about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
21 114157 Nov 19, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $426.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.75
9.38
9.3
1963NAS_180

Specifications:
Excellent, fast aperture zoom lens for general photography
Push-pull type zoom is ideal for zoom effects during shooting
Distortion is well controlled throughout range


 


Page:  1 · 2  next
       †††
Muggee007
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 20, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Nov 19, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Color rendition, Sharp, Built like a tank
Cons:
Push Pull Zoom (just need to get used to it)

I have both the D and the Non D and I have to say that they seem to render colors a little differently (maybe its just me). On my D700 this thing is at home and in its element! Focus is fast and accurate and even at 2.8 both copies are sharp in the center. Push pull leaves something to be desired for accurate framing, but this thing lives on my camera. On DX I really think its too limited, on my D100 and D200 it never got much use. Through snow, rain, heat and dust they both have survived without any problems. Im sure the 24-70 is better but the wallet thanks me for using the 35-70s.



Nov 19, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Muggee007 to your Buddy List  
yossarian123
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 9, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 1274
Review Date: Jan 13, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great image quality bordering on the spectacular Almost as sharp as a prime Ratio of quality to price is high
Cons:
Flare (buy the lens hood!) AF hunts in low light AF not as fast as newer lenses

I've had this lens for 2 months now and I'm extremely happy with it. You can read the previous reviews here for the background on this lens. For my part, the lens build quality is pro-level - big, heavy, very solid. Image quality is excellent - you're really nitpicking if you can find any faults in the IQ. The big exception to this is lens flare - if you use this near any source of light this lens will flare. Be sure to buy the recommended lens hood if you're on FX (I found it on Adorama used for $12). You can substitute bigger hoods if you're using DX (other lens hood will vignette on the wider ends on FX). I've been using a hood and it really does work wonders.

Backwards compatibility is also a big plus over the 24-70 - I can swap this on my FM2n, N90s, or F4s and it works perfectly.

All in all, this is a great purchase at a great price. If you find one at a reasonable price snap it up. Don't worry about the short zoom range - when walking around I usually carry this, a 24mm, and maybe a 105mm and I'm set.


Jan 13, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add yossarian123 to your Buddy List  
Guidenet
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 23, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 95
Review Date: Oct 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $751.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremely sharp with great contrast. Bright beautiful rendition. 62mm filter thread and bayonet hood. Did I mention that it's very sharp?
Cons:
Not the best bokeh, but not bad. Tends to flare with the sun in the image. Push pull type zoom and front rotates on focus.

This lens is the predecessor of the 28-70 f/2.8 which is itself the predecessor of the new 24-70 f/2.8. What we are talking about is great pro-level glass. The lens was made from 1987 until 2006 in an AF and AF-D model. The D model has a better coating along with the ability to communicate distance to the camera. Nikon added this D model in 1992 and is the subject of this review. With the advent of the D3 and D700, the price of minty 35-70 f/2.8 AFD models have been soaring lately and I paid too much for my LNIB model. But, I really donít mind paying for great glass.

This lens is extremely sharp through its entire zoom range except some very slight softness in the extreme borders at f/2.8 and 35mm. I have also rarely seen a lens with such a beautiful contrasty color rendition. On my D700 it fits the bill for my kind of shooting. For slightly over a third the cost of the 24-70, I have a great pro-glass walkaround for vacations and holiday duties.

You get a real aperture ring so will work on your older film bodies and a macro feature. The macro feature isnít true 1:1 macro and focus is only manual when the macro is enabled which can only be done at 35mm, so good for flowers and such, but not so good for bugs.

The 35-70 is heavy duty pro-build with metal construction unlike many lenses these days, but itís considerably smaller and lighter than the two lenses that replaced it. It takes a little getting used to the push pull type zoom and the front rotates when it focuses. All in all, Iím extremely happy with this lens.


Oct 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Guidenet to your Buddy List  
PeepingTom
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 4, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 609
Review Date: Jan 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Built like a Rolex, sharp, fast, great colors, wonderful overall image quality...fantastic pro glass for about $ 400!
Cons:
None



Jan 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add PeepingTom to your Buddy List  
turtle14
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 12, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 262
Review Date: Aug 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp! Great image quality! Solid as a tank
Cons:
HEAVY!

Image quality with this lens is superb! Extremely sharp from f/4 and up! Can also be had cheap if you shop around for a used version. I found mine from a vendor on amazon. This has become my walkaround workhorse until I can afford to replace it with a 24-70 f/2.8!

Only downside is that it is heavy considering the size of it. Also some people don't like the push-pull zoom, but I don't mind it at all.


Aug 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add turtle14 to your Buddy List  
hakli
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 11, 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $170.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Outstanding sharpness, great colours and nice bokeh.
Cons:
F2.8 looks bit soft, but F4 and above is razor sharp. Flare is hard to beat sometimes.

Focal lenght is bit narrow for social shots.

Jun 15, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add hakli to your Buddy List  
veroman
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3780
Review Date: Mar 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: ē Super sharp ē Excellent rendering of detail ē Excellent color ē Excellent contrast
Cons:

I haven't owned my Nikon D2x for very long, and the 35-70 f/2.8 is the first lens I bought to use with it. I didn't want a lens that would limit or mask the D2x's potential.

I find the 35-70 to be as perfect a lens as there is. I do believe it surpasses any of the Canon lenses I own and use with my 5D ... and I own some pretty terrific Canon lenses.

Thought it's on the heavy side, I never hesitate to use the 35-70 f/2.8. That's because the results are always excellent. It's an utterly reliable lens and the only lens I've ever owned that is the equal of primes of the same focal lengths, ie 35mm, 50mm, 60mm & 70mm. Simply an outstanding lens.

Now the trick is find a wide-angle zoom and tele-zoom that are of equal quality without going broke.


Mar 6, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add veroman to your Buddy List  
Osprey01
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 10, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 158
Review Date: Jan 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharpness Contrast Optical Quality Build Quality. Value
Cons:
Limited zoom range, somewhat fiddly zoom (push/pull) Very fiddly macro mode. Weighs a lot. Flare resistance could be better.

Mine seems ridiculously sharp. Lots of touch up work required on portraits because this shows every little skin blemish and a poor shave. Very impressive. Good build quality. Will work on FX cameras. With continuous focus on and an AF-on button being used, lack of Silent Wave focusing is not a big deal IMO.

Jan 15, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Osprey01 to your Buddy List  
Jeff Spain
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 4, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 15, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $440.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp lens, light, sharp,
Cons:
some flare in front lit situations

Razor sharp lens! This lens is sharper than my 85mm or my 80-200 mm zoom. Superb IQ. It has the old push pull zoom, but you get use to it. The lens tends to lose contrast when facing into direct light, so use a lens hood or your hand.

This is the best value on pro glass around. For a fraction of the price of the new zooms in this range you can have a pro quality lens. Highly recommend. The 35-70 range is out of favor on DX cameras, so take advantage of the fire sale prices.


Jan 15, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jeff Spain to your Buddy List  
James Markus
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4421
Review Date: May 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lens is smaller than the 28-70mm f2.8. Get this lens! Sharp, good contrast and color... best value and quality for the money you could possibly have in this focal range.
Cons:



May 25, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add James Markus to your Buddy List  
tmozey
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 11, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 256
Review Date: Sep 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: This was my most used lens for 15+ years until I jumped to digital. Durable, fast, and reasonably sharp. Handles macro okay too.
Cons:
Mine will no longer focus and repair said this lens had a weakness in that the barrel has many slots that tend to wear out. (Like the repair guy said, after 15+ years, I got my money's worth.) But this might be something to think about if purchasing an old copy of this lens. Was a great focal lenght for film, but for digital I would prefer something wider.



Sep 30, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tmozey to your Buddy List  
badplumbing
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 7, 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, contrasty, great depth of field control, light and small enough to carry around on long journeys. Built like a tank.
Cons:
Should be bundled with the lens hood which is a must and can be hard to find.

A lot of good photographers dismiss this lens as being 'great optically but of limited focal length range'. I have a Leica Sumicron f2.0 35mm Asph lens which the world and his brother raves about as if it were an optical deity and no one says .. "great lens, but it has a limited focal length range". The Nikon lens I have is every bit as good as the Leica lens. Lovely contrast, sharp and generally my absolute favourite lens ever .. and there a lots around second hand. You can get a good 'D' version for under 400 Euro in Europe.

Feb 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add badplumbing to your Buddy List  
Chad Gladstone
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 71
Review Date: Jan 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp and contrasty, great value - a sleeper for the price
Cons:
Limited zoom range; prone to flare

Sensational lens with a limited zoom range. I have always desired this lens for its optical characteristics and discrete size, but resisted the urge because of the lack of silent wave focusing. With the aquistion of the D200, the focus speed is acceptable and its optical preformance has exceeded my expectation. Its range is perfect for portrait work where space is limited. The lens is well built and quite heavy for its modest size. Be mindful of flaring when shooting in direct sunlight even with the attached HB-1 hood, it can be objectionable. Despite the flaring issue, it is a real bargain and at a third the price of the 28-70, it sacrifices little, if any, preformance to its larger sibling (apart from the obvious lack of af-s and 7mm of wide angle).

Jan 30, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chad Gladstone to your Buddy List  
pik2004
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 30, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 1, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: fast 2.8, Good range for 35mm SLR, Sharp with Film and Digital.
Cons:
Front rotation (hassle to use circular polarizer), push pull zoom.

I've had this lens for about 10yrs now started with FM2 to F100 and now D70s. it's very sharp and fast lens, if used on film it's very good walk around lens, but for digital it's 52-105mm (35mm equivalent) and makes it kind of odd range to use. other than that it's an excellent lens.

Jan 1, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add pik2004 to your Buddy List  
BryanP
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 162
Review Date: Dec 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast. Very sharp lens. Very durable lens overall.
Cons:
Push-pull mechanism makes the lens vulnerable to dust.

These lens spent most of it's time attached onto my camera because it's fast and takes care of a good mid-range to short tele (for digital camera). The pictures I've captured with this lens are sharp (I actually feel as if it's a /tad/ bit softer at 35mm compared to the other focal lengths, but it's not bad at all).

The lens are built tough. Seems like even the hands of Zeus can't destroy this lens. I love the Nikon line of lenses that are built out of metal.

The only gripe I have about this lens is the push-pull concept. I prefer having the zooming controlled through a ring. The suction due to the way the zooming is controlled makes the lens prone to having dust being sucked into the lens itself (which is bad).

Nevertheless, I highly recommend these lens. They produce very sharp images and is a must for mid-range/short-tele zoom users.


Dec 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BryanP to your Buddy List  
inano
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Review Date: Feb 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 7 

Pros: Solid mid-range performer, exceptionally sharp across it's entire zoom range. Near perfect fast glass mid-range lens.
Cons:
FLARE! be forewarned that this lens will flare with any light source that approaches its axis.

This is one of Nikon's older AF-D lenses. That it is still in the line-up says something about it's ability to deliver good images. This lens is solidly built, relatively compact compared to other lenses in this range and reasonably priced for 2.8 glass. As an older lens, its focusing is slower and noisy. But the images it produces are tack sharp.

My only complaint (and it is a big one), is this lens will flare any alight source that comes close to it's axis. Ironically, despite it's speed, shooting at night can be a trial as various night light sources tend to flare.

Overall, this lens is an exceptional performer if you can accept it's limitations. I would prefer the 28-70 2.8 ED-IF AF-D if I could afford to spend nearly a $1,000 more (who wouldn't?).


Feb 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add inano to your Buddy List  

†††



Nikon 35-70mm f/2.8D AF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
21 114157 Nov 19, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $426.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.75
9.38
9.3
1963NAS_180


Page:  1 · 2  next