about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
153 547669 Jan 21, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $709.02
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.05
9.36
9.1
05_03_1_

Specifications:
Sigma's new Hyper Sonic Motors (H.S.M.) provide silent, responsive autofocus action with Canon, Sigma, and now Nikon AF cameras.
H.S.M. also permits manual adjustment of focus without the necessity of switching off the autofocus function.
Focus Free mechanism keeps the manual focus ring from spinning when the camera is autofocusing.
This new lens features apochromatic optical design and four elements composed of Special Low Dispersion (SLD) glass for high image contrast, resolution and color saturation.
The front barrel does not rotate during focusing, due to internal focusing system.
Internal zooming mechanism allows the lens length to remain constant during zooming.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 
          
gavwright
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 20, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 3, 2003 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Very quiet and smooth. Feels quite good.
Cons:
Locked up on my D100

I tried this lens, as various good reviews (and the price!) were good - however, it kept locking up on my D100, as mentioned elsewhere. A firmware upgrade from Sigma would have fixed it, however I needed a similar lens for a theatre performance quite urgently. I bought the Nikon 70-200mm VR and it is AMAZING! Excellent performance. Even quieter than the Sigma, it doesn't lock up (of course) and the VR is truly phenomenal, treated with respect (ie don't go out of your way to wobble!).
I know the Nikon costs an arm and a leg, but if you're talking about a result against no result (ie pro use), then it's no contest.
Sigma OK, Nikon GREAT!


Jun 3, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gavwright to your Buddy List  
bellyface
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 5068
Review Date: May 23, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focus, quiet, contrasty images. Perfect with sigma 2x converter.
Cons:
heavy, a little soft @2.8.

The HSM is near silent, glass yeilds warmer, contrasty images. I'd say this is Sigma's "great product" perfect harmony along with the 2x converter. Get 140-400mm f5.6 with little degradation. Great for bird watching. If you have a canon D30-D60, 10D, 1.6x FOV crop is to your advantage...

May 23, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bellyface to your Buddy List  
Jeff M
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 22, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 496
Review Date: Apr 25, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $554.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid, FAST, and Sharp!
Cons:
None so far with my D100 or N80

Purchased it from an EBAY store (NY area photo discounter). Have not shot extensively with it yet, but did do a series of tests across the entire range of F--stops and it is sharp corner to corner, fast and quiet.

Apr 25, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jeff M to your Buddy List  
Theresa Z.
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 19, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2828
Review Date: Apr 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding sharpness and contrast.. Fast and quiet focusing. Great build quality, very durable finish and solid feel. Minimal loss of quality with Sigmas 1.4X and 2X (best) converters.
Cons:
It's not white? :)

This is my best lens but not my most used due to it's weight and the focal lenght multiplier of my D60 (tends to be a little long for general shots).

Apr 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Theresa Z. to your Buddy List  
JimS
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 19, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: Apr 8, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $570.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very sharp through it's whole range, fast focusing.
Cons:
Locks up on the D100, weighs a ton.

I've had this lens for some time now, and I love it. Out of the box it has the irritating tendancy to lock up on the D100 requiring the camera to be turned off and on again. Sigma has a free fix, but it's still annoying to have to send it off. I've played with all of the Nikon built zooms in this range except the new VR, and this is my favorite. It seems sharper at the extremes than the Nikons, focuses as fast as the AFS' and costs a third as much.

I've heard others complain that the construction of this lens seems flimsy compared to the Nikons. Frankly, I don't know what lens they were holding. Yes, there's a bit of plastic here and there, but it isn't going to cause the lens to fall apart. It may not be a tank, but it's at least an APC!


Apr 8, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JimS to your Buddy List  
erikff
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 8, 2002
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1281
Review Date: Apr 4, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Value for money, fast lens, sharp,
Cons:

I love my 70-200 HSM EX lens! I own both this lens as well as the Nikon 80-200 ED and although I am no expert on things like abberation, benefits of things like ED glass, or any of the technical stuff my recommendation of this lens comes purely from the results that I am getting from this lens. This lens is in my opinion just as good as the Nikon and is probably the most used lens in my bag

Apr 4, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add erikff to your Buddy List  
Peter Gregg
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 487
Review Date: Mar 31, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $597.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp. With this lens you know you have a "reference level" lens.
Cons:
No IS.

This is a secret sleeper lens from Sigma. The Canon version is 4.1 at Photodo, the Sigma is 3.9. The good part is, the Canon 28-70 2.8 L lens has a rating of 3.9. The Sigma is clearly in the L catagory.

The pictures from this lens are tack sharp and amazing. Unless you need the IS, and don't think so easily you don't, this 2.8 lens is a sleeper and a real steal. I recomended it highly.


Mar 31, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Gregg to your Buddy List  
bk_photo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 9, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 84
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $475.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Focuses quickly and accurately (as well as could be expected with a D30) Its very sharp and the price was very right. Another plus is the tripod mount which makes it easy to mount on a monopod or tripod.
Cons:
Pretty heavy

This lens is great for those who are on a budget and or don't really need L glass. The image quality is great. I might have gotten a used Canon 70-200 but even those were more than I could afford. So for the money I think this lens is an incredible bargain. So if you are not worried too much about the status of an L lens or if you just want to save a vouple hundred bucks but not really lose on image quality this is a good lens for you.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bk_photo to your Buddy List  
jgrau
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 31, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 649
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price = Performance ratio
Cons:
Not as good as the Canon IS version

This is my favorite lens. My friend Steve has the Canon 70-200 and I do think it is slightly better. Not enough though to justify the price difference. Even though it is not as good as the Canon it is still an excellent lens. It is very sharp and delivers very clear images. Unless you can afford all L glass, I can highly recommend this lens as an affordable alternative.



Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jgrau to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 EX APO IF HSM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
153 547669 Jan 21, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $709.02
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.05
9.36
9.1
05_03_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10