about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon SB-80DX AF Speedlight

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 37385 Nov 28, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $279.80
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
9.00
9.4
4717NAS_180

Specifications:
New Innovative Design -- Focus-area, selector-style input controller lets you control most functions of SB-80DX
New Incremental Auto-Zoom Head -- Automatic power zoom changes the zoom-head position incrementally to match the lens’ focal length from 24mm to 105mm
Powerful -- Guide Number of 125 (ISO 100/feet) at 35mm position
New 14mm Wide Flash adapter -- Wide flash adapter for use with lenses as wide as 114° angle of view
New Diffusion Dome accessory -- Included Softlight Dome diffuses the light from the flash to soften shadows
New Built-in Wireless Flash -- Wireless TTL to 23 feet, Auto or Manual to 131 feet.
New Custom Settings -- 8 Built-in Custom Settings lets you customize SB-80DX to your way of shooting
New Standby function -- Adjust settings from 40 seconds to 300 seconds, providing power-saving control during multiple-flash photography
New Safety Lock System -- Locking hot-shoe system assures positive contact between SB-80DX and SLR in use
3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash -- With D1X, D1H, D100, F5, F100, N90s and N80 35mm AF SLR cameras. Matrix Balanced Fill-Flash with N65
New Expanded Flash Compensation -- Additional flash compensation control from +3EV to -3EV in 1/3 EV steps
New Built-in Modeling Flash -- Provides a visual confirmation that lets you preview shadows before photo is taken


 


          
JimU
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 21, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 457
Review Date: Nov 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: features to price ratio decent size & weight 14-105mm zoom range 1/1 to 1/128 power range pc-sync port after i received it, i liked its good build quality compared to earlier nikon flashes and it's 1/3rd stop power increments great for full manual off camera strobist.
Cons:
buttons are too small flash head does not rotate between 3 o'clock and 6 o'clock position (from above perspective)

i picked this flash up used on ebay after becoming interested in the strobist blog.

decent build quality. i dropped it onto a sidewalk from 5' and luckily, it didn't scratch or break in any way.

i intend on picking up 2-3 more for my strobist kit.


Nov 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JimU to your Buddy List  
PJ Fish
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 24, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 18
Review Date: Nov 24, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $189.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: strong good light..wireless operation..well exposures and very proff flash in high end quality.
Cons:
none

The Nikon SB 80 DX is a very powerfull flash of very good quality ! i use mine every day for PJ work with Nikon D1H(which is perfect in this combination) and a Nikon D70s with great results.Ill never had any probs so far,and even though theres the new SB 600 and SB800 on the market,this flash is in the same league as the newcomers.
Im very impressed and find it fine and very good for pro work.



Nov 24, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PJ Fish to your Buddy List  
camerapapi
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 15, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 4774
Review Date: Jun 5, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $275.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Small, easy to use, wireless operation, dynamite with digital, gorgeous bounced light.
Cons:
I do not find any.

The SB-80DX is nothing but a recycled SB-28DX with lots of improvements. A plus is the soft light diffuser supplied with the flash and for those who use more than one flash the wireless function will prove to be an asset.
The flash is at home with film or digital BUT, you loose some functions when you use the new digital cameras like the D-70 and the D2H. In use with the D-100 the flash performance is equal to none.
If you know and understand the limitations of flash, specially straight flash, you should be very happy with this unit. Many times it is impossible to say that flash has been used and when bounced the light is soft and beautiful.
Nikon has always manufactured excellent flash units. Count this one among them.


Jun 5, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add camerapapi to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: May 6, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Don't have to use strobes all the time Nice small size I like the info in digital
Cons:
I can't understand the manuel very well. Too many cross references.

This is an excellent light however I wish I knew how to set the thing to automatic. Too complicated, but I do love it and will figure it out. I practice with it but need more help. Anyone want to volunteer so I can get the best out of it?

Thanks


May 6, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: May 6, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Don't have to use strobes all the time Nice small size I like the info in digital
Cons:
I can't understand the manuel very well. Too many cross references.

This is an excellent light however I wish I knew how to set the thing to automatice. Too complicated, but I do love it and will figure it out. I practice with it but need more help. Anyone want to volunteer so I can get the best out of it?

Thanks


May 6, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
dallen47
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 6, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 753
Review Date: Oct 20, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $285.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very Easy to use ! Although it comes with one, you don't need the manual. Fabulous exposures !
Cons:
Maybe, just maybe, the batteries could be better arranged. Diificult to make your own power supply. But then, that's why they sell the SD-8a battery pack

Been using Vivitar 283's for 20 plus years. Thought they did a pretty good job with film. Had their short comings with digital. This strobe (SB-80DX) is absolutely fool proof. Got a grey market one and now i"m looking a another.
It works straight on, bounced and as fill. Plenty of power. Worth every penny you pay for it. The clincher for me was when I found out it had a metal hot shoe.


Oct 20, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dallen47 to your Buddy List  
Brendan Getchel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 14, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1990
Review Date: Jul 15, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best speedlight available from any manufacturer. Incredibly flexible. Made to work with the latest-generation D-TTL capable dSLRs. Easy to obtain perfect exposures in almost any conditions with little user input. New lockdown mechanism is THE standard, as is the METAL mount!
Cons:
Not a single one I can think of.

I've always been afraid of flash photography. The blowouts, uneven lighting, harsh shadows, and that "flash look" all combined to make me strictly a "natural light" kinda guy. Unfortunately, the pop-up flash on the Nikon D100, while adequate for fill under strong sunlight, sucks for everything else. So, since I occasionally shoot indoors a decent dedicated flash became a "necessary evil." Reluctantly, I purchase the SB-80DX for my D100.

I'm a convert. The SB-80DX is an amazing feat of flash engineering by Nikon. I will state up front that Canon's 550EX (when used with a 10D, as it's the only Canon dSLR I own) is totally outclassed. Of the things I miss on the Nikon system in my switch to Canon, this flash is high on the list. The features included with this flash are endless, but the results speak for themselves. Very powerful and infinitely flexible, the SB-80DX, when used properly, yields very warm, evenly-lit results that make it difficult to discern that a flash was ever employed -- all with VERY little user-input. In other words, you don't need to be a "Flash Master" to get exceptional results, but rather a little practice with the different diffusion methods and flash angles.

The finishing touches that put this unit into a class all its own are its relatively diminutive size (I was shocked at how small it is), quality build, exceptionally good design and control layout, included "Stofen Omnibounce," and, to top it all off, the METAL mounting foot and "quick locking release" lever. This mount is both simple and ingenious and is now THE STANDARD that ALL manufacturers should adopt! No more plastic junk-mounts with that lame screw wheel. Are you listening Canon?

If you need a flash, just spend the darn money and get the SB-80DX. There are NO alternatives.


Jul 15, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Brendan Getchel to your Buddy List  
JonCanfield
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 15, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2851
Review Date: Apr 25, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Improved mounting lock, wider angle support with included diffuser, wireless support.
Cons:
None really

The SB80DX is a much improved flash over the SB28DX. If you shoot Nikon digital, this is the flash to get. Very consistant results, the included diffuser (similar to the Stoffen Omnibounce) gives good results with wider angles, and the wireless function is great.

Apr 25, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JonCanfield to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon SB-80DX AF Speedlight

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 37385 Nov 28, 2009
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $279.80
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.00
9.00
9.4
4717NAS_180