about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
153 556394 Jan 21, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $709.02
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.05
9.36
9.1
05_03_1_

Specifications:
Sigma's new Hyper Sonic Motors (H.S.M.) provide silent, responsive autofocus action with Canon, Sigma, and now Nikon AF cameras.
H.S.M. also permits manual adjustment of focus without the necessity of switching off the autofocus function.
Focus Free mechanism keeps the manual focus ring from spinning when the camera is autofocusing.
This new lens features apochromatic optical design and four elements composed of Special Low Dispersion (SLD) glass for high image contrast, resolution and color saturation.
The front barrel does not rotate during focusing, due to internal focusing system.
Internal zooming mechanism allows the lens length to remain constant during zooming.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10  next
          
andyuk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 1, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jun 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price sharp quiet FAST
Cons:
weight on log trips

what a beast for a mid range telephoto very quiet in operation and fast . The focus is a little on the soft side wide open at 200mm but very useable. Low light early evenings it's a dream to use in MF but AF seems to hunt just a little..
A killer lens all round.


Jun 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add andyuk to your Buddy List  
skintooth4
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 3, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 141
Review Date: May 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Contrast-ful, and its inexpensive compared to canon's 70-200 2.8 IS or not. Good for photogs on a budget
Cons:
The zoom ring is a little stiff on mine but I'm hoping that thats because of lack of use.

Bought a DG EX version from a fellow FMer and was very pleased with the first images I took with it. The color and contrast of this lens is excellent. As I stated in the pros: This lens is great for those photogs on a budget, good quality, good build and comes with hood, tripod collar, and niffty little bag.


May 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add skintooth4 to your Buddy List  
masculine
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 4, 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Vibrant color, Solid built, sharp, nice bokeh
Cons:
my copy is soft at f2.8 at 200mm. Looks like back focus. No problem at other length.

I'm using it with KM7D. My first brand new sigma lens. All I can say is what a lens.... Beautiful vibrant color. nice bokeh and sharp. Take beautiful portrait. I took some test shot at KL bird park and the result is enough for a newbie like me to sleep with the lens.

May 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add masculine to your Buddy List  
saco
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Apr 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid build and feel, fast focusing, usable at 2.8 and great rest of the way. Quite good w/1.4TC and usable with 2xTC (stopped down)
Cons:
lens cap (buy a Canon 77mm lens cap)

If you are not buying an IS Canon version, this is a perfectly good alternative. It's on the heavy side but can be hand held. When using TCs I prefer to use a monopod with good results.
This lens is very well made and I find it a pleasure to use.
Be sure to also get a Canon 77mm snap-on lens cap when you buy this lens. The Sigma cap is horrible, and my lens would always come out of the camera bag without the cap. The Canon cap fits perfectly and always stays on.


Apr 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add saco to your Buddy List  
Emre
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 9, 2005
Location: Turkey
Posts: 20
Review Date: Apr 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: image quality f2.8 fast enough
Cons:
focusing rarely fails

if you are looking for 70-200 f.2.8 consider this one becuase it has really high quality for $700 and not only due to its low price it is the best 70-200 2.8 lens on the market

save your money dont pay 2 times more for the same lens this is better than other alternatives.

but its really heavy.And focusing rarely fails if object is moving on my rebel. By making ideal AF slection this problem disappers but you must be really sensitive not to allow focusing fail.By the time you are getting used to how to use this lens fast and accurate and your mouchles becomes strong enough to carry this lens.

it is good for your photography and your mouscles
buy this lens not the white one.


Apr 5, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Emre to your Buddy List  
jamesvmarshall
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 31, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Review Date: Mar 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very well built. Easy to handle. Nice barrel coating for protection, prefer this to white. Sharp through out. Very nice price as compared to similar canon products and performs at same level in my opinion.
Cons:
Front lens cover is easy to dislodge. Simple touch will jar it off.

As mentioned in other reviews- if your are serious and/or a hobbiest that also has other financial responsibilities, this lens is a top rated buy. I don't think you could do much better by spending x2 $'s for other competitors. I purchased the 1.4 extender with this lens too, and again the shots were as expected; clear through-out and color rendering was fantastic. Nice combination. All image metadata was accurate from all shots.
I would easily recommend this lens to those who are on the fence about this purchase

I would like to thank the other FM'ers for thier contribution and feedback as it helped in my decision.

James


Mar 31, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jamesvmarshall to your Buddy List  
achman
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Aug 4, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 846
Review Date: Mar 28, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Build quality is above consumer grade, not up to L, fast focus, silent focus
Cons:
Very soft at F2.8, resale takes a hit

I owned a copy of this for exactly one day. I then sold it. I shoot celebrities, sports, etc. for an agency, and took a chance based on the reviews etc. and this lens was horribly soft wide open at all lengths. Not sure if I got a bad copy (shouldn't have to wade through examples to find a "good one") but I make a living with my lenses and this would not cut it. Only began to get sharp at F4. No sense in having F2.8 if you need it and can't use it. My old Canon 70-210 F3.5-4.5 kills this on sharpness wide open and focuses faster. If F2.8 is important to you (meaning you never use anything else) then save your money and buy a used L for a couple hundred more.

Mar 28, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add achman to your Buddy List  
canonlight
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Feb 26, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Review Date: Mar 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open throughout, F2.8 speed, Superb EX build, HSM/FTM, Takes 1.4xTC well (stopped down), Best lens in its category considering price.
Cons:
Color fringing more than L equivalent (especially with TC).

This lens is simply a ringer: built like a tank and optically superb in all respects. For the $, it can't be beat. The only reason I now use the Canon L version is for the IS; that's the ONLY reason for the change. Sigma's EX telezooms are GEMS (viz., 70200, 100300, 50500, 120300, 300800).

See http://www.pbase.com/fstopjojo/70200exl and http://www.pbase.com/fstopjojo/3telezooms


Mar 5, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add canonlight to your Buddy List  
tanglefoot47
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 14843
Review Date: Mar 4, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $719.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great colors, contrast, fast, very well made and it's the DG model
Cons:
Well I guess if I had any complaints it would be the lens caps not bad but not good.

What an awesome lens I have owned many Canon 70-200's and this one is just as good if not better than some I have owned. This lens is tack sharp and I saved a bundle of money to get the same quality as canon

Mar 4, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tanglefoot47 to your Buddy List  
inukshuk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 27, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 61
Review Date: Feb 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AWSOME Period.
Cons:
Non except that the lens cover is a bit loose.

I just got this APO 70-200mm F 2.8 EX DG/HSM IF a couple weeks ago for my D100 and it freaks me right out. Every picture I've taken with it are incredible. In a hockey arena no flash and the colors are unbelievable. great detail. And it's built like a tank. I could go on and on and on, but simply get it.

Feb 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add inukshuk to your Buddy List  
Drax240z
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 28, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 76
Review Date: Feb 9, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $580.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, sharp images, nice build quality.
Cons:
Front lens cap is terrible, a little slow on AF compared to the 70-200VR, hood is a bit finicky sometimes, paint isn't very robust.

I've had this lens for a few weeks now and am very happy with it, other than the negatives listed above. For the price I paid though, I am willing to live with the negatives because they are quite minor. Maybe one day I'll sell it and buy a 70-200VR, but not until I run out of other lenses to buy!

Feb 9, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Drax240z to your Buddy List  
litemike
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 27, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Review Date: Feb 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

Actually a question. With these new reviews of this lens, is it the DG version or not. if not, does anyone have experience with the DG version. Thanks

Feb 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add litemike to your Buddy List  
akide01
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 14, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 209
Review Date: Feb 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,199.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheaper alternative to Canon 70-200 2.8L, very similar quality for a fraction of the price, excellent build quality, fast HSM autofocus.
Cons:
Wish it could be a Canon white lens.. =)

Excellent lens, works very well, and holds its own.

Feb 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add akide01 to your Buddy List  
tsnoich
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 27, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jan 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast
Cons:
None



Jan 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tsnoich to your Buddy List  
extigy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 15, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 15, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp from 4 and down, very good build quality, focus is extremly fast on my D70s.
Cons:
Quite soft at F2.8



Jan 15, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add extigy to your Buddy List  
sthig
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 5, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Review Date: Dec 31, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: sharp, fast and black
Cons:
the lens cap is crap

While this is no L lens it sure comes close. it's fast, sharp and well built. The lens cap is crap and I've noticed the slightest little bump will knock it off. Other than that, this lens is great!

Dec 31, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sthig to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
153 556394 Jan 21, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $709.02
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.05
9.36
9.1
05_03_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10  next