about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 146391 Apr 25, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
81% of reviewers $1,278.90
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.26
8.05
8.0
1996NAS_180

Specifications:
Result of VR (Vibration Reduction) is equivalent to using a shutter speed three f/stops faster
VR is automatically detected during panning operation. Two modes of VR: Image plane and Viewfinder
3 ED glass for high resolution and high contrast even at maximum apertures
Filter does not rotate during zooming.

Filter Size 77mm
f/Stop Range 4.5-32
Minimum Focus Distance 7.5' (2.3 m)
Magnification 1:4.8
Zoom/Focus Control Two-touch
Compatible Formats FX
DX
FX in DX Crop Mode
35mm Film
Angle of View DX-format: 20 - 4
FX-format: 3010' - 610'
Groups/Elements 11/17 (3 x ED [Extra-low Dispersion] elements)
Tripod Collar Yes (detachable)
Length 6.7" (17 cm)
Maximum Diameter 3.6" (9 cm)
Weight 2.9 lb (1.3 kg)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
vince
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 306
Review Date: Mar 13, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 6 

Pros: VR really works, good optics, solid build.
Cons:
Pathetically slow AF, no silent wave motor (AF-S), weak tripod collar, slow max aperture.

First the good points, the construction and optics are excellent. The zooming and manual focus actions are very smooth. Sharpness and color rendition are very very good.

Sadly the AF is pathetically slow since for whatever reason Nikon decided not to use the AF-S motor in this lens. With the D100 it takes 15 minutes to AF from closeup to infinity (well Ok just exaggerating). It's OK as a travel lens but the slow f-stop prevents me from shooting fast paced action and shots where I need shallow DoF, such as those you'd get with an f/2.8 or f/4 lens.Tripod collar is flimsy.

If I were to make a choice today, I'd take a serious look at the 70-200VR and skip this lens altogether.


Mar 13, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vince to your Buddy List  
SkipL
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 10, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mar 11, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,399.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sharp, well placed controls for the most part. Easy to carry
Cons:
Slow AF, Poor quality tripod collar.

I have been amazed how well the VR works and as a result rarely put it on a tripod. Good thing too, because the collar is flimsy and poorly designed. Even after reading many reviews. I was still disappointed with the autofocus, which on the D100 hunts a lot! The carrying case that comes with the lense is nice, but it's a tight fit if the tripod collar is installed. As for the picture quality - Outstanding for the price.

Mar 11, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SkipL to your Buddy List  
Quentin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 23, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 75
Review Date: Jan 24, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Reach, optical quality at the price
Cons:
slight softness beyond 300mm

I'm giving this an excellent rating, because quite frankly, its a steal at the price. Focusing is slow, but the image is sharp, and the VR really works. Not as amazingly sharp as my 85mm F1.4, but sharp by any normal standards.

A regular in the camera bag.



Jan 24, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Quentin to your Buddy List  
Howard Passman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 23, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 656
Review Date: Nov 27, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: I think it works well in low light as long as you can manually focus. See example shot at f5.6 and 1 second! Light enough to lug around.
Cons:
Focus hunts and is noisy on the D100. It has a tough time with moving subjects unless they are really filling the frame

I have the 70-200 f2.8 AFS VR also and I'm finding the 80-400 gets more use because of the reach.
This shot was taken at 1 second f5.6
http://www.pbase.com/image/20911103.jpg
I was lucky to focus at all. It was quiet dark.


Nov 27, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Howard Passman to your Buddy List  
rob_r
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 11, 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 265
Review Date: Aug 26, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp as ...., if you know what to do!
Cons:
Slow AF of course

Depends on what you want it for. Sports? Perhaps not. Wildlife.. as long as it stays still long enough to focus on - give it a second - great. And that suits me. Some say it's soft @ 400mm - maybe so on a film/FF body, but on my d100 it's hard to see it's softness (same field of view as 600mm thereabouts).

Seeing as it would cost 1600 to get the heavier 70-200 VR & TC2 thingy telecon... well it's an easy choice to spend less.

Nah, for the money, and for the versatility - less to lug around (tripod and lens weight combined) - and if you're not worried about the focussing speed, go for it. Sure, it ain't f2.8 (but VR buys you headroom on that) and it ain't AF-S (doesn't bother me), but at this cash (200-400 --- 5000 anyone!?!) its a steal.


Aug 26, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rob_r to your Buddy List  
dbaleckaitis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 29, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 333
Review Date: Apr 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: VR! Fast, heavy, nice contrast
Cons:
Have not found anything other than weight!

Works great when attached to a D1X (Yes I said D1X)!

I am very happy with this lens.
Well constructed and heavy. VR works great, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Dan


Apr 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dbaleckaitis to your Buddy List  
brbriggs
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 5, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 240
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great for low light and wild life.
Cons:
May need manual focus at times, but the M-F ring is well designed and easy to use.

Recommended.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add brbriggs to your Buddy List  
Art B
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 2, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1294
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Image quality; VR
Cons:
Slow to focus

Plays nicely with the D100 (and the F100). The VR functionality truely lives up to the advertising, in that it will give you 3 extra stops. Really shines in situations of hand held wildlife.

The slow focus probably doesn't lend itself very well to high speed action, although using the focus "Limit" mode does help a bit.

I've owned this lens since soon after it landed on dealer shelves.


Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Art B to your Buddy List  
mrdinh
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 26, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1655
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: light for its coverage
Cons:
not too good under low light conditions

incompatible with d1x?...i heard that again...what!...i'm not sure what ya'll talking bout?....i don't have any with my d1x and 80-400...please explain....

Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mrdinh to your Buddy List  
erikff
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 8, 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1281
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 4 

Pros: sharp
Cons:
slow focussing, VR problems with D1x

I had this lens for just under a year and hated it from the moment I first bought it. I think that my expectations must have been too high but I found this lens extremely slow and in addition I had compatibility problems with my D1x.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add erikff to your Buddy List  




Nikon 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED VR AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 146391 Apr 25, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
81% of reviewers $1,278.90
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.26
8.05
8.0
1996NAS_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3