about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
43 148072 Jun 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,172.44
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.82
8.79
9.5
1961NAS_180

Specifications:
ED glass element reduces chromatic aberrations providing superior optical performance - even at maximum aperture
Ideal mid-range zoom lens for architecture and portraiture. Fast maximum aperture for shooting in low light.
M/A switch for fast transitions from AF to manual focus
No power drain when manually focusing


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
          
Disc0chef
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 1, 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 1, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: This lens was the precursor to today's professional grade 24-70, and was known for its excellent sharpness and color rendition and it's ability to provide near prime lens quality across the zoom range wi a fixed aperture of 2.8, and Absolutely excellent build quality
Cons:
Screw-driven autofocus not as fast as USM, hefty, field of view 4mm shorter than today's comparable lenses

This is an incredible lens, bar none. When it first came out, this was a lens found in every professional's arsenal and is still just as good as it ever was. This lens won't autofocus on some of the least expensive Cropped sensor cameras, but will work fine on any FX camera and most of the better quality consumer grade, like the d7000 and up.
This lens was produced by Nikon during its best production years. Everything about this lens screams quality, for its impressive and solid build to its heft. This lens came with a hardship case with form fitting red velveteen covered foam. The case has a clamshell lid with leather magnetized buckles which ire inks the owner how impeccably well the lens was built. When I look at the one size fits all microfiber drawstring socks that are pawned off as a lens "pouch" by nikon these days I long for a return to the days that produced this lens.


Jun 1, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Disc0chef to your Buddy List  
Dpedraza
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 8, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 780
Review Date: Apr 29, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, great color and contrast, build quality, bokeh
Cons:

excellent lens on my D800. It looked great on my D600 as well. It's excellent wide open and has a great focal range. People complain about the size of the lens but I personally like the size of the lens. The lens feels great in hand and the build quality is top notch.

Apr 29, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Dpedraza to your Buddy List  
paparazzinick
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7393
Review Date: Nov 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp and fast
Cons:
heavy

One of the best lenses I have ever used. Well as far as zoom lenses go. It was tack sharp and very fast. It was great on DX and FX. Check out some samples on our site to see what it can do.

http://nbombichstudios.com


Nov 12, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add paparazzinick to your Buddy List  
ChiShutter
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 7, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 951
Review Date: Sep 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, great color and contrast, useful focal range for weddings/events, fairly quick autofocus, build quality is tremendous
Cons:
It's big, and on DX I could use more on the wide end.

I love this lens, and where I used to be a prime lens shooter this midrange zoom is now one of my favorite pieces of gear. It has been great for weddings and events, and is very useful for street photography too. The sharpness, color and contrast are great and the bokeh is quite nice.

Only downside is the size and weight, but I got used to it in a hurry. Great lens!


Sep 22, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ChiShutter to your Buddy List  
spentomuch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 3, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 525
Review Date: Oct 31, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $975.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Sharp, Sharp, Build, Price
Cons:
Big

This was/is one of Nikon's best
Very sharp, great "bokeh",It's Built like a tank too. it is a world of difference from a consumer lens.
I love to go shoot with this lens and then open up the files, I go WOW every time.
OK,- if your looking at this lens it's probably because the newer 24-70G is $600-$800 more.
I have shot with the 24, and too my eyes the 28 gives up nothing to the 24-70 accept 4mm on the wide end.
I'm glad this choice exist, with the money I've saved ,I'm buying a 35/1.8 -50/1.8 & 85/1.8 on FM


Oct 31, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add spentomuch to your Buddy List  
erick_C
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 10, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 100
Review Date: Oct 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: extremely sharp, fast focus, nice balance (even on a D300 w/o grip), bokeh
Cons:
it's called "The Beast" for a reason, the hood alone will scare old people and small animals...

I purchased this lens back in June this year on eBay and have been EXTREMELY satisfied with the moments I've been able to capture with this lens. The focal range on a DX body is manageable (if you can appreciate the benefit using a 42-105mm).

With current prices dropping, it's one helluva buy.


Oct 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add erick_C to your Buddy List  
---XR---
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Oct 30, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1408
Review Date: Apr 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $975.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Very sharp, for the past 8 years it was the best nikkor zoom in this range, and even with the release of the 24-70 G this lens still hold it's own. The same optically, just a tad shorter and currently $600 cheaper. very well built. Has the Pro feel and balences correctly on a D200/D300 (w grip) or D2/D3 series.

Apr 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ---XR--- to your Buddy List  
nvrupnvrin
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jan 9, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2931
Review Date: Feb 8, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built quality, Sharp, Sharp & Sharp with Great contrast and Colors
Cons:
none

I have owned both the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8 ( good lens ) and now again, the Nikon 28-70mmf/2.8 and this is where I intend to be. Great build, IMHO , better balance than the prior and this copy is sharp @2.8 through out the range.
Hope this is informative to all that are considering a purchase of a high quality mid-range zoom.
Best


Feb 8, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nvrupnvrin to your Buddy List  
EOS20
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 6, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 13638
Review Date: Feb 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good build quality, Sharp, Nice colours, Quick focus.
Cons:
Size and weight.

I got a good used version of this lens and this is my first Nikon "Gold Ring" Lenses coming from shooting with Canon L series lenses.

The build quality of this lens is good, Very solid and quick and silent autofocus and produces nice crisp and sharp pictures with great colours.

A great lens for both DX and FX cameras!



Feb 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add EOS20 to your Buddy List  
simonella_viru
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 19, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 644
Review Date: Dec 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: + sharp wide open + useful focal range + fast AF + price (used)
Cons:
- heavy - large - some play (movement) on front barrel

spectacular lens! the negatives that i posted do not prevent me from rating the lens 10/10. if you want constant f/2.8 aperture, full frame, fast AF, decent focal length spread- you have to "pay" with weight and size. no getting around it.

right now, with the introduction of the 24-70, you can find the 28-70 for a really good price. sure, the 28-70 has 4mm less on the wide end, compared to its newer brother, but no big deal. it's wide enough, at least for my uses on a d700.

the images this lens produces are excellent (sharp, contrasty) at both the wide and telephoto end. if you don't want to pay through the roof on the 24-70, i suggest you have a look at this lens in the used market.


Dec 9, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add simonella_viru to your Buddy List  
SCOTT SHIN
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Dec 21, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 565
Review Date: Aug 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built quality, Sharp, Great contrast
Cons:
none



Aug 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SCOTT SHIN to your Buddy List  
JustForFun
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 23, 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 23, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Construction, Optics and AF-S
Cons:
AF-S is generally noisier than Canon equivalent USM and Price

Optically, a very good professional lens. Sharp and with good contrast. Barrel distortion at 28mm was in its class and generally acceptable.

Construction side, felt much better than the AF 35-70/2.8D and I generally used it with either my Nikon D1 or F5.

Focuses very fast, espeically if you came from the mechanical link AF 35-70/2.8D. However, somewhat still noisier that Canon's EF 28-70 f2.8L. Most folks don't realise it but first generation AF-S lenses just were not as quiet as Canon's USM or I guess it's just me.


Jul 23, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JustForFun to your Buddy List  
Portengen
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 3, 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 19, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very well build, speedy AF-S
Cons:
Soft and misfocus on my copy

Guess I wasn't lucky with this lens. I was so exciting when it came in, but all pictures were soft. I like the tacky sharp details, specially the eyes of subjects. But for some reason almost every picture I took was soft, like it was out of focus.
Another issue is that it sometimes took three attempts to focus at all. Saw some other examples of the 28-70mm and they were all very sharp and satisfying. Find it strange that for a lens this price there are still faulty examples.
Sold this lens (explained my problems to the seller) and am now waiting for the 24-70mm.


Jul 19, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Portengen to your Buddy List  
Don Olson
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 24, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 484
Review Date: Jun 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: AFS, easy to handle, sharp throughout pretty much the range, images are great and the prints wonderful. Build quality is tough, (I dropped it once no issues TG) 77mm which matches my other glass and keeps the filters down to a dull roar.
Cons:
Can't really think of any. Some consider this pricey but I'd rather spend it on this than on a 17-55.

Now that the new syndrome has died down a bit I was able to compare my 28-70 with a 24-70 early on for a good run. Though another wonderful lens the 24-70 didn't show me enough improvement in final print to where I wanted to change. My 28-70 has been great all the way around and pretty much lives on the camera. There would have to be a much bigger improvement for a lens in this F/L for me to want to change. And no, I'm not talking about adding VR.

Jun 16, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Don Olson to your Buddy List  
D.K. Owens
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 6, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Review Date: Mar 14, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,499.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp lens. Appears made for the D3; only that the D3 was born years after the creation of this lens. Creamy background blur (bokeh) makes some rich portraits in the wide open f stop scale.
Cons:
None.............

This is one of the best mid range zooms ever made by Nikon, bar none. While many will come to love the new 24-70 f/2.8, please don't count this one out... Razor sharp at all f stops, but sharpest around f/8.

Making generic comparisons with this lens and the 24-70 f/2.8, I discovered the difference between the two lenses is one, the 28-70 f/2.8 has the aperture ring (no big deal...it was desgned for film); two, the diffrence in wide angles is 4mm; three, the 28-70 wins when it comes to defocus control. The 24-70 is an outstanding lens, but falls short of the mark for those who want to make some very significant contrasts with defocus control.

This lens is a fast as any; put to the test, it scores high enough among many pros that they'd rather fight than switch to another "new" piece of glass.

What i love most is that the low-light capabilities and marriage to the D3 make this lens a dream. Not to get carried away here, but the D3 makes nearly all Nikon glass look spectacular. That said, throw this lens on and you have everything from, weddings, portraits, group shots and events covered.

My greatest dilemma now with this lens: When do I really need the 24-70 f/2.8? After all, if I didn't know better, I'd think that this lens can do just about everything...except take the pictures by itself.



Mar 14, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add D.K. Owens to your Buddy List  
jbregar
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Mar 17, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 729
Review Date: Jan 7, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $875.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It's sharp, huge, fast focusing, bright and just overally gorgeous.
Cons:
It's got the crinkle-coat finish that's looking a bit dated and Tokina-ish, it's HUGEMONGOUS.

I've had this lens just a short time, but while it's large and the hood scares small children, it's just a gem of a lens. With the new 24-70/2.8 out from Nikon, this lens is sure to drop in value on the used market as the gearheads upgrade to the new hotness.

It's sharp and contrasty, even wide open and has great handling on a pro body. I could see this being a bear on a D40x or a D70, but on a D2/D3 or D200 with the grip, it's just about right (to me).


Jan 7, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jbregar to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
43 148072 Jun 1, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,172.44
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.82
8.79
9.5
1961NAS_180


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next