about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 50-500mm f4-6.3 EX APO RF HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
83 330219 Jun 30, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $884.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.18
9.53
8.8
50_500EX_mdl_1_

Specifications:
Sigma is proud to introduce a new addition to our EX series of lenses, the 50-500mm f/4-6.3 APO EX Hyperzoom. This magnificent new superzoom encompasses all popular focal lengths from the 50mm "normal" to 500mm ultra-telephoto; a 10:1 zoom ratio, providing tremendous versatility. The use of an apochromatic design and four elements composed of SLD (Special Low Dispersion) glass, plus a seven group zoom system and multi-coated optics, enable this wide-ranging zoom lens to provide a high level of performance, as well as versatility. It also employs a rear focus system to insure quick, convenient manual focus and a non-rotating front barrel. This, coupled with Sigma's HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor), provide quiet, responsive autofocus function, plus "full time" manual focus. This lens also features a Zoom Lock mechanism to help eliminate "zoom creep" when the lens is tilted up or down. The use of magnesium in the tripod mount helps reduce the weight of this lens, while maintaining the strength and rigidity necessary to support it. A custom bayonet "Perfect Hood" is provided to protect the front of the lens from extraneous light. Nature and sports photographers will appreciate the performance and versatility of this amazing new superzoom lens from Sigma.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 
          
Wayne
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 827
Review Date: Apr 15, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, with good color and contrast. Well built, solid lense.
Cons:
limited to well lighted conditions due to it's appeture.

I was very wary when purchasing this lens. I have not had good luck with Sigma lenses in the past. I was pleasantly suprised after spending a few days in lower Michigan with this monster. Photos were sharp, color and contrast in the shots were very good. I was sold! I rarely use the 50mm end. I have seen reports of some people not getting sharp photos above 300mm, however I feel that this is probably a matter of learning the proper technique for long lens. Handholding a 500mm lens is a sure way to get soft photos. While it can be done with this lens ( I have many sharp, handheld shots in this range) it is not easy or reccomended. Long lenses demand a tripod and proper technique! The shots I have seen from others with this lens encouraged me to buy it and I have not been disappointed. A great bargain for 500mm!

Apr 15, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Wayne to your Buddy List  
crazyro
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 7, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 1565
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $695.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great all-around lens. Sharp images (considering I mostly shoot handheld). For a 10x zoom, this lens covers a lot of ground, and does it well.
Cons:
A little heavy. Not as fast as it could be.

Although skeptical at first, I started drooling over this lens after reading many reviews, and I'm glad I finally purchased it. It stays on my camera 90% of the time, and can truly say that it's a great lens. There is no distortion (could be because of D30's cropping factor), images are sharp all the way, and I've found that f/8 seems to be its "sweet" spot.
Although the lens is a bit heavy (around 4 lbs.), and not as fast as it could be/as other lenses are, it's very easy to use, even handheld, and for the price and coverage, it cannot be beat.

Emanuel


Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add crazyro to your Buddy List  
JPY Photo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 19, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 48
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Focal range
Cons:
Soft images

Not nearly as sharp as the 100-400IS which I purchased months after selling this lens. The main problem is the soft images at 300-500mm. Useable images at 100-300mm but the quality and sharpness falls off dramatically for higher focal lenghts. 50mm is not useable as the distortion is too pronounced. Not constructed as ruggedly as the 100-400IS and dust is a serious problem. Save your money.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JPY Photo to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 50-500mm f4-6.3 EX APO RF HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
83 330219 Jun 30, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $884.38
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.18
9.53
8.8
50_500EX_mdl_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6