about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 50mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 158734 Sep 19, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $234.36
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.21
9.48
9.1
05_02_1_

Specifications:
To maintain high optical performance from infinity to close-up 1:1 (life-size) macro photos without accessories, the new Sigma 50mm f2.8 EX incorporates a "floating" element focusing system.

Designed as a quick-focusing macro lens the AF speed of 50mm, f2.8 EX Macro is 1.4 times faster than previous 50mm f2.8 macros. It features a non-rotating front lens group which makes it easier to work with polarizing filters and has a focus limiter (eg. Full Range; - 9.8 in.; 9.1 in. - 7.4 in.). The Sigma 50mm f/2.8 EX Macro lens also features the new deluxe EX external finish.

A handy screw type metal sunshade makes it easier to rotate
a polarizing filter.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
          
sippinsoma
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Aug 23, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1474
Review Date: Oct 24, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Pretty sharp, decent 1:1 ability.
Cons:
Focus ring is flimsy. The lens extends WAY too much in my opinion. I really dislike moving back an inch from my subjects so it can focus. IF would have been nice. Focusing hunts often (and takes a while because it extends so much), loud and annoying.

Meh.

Oct 24, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sippinsoma to your Buddy List  
LiquidKernel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 11, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 87
Review Date: Jul 4, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, Build-quality, 1:1 out-of-the-box
Cons:
None except that 50mm is sometimes too short

This is my first Sigma and macro lens, and I can definitely say it won't be my last. Extremely great glass for a lens of this price. The EX has a very good finish and feels solid; definitely not a toy lens. Though 50mm is a bit too short for some macros, it's a good bargain compared to the 180mm.

Jul 4, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add LiquidKernel to your Buddy List  
Servo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 13, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp even at 2.8; razor sharp at 5.6 and above. 1:1 macro with no converters.
Cons:
Slow, noisy AF (but this is mediated somewhat by the limiter switch); perhaps slightly warm color balance.

I have this lens in the Canon EF mount for use on my 300D. The sharpness at 2.8 is quite good; definitely acceptable for portraits, and usable for general purpose. Stopped down to 5.6 or better this lens is the sharpest lens I've ever used, even when compared to my Canon primes.

Macro performance is excellent from about f/4 to 22. This lens will stop down all the way to f/45, although diffraction causes a noticeable reduction in sharpness above f/22. Bokeh in macro ranges is really incredible; the background just melts away into a blur of colors.

Anyone with a 1.6 crop factor DSLR should not be without this lens. It is an excellent macro lens because of the extra working distance at 1:1 (effectively being an 80mm lens), or being able to go past 1:1 to 1.6:1. Also, it makes a great head-and-shoulders portrait lens; the bokeh is quite smooth and the warmer color balance is actually flattering for portraits.

My only gripe is the slow, noisy, and occasionally hunting AF. The hunting may be my camera, but it seems to occur more with this lens than others. Since the front element will extend out so far to get 1:1 macro, if the lens does decide to hunt it can take ~4 seconds to go all the way in and out. However, thoughtfully there is a limiter switch that will limit the lens to macro or non-macro ranges, so this will cut down that time significantly. In any case, for macro work the focus mechanism isn't all that important anyway.

Definitely a lens you should pick up for the Canon 300D, 10D, or Nikon D70.


Jun 13, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Servo to your Buddy List  
Cedric_g
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 13, 2004
Location: France
Posts: 263
Review Date: Mar 31, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness (good at f2.8, very good to excellent between f5.6 and f16, and even good at f22, on DSLR...), light weight, very good construction, 1:1 without accessories
Cons:
A little warm, and puffing and noisy AF (but in macro it isn't very important... To my mind !)

A little short for insects (minimal focus distance between subject and front lense = 4 cm, at 1:1) but extremly sharp !

I use it for macro and portraits too.

My test gallery (with crops, fullsizes...) : http://www.pbase.com/cedric_g/test_sigma_5028_ex_macro (comments in french, sorry)


Mar 31, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Cedric_g to your Buddy List  
spartan123
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Nov 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3683
Review Date: Nov 13, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Everything... For the price you can not beat it.
Cons:
Slow auto-focus... but I mainly use the lens in manual mode so it is a mute point.

Great price, Fantastic images. I ended up buying the Sigma 105mm and 180mm macro's because of this lenses quality.

Nov 13, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add spartan123 to your Buddy List  
Gochugogi
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9880
Review Date: Aug 3, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Sharp, distortion free, good looking and well made
Cons:
Didn't work with my new bodies (needed rechipping). MF a bit loose.

I bought this lens in late 1999 along with an EOS 3. Unfortunately, the body was too new and the lens needed a ROM upgrade to work properly which, at that time, was unavailable. So, I used it on my A2 and found it to be an excellent lens. The following year I bought an Elan 7E and the dad burn lens wouldn't work on it, even after a ROM update! So, I sold the Sigma on Ebay. It's really a pity Sigma reverse engineers its ROM code, resulting in so much hassle for users. Otherwise it was a fine optic.

Aug 3, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gochugogi to your Buddy List  
bellyface
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 5098
Review Date: May 26, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $206.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 1:1 without any converter/attachment. Excellent color tone, sharpness even at 2.8. 50mm becomes 80mm on D30, 60 and 10D. Not bad for a portrait lens. Focus limiter keeps lens from hunting all the way to 1:1. Nice metal hood. You can use a 55mm or 72mm filter on the lens, or hood.
Cons:
Noisy focus, limiter switch must be tuned on or else focus will hunt to 1:1. Very noisy in the process. 100mm would give more working room. No hsm, full time manual.

Sigma's come a long way. Their last 50mm macro was a dud. The finish is nice, the optics are great. I haven't seen much of a problem with chromatic abberation. The nifty metal hood is pretty much useless on digital SLRs, due to the crop factor. All in all, this is my normal lens on my 10D, it's bright and the color is warm. Use a UV. This is a bargain lens at $220.

May 26, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bellyface to your Buddy List  
Lensman99
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 30, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: May 26, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $225.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, excellent color, good EX build quality, lens hood included.
Cons:
AF could be faster and quieter, but very minor issues when using the lens for macrophotography. Mine had to be upgraded by Sigma to be used with my EOS 3.

I have used the lens on both my EOS 3 in the conventional film arena, and the 10D in the digital. The lens is very suitable for both, and with the 10D's 1.6x factor you end up with an 80mm macro. Nice!

Sharpness is outstanding, and edge-to-edge. I have no complaints at all regarding optical performance. One of the sharper lenses I've shot in 30+ years of photography. Sluggish and noisy AF can become a bit annoying when used as a "normal" lens.

I am pleased with the build quality of this lens, as I have been with my other Sigma EX glass. I like the plus of the lens hood being included. It is a metal screw-in type.

I first used this lens on the EOS 3 and was surprised to find it would not function. I contacted Sigma via e-mail and received a prompt reply that it would need to be sent in for a chip upgrade. I had the lens back from them in only eight days (including mail time). There was no charge for this service, and Sigma also did a CLA while they had it, again at no charge. I am very impressed with Sigma customer service.


May 26, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Lensman99 to your Buddy List  
Rodrigo.Bruno
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 12, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 276
Review Date: Apr 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $239.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, cheap, well build, 1:1 magnification, great for landscapes
Cons:
50mm is too short for some macros, AF slow and noisy

This is a great lens and I'm glad i bought it. It produces very sharp images and with accurate colors. Also I use it a lot for landscape and portrait with my D60. This is a keeper for me and will be in my bag for a long time.

Apr 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Rodrigo.Bruno to your Buddy List  
Mike Eckstein
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 14, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $164.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Macro focus to one to one with no accessories Very sharp F stop rane f2.8 to f45 Supplied lens hood
Cons:
slow auto focus motor

I have this lens as well as the Canon 100mm f2.8 macro. This lens provides very impressive performance. It is very sharp. If anything I find it to be sharper than the Canon 100mm macro. It is very well made with metal casing and supplied metal hood. I do not think anyone would be unhappy with the optical performance of the lens it provides crisp images with excellent color and contrast. I was fortunate to find it on special sale on-line for much less than the normal selling price of around $240. I highly recommend it.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mike Eckstein to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 50mm f2.8 EX Macro 1:1 Lens

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 158734 Sep 19, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
90% of reviewers $234.36
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.21
9.48
9.1
05_02_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3