about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 190641 Jan 22, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $285.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.92
9.7
exef14_1_

Specifications:
This tele extender can be used with fixed focal length lenses 135mm and longer (except the 135mm f/2.8 Softfocus lens), and the EF 70-200 f/2.8L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS, 70-200 f/4.0L, and 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS zoom lenses. Superb optically, it preserves the image quality of the lens it's mounted to and multiplies its focal length 1.4x. Effective aperture is reduced by one f-stop; autofocus is possible on any EOS camera when combined with a lens having an f/4 or faster maximum aperture. The new version II maintains the outstanding optics of the previous version, and adds enhanced weather- resistant construction, and improved anti-reflective surfaces in the barrel.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next
          
dave chilvers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1691
Review Date: Jan 22, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Hardly notice hen it`s in place
Cons:
None really

Glad I purchased mine a few years ago before the price increases. Having said that I must say that without checking the exif data it`s hard to tell when you have used it or not so even at the latest prices its worth the money IMHO. I`m using it now on my 70-200f4 IS and I couldn`t be more pleased with the results! it`s that good. You`ll be surprised how handy that extra bit of reach can be. I keep it on the lens all the time as I only reach for the 70-200 when I need a decent tele and it`s a breeze to remove it if you need the 70mm end. It`s also good on the 135 but I rarely use that combo.

Jan 22, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dave chilvers to your Buddy List  
juan65
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 4, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 305
Review Date: Mar 23, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incrise focal length 1.4 times, sharp, read below
Cons:
none, if you read a lot before you buy it

I found this TC in c...gs list from a local guy, it is pristine like new on it's box,
I was able to test it at the site with my 7D and 300 F4 IS USM,

check a picture a shot here; http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/ufiles/18/418718.jpg
I Recomend to test it in a tripod and with manual focus, you can deal with the micro adjustments later if your camera suports it.

I recomend you read a lot before you decide to buy it.


Mar 23, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add juan65 to your Buddy List  
Phil UKNet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 20, 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 9, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A light, easy and not too expensive way to extend the focal length of your existing lenses with no noticeable degradation in image quality. Minimum focusing distance of the lens remains the same when the teleconverter is used.
Cons:
One stop loss of light. A bit fiddly assembling in the field. Used with lenses that have F5.6 maximum aperture, this is reduced to F8 which then means that autofocus won't work on xxD bodies.

The 1.4x converter works very well on my 300mm F4L IS and 70-200mm F4L IS lenses. It's small, light, easy to carry around and gives me a lot more flexibility.

There's not a great deal else to say. I've read lots of reports about image degradation but although this may be noticeable under lab conditions, I can't see it in real world photos.

Judge for yourself. I've posted some shots using the lenses mentioned above with and without the teleconverter. These images will give you an idea of both the magnification effect and the image quality.

http://phil.uk.net/photography/canon_14x_teleconverter.html


Apr 9, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Phil UKNet to your Buddy List  
Lon Houseman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 6, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 51
Review Date: Apr 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent product, not much added weight. MIne is the old MK1 version.
Cons:
none

Here are a couple of test shots in my back yard of a 200 2.8 cropped to match the 200 2.8 with 1.4TC

http://www.lhouseman.com/20090404-200mm-vs-200plus14tc/


Apr 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Lon Houseman to your Buddy List  
Badmono
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 9, 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Must have product if you use 'L' primes No noticeable Image degradation Fair price for doubling your lenses usefullness
Cons:
None

Works well with all my 'L' primes and extends their usefullness
Small and light - retains the weatherproofing.
No noticeable slowing of AF when used with 400 F2.8 IS - in fact the 400 F2.8 ought to come with this convertor as standard, when this combination makes Canon's 500 F4 and 600 F4 'L' primes obsolete IMO.


Mar 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Badmono to your Buddy List  
scalesusa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 2, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 2412
Review Date: Nov 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $265.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightweight, keeps the existing focus range of your lens
Cons:

Something often missed is that the extenders also work with the TS-E 90mm Tilt-Shift Lens. This is already a close focusing prime lens, and very sharp. With a Extender, you get more magnification so that it can double as a Macro lens, and the tilt mechanism helps you take macro shots that are in focus over a greater depth for those cases where you cannot physically put the axis of your lens perpendicular to the object.

Nov 15, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add scalesusa to your Buddy List  
philber
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 20, 2008
Location: France
Posts: 7518
Review Date: Jul 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: maintains lens IQ, solid build, works without fuss
Cons:
Nothing at all

I use it mainly with my 135L, giving me an equivalent just short of 200mm, f:2.8. I just love it. For modest price and weight increases, I own another L lens, same fabulous IQ. It also goes well with my 300mm f:4, which it stretches to 420mm f:5.6. What's not to love?

Jul 16, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add philber to your Buddy List  
sivrajbm
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3294
Review Date: Jun 26, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $240.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great quality, only one stop light loss, works great on my 135L & 70-200/2.8is, weather sealed
Cons:
one stop light loss, slows lens focus slightly

Works great with my 135L and 70-200/2.8is. Slow AF slightly, Provides excellent IQ.

Jun 26, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sivrajbm to your Buddy List  
Pat DiGeronimo
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Sep 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 97
Review Date: May 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $295.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Out of this world.
Cons:
Auto focus on larger lens.

I have trouble getting the autofocus to work at the longer focal lenths of my Canon 100-400, 4-5.6. But I love it.

May 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Pat DiGeronimo to your Buddy List  
Hitendra
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 15, 2007
Location: India
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build & Image quality.
Cons:
None
Oct 23, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Hitendra to your Buddy List  
Colin Key
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 8, 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 637
Review Date: Aug 27, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: An excellent way to give me 700mm on my 500mm f/4 with no obvious deterioration in IQ when mounted on my 400D (XTi) or 1D Mk III.
Cons:
None really (but see comment below).

Have only used this on two lenses: my 500mm f/4 and my recently acquired 100-400mm zoom. I am a bit disappointed with the extender's performance on the zoom - it seems to slow down the AF on my Mk III and the shots look a little "soft". With primes I think it is excellent.

Aug 27, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Colin Key to your Buddy List  
rwangsa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 26, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 27, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: doesnt affect image quality at all - cheap
Cons:
slow operation

Replying to question from Chris Frank, I am using 70-200 f/4 with IS, and it works! Strange they did not put that one in the list.

Apr 27, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rwangsa to your Buddy List  
CyberDyne
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1276
Review Date: Mar 9, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best choice for compatible Canon Telephoto lenses. Maintains weather sealing. Small lightweight and affordable way to get more from your telephotos.
Cons:
Only works with certain Canon and some SIGMA lenses. Not really a con when the fact that this is a design specific part is taken into account. Pricey compared to other options.

I've used this with several Canon L telephotos and some SIGMA's as well always with good to excellent results.

Best used on Primes, on which the Image quality impact is often invisible, it serves well on some zooms too.

Particularly on the EF 70-200mm varieties, it's impact is minimal.

The Most comprehensive compatibility chart on the WEB can be found here;
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=41922




May be silly posting these without further info, but some samples using Various lenses;
http://images.fotopic.net/?iid=y95lvb&outx=600&noresize=1
http://images.fotopic.net/?iid=y95m3n&outx=600&noresize=1
http://images.fotopic.net/?iid=yb6qrj&outx=600&noresize=1
http://images.fotopic.net/?iid=y8eauv&outx=600&noresize=1




Mar 9, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add CyberDyne to your Buddy List  
Herb Houghton
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: Feb 14, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 21335
Review Date: Mar 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: image quality,price
Cons:
none yet

Ive had this for a week with the rebel XTi body and the 70-200 F4 L lens. It has very clear images. It's on my rebel all the time now.

Mar 3, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Herb Houghton to your Buddy List  
motionid
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 25, 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1
Review Date: Feb 24, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: I have not used this extender yet.
Cons:

Saw a few people asking about the computability of this extender.
Take a look here for details:
http://www.usa.canon.com/dlc/controller?act=GetArticleAct&articleID=266&fromTips=1



Feb 24, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add motionid to your Buddy List  
aladyforty
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 3, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1814
Review Date: Feb 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: wonderful, little reduction in photo quality
Cons:
none so far

Ive only had this for 3 days but so far Im impressed. Ive done a bit of testing attaching this to my 70-200 F4 L lens and its quite sharp.

heres a few of my first test shots

http://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/511119

If you cant afford another lens, get one of these.


Feb 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add aladyforty to your Buddy List  

   



Canon Extender EF 1.4x II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
53 190641 Jan 22, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $285.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.92
9.7
exef14_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4  next