about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
179 400192 Sep 30, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $1,132.91
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
9.09
9.7
ef70_200_28_1_

Specifications:
One of the finest telephoto zoom lenses in the EF line, comparable to a single focal length lens. It has four UD-glass elements to correct chromatic aberrations. Its constant f/2.8 maximum aperture and superb image quality make it one of the most popular professional SLR lenses in the world. Compatible with Extender EF 1.4x II and 2x II.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
Doug Vann
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 18, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 45
Review Date: Feb 19, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, well built, Canon quality.....
Cons:
little expensive

Once you see your pics you will know why the lens is rated the way it is.....

Feb 19, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Doug Vann to your Buddy List  
Dietr
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 11, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Review Date: Feb 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,325.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons:
Nada

My copy is DAMN Sharp. Truly amazing and AF is nothing short of astonishing. No regrets on this one.

Feb 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dietr to your Buddy List  
tebpp
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 24, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quality everything, truly the best zoom lens I've used
Cons:
A bit heavy after long use

Excellent Picture quality. This is my first L lens, and it blew me away with the pictures that it turned out. Focus is very fast and the IS is great. I used this lens for a few conferences, outdoor and sporting event. Its a good fit for all occasion. I should of gotten this lens sooner. I've only used the 50mm 1.8, 17-85mm and Tamron 17-50mm. This lens is awesome.

Nov 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tebpp to your Buddy List  
Jay
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 10, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 136
Review Date: Nov 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:



Nov 10, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jay to your Buddy List  
tonyliau
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 5, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Review Date: Nov 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great IQ, fast USM focusing, great contrast, f/2.8 is very usable
Cons:
...

There is nothing to dislike about this lens. Focus is fast and images are razor sharp. The bokeh is creamy and the IQ is amazing!

Nov 10, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tonyliau to your Buddy List  
Coach-Z
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 10, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 97
Review Date: Oct 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast auto focus, build quality, huge aperture for low light situations
Cons:
Weight and price, this thing is really expensive.

When searching for the best telephoto lens for action photography, this lens kept creeping on up to the top of the list...

The list wasn't really that big, it was between this lens and the Sigma equivalent..

This lens is so fast compared to everything else I've ever tried. When shooting football from the sidelines there is no comparison. This lens will not let you down.


Oct 30, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Coach-Z to your Buddy List  
Haring
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 11, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sep 11, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: 70-200...:)
Cons:
Big, bulky and white. Can't really use it without intimidating people.

If you want image quality and magical images, buy a Canon 135L!

If you want flexibility, buy this one.

I use both of them but I use the 135L most of the time.
See samples: www.haringphotography.com


Sep 11, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Haring to your Buddy List  
Annapurna
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 29, 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 66
Review Date: Aug 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Performs excellent. Never question the image quality
Cons:
Very heavy for travel

I have had the lens for 4 years. Always be satisfied with the autofocus and image quality.
I find it a little bit too heavy for travelling, so it sometimes stay home.


Aug 31, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Annapurna to your Buddy List  
Tobers
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 23, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 39
Review Date: Jul 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superbly sharp out of the box. Excellent colour and contrast. Build quality.
Cons:
Price

Prices in the UK have shot up following the bankers cocking everything up, but I needed the lens and actually found it really hard to get hold of one. In the end, only 1 store in London had a single lens in stock, and luckily I had the money to pay the price.

I'm immensely pleased with it. Image quality is excellent. Paired with a Canon 1DIII the photographs produced are of the highest level of quality. Highly recommended.


Jul 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Tobers to your Buddy List  
James Wei
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 12, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 35
Review Date: Mar 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredible image quality: sharp, good flare control, beautiful bokeh and contrasty wide open
Cons:
Weight rather heavy Easy paint loss

This zoom was purchased as a gift for myself graduating from university. A lot of memory has derived from this lens in the older time.

I love it simply because it is so reliable in producing the images I like. F2.8 is very usable in deed even for an amateur like me in the early years.

The background bokeh rendering is superb, creamy smooth like butter.

http://www.roentarre.com/Gallery.aspx?id=1&lid=29

My only concern is its paint loss and weight that really prevents me from using it in wedding or event photography.


Mar 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add James Wei to your Buddy List  
rgravel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 7, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 28
Review Date: Feb 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, colors, bokeh
Cons:
lens hood difficult to install / remove, weight

Works so well. Tripod ring so solid compared to my EF-400 f/5.6. Zoom ring smouth and fluid. Focus is super fast.

So much heavier than my old 70-200 f/4, it does become an issue if not mounted on a tripod, but since mine is almost always on a tripod, it isn't so bad.

Lens hood is awefull to put / remove in cold weather.


Feb 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add rgravel to your Buddy List  
st_dimov
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 29, 2005
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 13
Review Date: Feb 2, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It is all true! It is NOT a coincidence that this is the highest ranking Canon zoom on FM!
Cons:
Not exactly inconspicuous, esp with the hood attached.

I'ver been using it for about 2 yrs on a 1.6x crop. Can't wait to see what it is going to do on a FF.

Feb 2, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add st_dimov to your Buddy List  
LennartW
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 6, 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Review Date: Jan 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, f2.8, fast focus, tank
Cons:
-

This is THE LENS.
If you would only have two lenses, it would be a wide angle and the 70-200.

You can use it at nearly every event and it will cover most of your assignments very well.

I will never leave home without it.


Jan 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add LennartW to your Buddy List  
Zalllon
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 5, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 374
Review Date: Jan 7, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, bright, bokeh, AF is fast
Cons:
Not weather sealed like the "IS" version, zoom ring isn't as tight as other zooms used, not a fan of the "look at me" off white casing colour

This lens is a nice piece of glass. AF is very quick on my 1Ds MK II, and the lens has awesome boke. I'm a little disappointed that it is not truly weather sealed, as the "IS" version has gaskets in it ... so at some point, I'll have to opt for that (got the lens to start shooting outdoor sports). Using zooms from other systems, the lens isn't that heavy. I don't understand why it has to have that "look at me" light casing colour ... it would be nice to have something a little more subtle.

Jan 7, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Zalllon to your Buddy List  
kengroff
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 5, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Zoom range is very useful, sharp wide open, focuses very quickly, nice colors and bokeh, I love it!
Cons:
Color attracts a bit of attention...nothing much else, a little heaving but it balances better when I put the battery grip on my 30D.

Great lens, I wanted the f/2.8 for sports and its very sharp even wide open. Focuses fast and accurate. Zoom covers a good range and can be used for portraits. Gives a nice creamy bokeh. Some say its heavy but I don't find it that to be that bad, can get a little hard on the neck when not in use but I don't find my arms get tired. A great lens, no complaints here, lived up to expectations.

Jan 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kengroff to your Buddy List  
saaketham
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 17, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 5644
Review Date: Dec 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful background-blur ability and bokeh Sharp when used on tripod or higher shutter speeds Beautiful colors Build is solid
Cons:
Very Heavy after a few minutes of use Huge

After years of trying different cheaper options such as the Canon 70-200mm f/4, the Sigma 100-300mm f/4 and other such tele-zooms, I finally caved and bought the 70-200mm f/2.8. And man, portraits taken with this lens have come out absolutely beautiful. Clients love the images taken with it. It is built very solidly and has the white coating, which I like. It comes with the hood and the tripod collar. It has the same 77mm filter thread as my 17-55mm IS, which makes it much simpler to assemble a filter-collection. I have a 77mm Nikon Circular Polarizer, a 77mm Canon 500D close-up and a Cokin P 77mm adapter/holder + Singh-Ray Reverse GND. Both lenses have same filter thread and this keeps things much simpler. The weight is a bother after just a few minutes of shooting, but then I think of the quality of the photos and I keep shooting. My copy is sharp even wide open, handheld, provided I am shooting at decent shutter speeds, in good light. I would definitely recommend this lens over the f/4 or f/4 IS versions, IF you're more interested in background blur and wonderful portraits, and less on ease of carrying it around.

Dec 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add saaketham to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
179 400192 Sep 30, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $1,132.91
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
9.09
9.7
ef70_200_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next