about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon Speedlite 550EX TTL

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
34 144626 Oct 15, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $329.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.45
8.11
8.4
CA550EXU_1_

Specifications:
High-output shoe-mount flash for EOS System (Maximum GN 55/180, ISO 100 m/ ft.).
Autozoom coverage from 24-105mm with 17mm wide panel built-in.
Compatible with all EOS cameras, but has special features when used with EOS-3.
Supports Wireless Flash with EOS-3 and Speedlite Transmitter ST-E2.
Supports E-TTL, FEL and FP flash (High-Speed Sync) with selected EOS cameras. Other useful features include flash exposure compensation, flash exposure confirmation, flash exposure bracketing, second-curtain sync, variable-power manual flash, stroboscopic flash and more.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
          
Alexz
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 12, 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 451
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Versatility, precision (direct flash), enormous amount of modes, build quality is very tough
Cons:
Tends to underexpose once bounced (by 0.3-1.0 stops) - Omnibounce device helps greatly, High-Speed syncronization must be switched on manually (why not to be activated automatically once higher then maximum X-Sync is chosen ?), cumbersome tilting/swivel - must press separate tilt/swivle button per each move - bothering if quick work required.

Despite all the negative sides I'm lamenting above, this is professional tool. I was extremely pleased with the fill-flash performance of the unit once coupled to EOS-3 - very natural, ballance with ambient lighting is perfect. Direct flash is also excellent, producing power just enough for most balanced appearance even at very close distances to the subject. I guess this is nature of ETTL.
Many compain about totally improper falsh exposure people get often get not realizing how Canon's ETTL system work. Pay attention, the ETTL is heavily biased towards active AF point per each particular shoot, so be sure to focus right on your main subject !
The old and trusty "focus and recompose" technique will not work in ETTL !!

What somewhat dissapointed me is the performance of bounce flash. It tends to underexpose noticeably, perhaps using Stofen Omnibounce would help though (have yet tested that).
Be sure to explicitly enable the High Speed Sync on the unit prior to shooting with fill-flash at bright ambient conditions, it doesn't automatically enable that (quite annoying, must admit).

Having said the above, still admire the stable performance delivered by the unit (again, I guess I would talk about EOS-3+550EX combo rather then the flash alone) and recommend the unit to any high-end Canon user striving for flash performance to match Canon's high-end bodies.



Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Alexz to your Buddy List  
mitchpix
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 28, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 131
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good power, smal size
Cons:
DC output connect should be quick release

This is the first shoe mount flash I have had since my Vivitars 283's and 285HV's many years ago. Since then it has been 'potato masher', handle mount flashes for their power and distance. I find the exposures on both my film and digital cameras to be more accurate than ever. What more can I say? PM me if you have any questions.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mitchpix to your Buddy List  

   



Canon Speedlite 550EX TTL

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
34 144626 Oct 15, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
94% of reviewers $329.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.45
8.11
8.4
CA550EXU_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3