about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
96 236986 Mar 18, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $1,625.72
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.55
9.6
2139NAS_180

Specifications:
Exclusive Silent Wave Motor enables ultra-high-speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and powerful super-quiet operation
VR operation offers the equivalent of using a shutter speed 3 stops faster. In addition, active vibration mode selection is possible. For using in an active situation such as in a car, boat or plane.
VR ON/OFF mode available
New cosmetic design
5 ED elements reduce chromatic aberrations providing superior optica performance - even at maximum aperture
Fully compatible with Nikon TC-14E II and TC-20E II Teleconverters
Internal Focusing (IF) design for smoother focusing and great body balance
M/A mode enable instant switching from autofocus to manual with virtually no lag time even during AF servo operation
No power consumption during manual focus operation
Rounded diaphragm (9 blades) for natural blur
Focuses as close as 4.9ft (AF) 4.6ft (MF)
High-performance Nikon Super Intergrated Coating offers superior color reproduction and minimizes ghost and flare
Detachable tripod mounting collar provided
Filter attachment does not rotate with focusing
New G design enables apertures to be selected from select Nikon AF SLR camera bodies
New G design incorporates distance informatin for flash and ambient light exposure processes
Fully compatible with D1X, D1H, D100, F5, F100, N80, N75 and N65


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next
          
lextalionis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 28, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1076
Review Date: May 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,630.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Like the Canon version, every bit as good + an ounce brand loyality!
Cons:
A little pricy, but you get what you pay for.

Very sharp and fast! The lens works great with the Kenko 1.4X TC! The VR is icing on the cake! Highly recommend!

The first two sample shots of a Kestrel here were taken with the 1.4X TC and the rest of the shots w/o the 1.4TC, photos taken with a D80:

Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Lens Photo Samples

-Roy


May 5, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lextalionis to your Buddy List  
shreds
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 15, 2008
Location: N/A
Posts: 6
Review Date: May 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Clarity, Well Balanced, Extremely Sharp, Excellent Build Quality, Smooth, A Superb Fast Lens that feels 'right'. A stunning Pro product.
Cons:
Brilliant with D200/300 and other APS sensor Nikon cameras. Disappointing vignetting with the D3 even after the firmware upgrade.

I enthused about this lens in every respect until I came to try it on a D3.

Could not believe that such a stunning lens had been optimised so well for APS sensors, but with Nikon's leap into full frame, the vignetting really is noticeable.

However for the D200/300 it really is a stellar performance lens.



May 5, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add shreds to your Buddy List  
Dasmig
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 13, 2008
Location: Philippines
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 2, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,599.75 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Insanely fast AF. Very Sharp even at f/2.8. Almost no CA. And the bokeh... truly an amazing lens.
Cons:
Heavy? O c'mon it's worth every gram! Also, it burns a hole in your pocket...



May 2, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dasmig to your Buddy List  
Zagisis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 30
Review Date: Mar 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, Great Bokeh, Noticeable. "G" CPU.
Cons:
Lens cover fit, Adds weight...

Wow, I have only had a few days, but I can attest to its wonders. Very fast, sharp. Makes a lot image "keepers".

Build strong and durable since I have already dropped it slightly when I had to break suddenly, and the camera bag fell off the vehicle back seat on the floor. No problem with either the D300 that it is mounted on, or the lens.

Its very noticeable and obvious. So be careful when you walk on the "wilder side of social enviroments".

I am comparing it to my Canon 70-200mm 2.8 L lens. It is slightly sharper and faster. The photos come out well balanced in terms of color and contrast. Very creamy Bokehs. Like I said in another review, I am seriously thinking of selling my Canon gear. I think I might try from my "Camera Bucket List", the Nikon D3 with this lens.

I am covering a theatre production in a few weeks and a "civil war" reenactment. So lets see how it functions under low light situations as well as fast moving subjects.

If you have the bucks it a great investment, if you don't try and sell a kidney. Just kidding...

If you care to see some magic Nikon 70-200mm 2.8 VR images, click on" www.afphotodesign.aminus3.com

Thanks to all.


Mar 27, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Zagisis to your Buddy List  
adamo99
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 21, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 427
Review Date: Feb 29, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality, light and compact (compared to previous versions, and Canon L equivalents). Razor sharp image. Fast, accurate AF.
Cons:
None.

I tried this lens, combined with a D300, and promptly sold my Canon 1DmkII, and a bag full of L lenses, to switch back to Nikon.

It is by far the sharpest lens I have owned/used/tested. A stellar performer.


Feb 29, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add adamo99 to your Buddy List  
Rick Lewis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 19, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 37
Review Date: Feb 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Brilliant! Not much else to say.
Cons:
It's BIG & Heavy! The lens hood seems to be too easily knocked off and it is difficult to place in the storage mode (backwards on the lens).

I thought this lens was good on my D200 but on the D3 it is stellar! Focus is very fast and tack sharp. The VR function is excellent.

I love it on my D3 for portraits. It's just a beautiful lens.


Feb 8, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Rick Lewis to your Buddy List  
traveler
Offline

Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3410
Review Date: Jan 18, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Instant and accurate focus. Stunning bokeh, On the money sharpness wide open across the image to the corners. The build is as good as it gets.
Cons:
none

I thought that perhaps this lens was hyped a bit over the years. I had not worked with one, and now that I have and own one all I can say this is a "must have" for any serious photographer, or one that cares about the final image. The bokeh is legendary and for a good reason. The background disappears if you want it to. The color and contrast are pro level all the way. The build is also as good as it gets. You really can't want more unless you're just plain unrealistic. I use this with a 1.7xII teleconverter with super results. Doesn't slow down the autofocus at all.........and the hit to sharpness is next to none. This is a must have for a range that is much used in the photographic world. A 70-200vr should be in everyones arsenal.

Jan 18, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add traveler to your Buddy List  
john11t
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 14, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 528
Review Date: Nov 28, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent zoom range, VR is great, super-fast AF
Cons:
maybe the tripod foot is easy to lose??

I've had this monster for almost 3 years. I use it every day. The only time it is out of my hands is for the yearly 3Cs at Nikon. I upgraded from the 80-200 f2.8 which is no slouch and the 70-200 is way better. With VR and AF-S I have made frames that were not possible 6 years ago. Handheld available-light photos in the dark at 1/10th no problem.
Heavy? Spend 20minutes holding up a 300 f2.8 and you'll be begging for the 70-200
With the 17-55 and 70-200 there aren't really any focal length holes a few steps won't fix.


Nov 28, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add john11t to your Buddy List  
John Hanon
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 21, 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 1226
Review Date: Nov 21, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Stunning quality
Cons:
Price (?)

I decided to splash the money on that lens and to delay buying the d300 until next march or so. Coming from the 18-200VR and the 70-300VR, this is no match.

Only negative for me, it is so heavy for my old bones, but then pictures you get... what a reward.


Nov 21, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add John Hanon to your Buddy List  
D LEGAKIS
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 11, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 11, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Build quality, so what!
Cons:
It sometimes focuses, cannot track moving objects, never focuses in dim lit situations, VR over-corrects, on f2.8 image is severely out of focus.

Where do I start. It has been sent back to Nikon three time with focusing and/or VR issues but they find nothing wrong with it. I suspect the VR over-corrects as it moves the image instead of stabilising it. On f2.8 it just does NOT focus, either back focuses or front focuses, and I'm talking about non-moving objects with plenty of light and contrast. In moving images the tracking is a joke, as is the AF in dim-lit situation. I try to pre-focus and switch to manual but again it fails! I thought it was my D200 to blame which has been sent to Nikon three times also with similar problems. A lot of marketing money spent for a poor product.

Nov 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add D LEGAKIS to your Buddy List  
cheiklefou
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 2, 2005
Location: France
Posts: 59
Review Date: Jun 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast sharp, vr is verry good, built
Cons:
????

there is a big difference beteew amateuring and pro. this lens is absoluty make for pro. so if you have enougth money donc think, take it :-)

cheik (french, you gess)


Jun 13, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cheiklefou to your Buddy List  
ricky balboa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 26, 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, colour & contrast, build quality, everything.
Cons:
Price, but you have to pay 50% more to get 20% more quality.

Fantastic lens, a pleasure to use and inspires confidence every time I use it, it's the business. Colour, contrast, sharpness, speed, all excellent. VR is like a Jedi mind trick. Much better at f4 that f2.8 but it's no dog either wide open. I don't find it heavy at all - I think it's really well balanced (I upgraded from a shorter, fatter Sigma 70-200). Although it is long it is also quite slender. Awesome - if you want this range, buy one.

May 26, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ricky balboa to your Buddy List  
Camilo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 5, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 35
Review Date: May 15, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, very very fast, VR works incredible under low-light, awsome lens.
Cons:
?

Cant get enough of this lens, even though its heavy, carrying it around is a pleasure. Its very well built, incredibly fast AF, something I never thought my D100 was capable of until I got it, defenetly worth the price!

May 15, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Camilo to your Buddy List  
nirito
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 26, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 146
Review Date: Mar 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid build quality with superb fast optical performance. The VR is a bonus and is a excellent feature of the lens. Allows capture of subjects at low shutter speeds in challeging conditions like a stage performance.
Cons:
Expensive.



Mar 31, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nirito to your Buddy List  
avfoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 12, 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mar 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, bokeh, Speed. Perfect for weddings.
Cons:
Price but ...

This lens is always on one of my two bodies when I shoot weddings and I just love it.

I recomend it to any one who wants to go into wedding photography.


Martin
www.avfotografia.es


Mar 13, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add avfoto to your Buddy List  
robinng
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 1, 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 47
Review Date: Mar 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, fast, good color etc
Cons:
longer than my previous 80-200 AFD. so can't really fit in my old lowepro stealth reporter 300AW.

the more i use it the more i love. the moment i press the shutter release button. i know what i going to get....sharp pix....amazing lense!
http://www.robinng.com/blog most of my wedding candid picture/distance shot was produce by this glass.


Mar 12, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add robinng to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
96 236986 Mar 18, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $1,625.72
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.86
8.55
9.6
2139NAS_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next