting stability easy! It goes everywhere with me.



Mar 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mcordin73 to your Buddy List  
CJGuth
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 9, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Review Date: Dec 24, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Easy to use, ground level shots, and pretty light
Cons:
legs aren't as smooth as I wish they were, leg locks pinch sometimes

It's a good tripod, but I often wish it was a little taller, but the ability to take pictures at ground level makes up for that. It isn't a Gitzo but it's still pretty ridgid.

A great tripod for the money!


Dec 24, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add CJGuth to your Buddy List  
marksw
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 14, 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5
Review Date: Feb 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sturdy and easy to use.
Cons:
None really.

In the UK this is the Manfrotto 190CL Tripod.

The leg locks are strong and the tripod is sturdy. I use it with a 3030 pan/tilt head (141RC in the UK) and find this combination to be fine.

It's good that it can be used for low angle work, though the low-angle adapter is not as sturdy as using the standard centre column.


Feb 27, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add marksw to your Buddy List  
Richard N
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 3, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 146
Review Date: May 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $105.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Stable, good build quality and light tripod
Cons:
Quick action lever locks are sometimes annoying

I had a Bogen 3021 but it was too heavy to carry outdoors. This one is a great one for photogs on a budget.

May 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Richard N to your Buddy List  
Michael-M
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Apr 21, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2698
Review Date: May 5, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: i love this tripod, mostly for it's lightwieght, but also for it's ability to handle a fair amount of wieght.
Cons:
wind is about the only source of mother natures ability to bother it.

for hiking to remote areas, i find this tripod to be a great companion.
it's built quite well for the price, and i have coupled it with the Bogen 3437 head.


May 5, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Michael-M to your Buddy List  




Bogen/Manfrotto 3001D Tripod Legs

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 37259 Dec 14, 2007
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $110.29
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
8.83
8.9
product_83851_1_