about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 15-30mm f3.5-4.5 EX Aspherical DG DF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
86 197197 Oct 23, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $1,398.92
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.86
9.32
8.6
15_30f35_45_1_

Specifications:
Focal length: 15-30mm
Maximum aperture: F3.5-4.5
Lens construction: 17 elements in 13 groups
Focusing system: Internal Focusing
Angle of view: 110.5-71.6
Number of diaphragm blades: 8
Minimum aperture: F22-32
Minimum focusing distance: 12 in. (30cm)
Maximum magnification: 1:6
Filter size: Rear (gelatin filter insert type)
External finish: EX finish
Lens hood: Petal shape hood (non-removable)
Dimensions: 3.42 in. (dia) x 5.12 in. (length)
87mm (dia) x 130mm (length)
Weight: 21.8 oz. (615g)
Mount: Sigma SA, Minolta (D), Nikon (D), Pentax, Canon


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next
      
Panchoskywalke
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 27, 2006
Location: Chile
Posts: 77
Review Date: Jul 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: don't know yet
Cons:
don't know yet

Is there a non DG version of this lense?

Jul 27, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Panchoskywalke to your Buddy List  
ehusted1
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 10, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, nice colors, nice build. Nice and wide.
Cons:
None that really matter, no real option to mount front filter to it. The AF/MF switching is a silly 2 step process.

I was looking for a wide angle for my D70, this came up on clearance, its the "DG" version.

I was looking at various options for wide angle, the Sigma 10-20, sigma 12-24, tokina 12-24, I didn't look at the Nikon options mainly due to cost (I'm not earning money from photog, so I have to justify to my better half ;-0)

This one was near the top of my list because it is cost effective and full frame should I ever get (or Nikon ever make) a full frame camera. Did a lot of reading and kept coming back to the 15-30...

I have only had it for a week so far, so I haven't seen all the pro's and con's. I have shot about 100 frames through it walking around. Seems to focus accurately and quickly, only hunts in low light (nothing unusual there) very sharp around f8, bit softer at max app. Colours come out very nicely, and I'm enjoying the wider angle, my widest lense before was the 20mm F1.8 sigma (also very very sharp lense... maybe I got lucky twice!).

Some CA at extreme contrast changes but nothing bad, only really notice it when "pixel peeping".

Flares sometimes when the sun is in or near the edge of the frame, haven't seen a really bad one yet and it seems to keep its composure when it does flare a little.

The only issue I have really is the filter mount, or rather lack of. The ring for the lense cap has an 82mm thread, but with the standard UV filter I put on it to protect the protruding front element it vignets (sp?!) at 15mm (even with the 1.5 crop factor) and is ok again at 18mm which is a little anoying. I may try to find a low profile filter to see if it fixes the problem.

Its a bigger lense, but not really that heavy (compared to say my 80-200f2.8 AFD), the AF/MF switching is stoooopid, why couldn't it just disengage the camera's AF drive when the ring is pulled back for MF?! Then it would be quite usefull, now all its really good for is to stop the focus ring from turning when its in AF (have the same gripe with the 20 f1.8). AF motor is fairly quiet, unless it has to sweep the full range, but not as noisy as the 20 f1.8 (BZZZZZZZZZZZT beep beep...you may now shoot).

In short, love the wide angle, love the image quality, the lense looks like it means business (if thats important to you!!!). Maybe I got lucky with a good one I have had no probs with both my Sigma products thus far... All in all I could easily see this staying on the camera for a while!!


Jul 17, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ehusted1 to your Buddy List  
allanbaden
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 5, 2006
Location: Denmark
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 5, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Solid build, Good value for money,
Cons:
Lens hood

Its a very nice and weelbuild wide lens. I use it a lot with my 1D Mark 2 with great results.

Apr 5, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add allanbaden to your Buddy List  
Mike Mahoney
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 8, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5443
Review Date: Mar 27, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp, sharp, sharp .. solid build, good color, no CA, minimal distortion, price.
Cons:
MF requires two two operations.

simply amazing quality at any price .. colors are brilliant and the lens is very sharp .. I'd sold my Canon 17-40 to get the extra 2mm and can say that the images from the Sigma 15-30 exceed the quality of the Canon.

the lens is very well constructed, solid and not too heavy and the images are generally free from CA and distortions.

note my comments apply to a 1.6 crop camera *with the lens cap ring on the lens* .. this small amount of additional shading helps control flare and adds to contrast .. this ring will no doubt create vignetting on full frame or 1.3 crop bodies.

overall a superb lens, I'm very happy with it.
Mike



Mar 27, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mike Mahoney to your Buddy List  
Entropia
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 28, 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Review Date: Mar 23, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Built like a tank, wide, EX
Cons:
Built like a tank (hard to operate controls IMO), not so sharp you'd expect an EX glass to be, dual manual focus switch

The dual manual focus switch really sucks. Also on the sample I tried it was kind of hard to operate the controls. I'm not sure why I got this impression. Anyways, the color is nice and saturated but the focus isn't really fast. This lens leaves a conflicting impression. It's just not what I would expect from a professional series glass.

And the usual, a random sample from my pic directory:
http://esd.sytes.net/~entropia/kuvaus/roiskeita_2-4-05/pelottava_kaeytaevae.jpg


Mar 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Entropia to your Buddy List  
ga1lyons
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 14, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 299
Review Date: Mar 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $299.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Wide Range, price, great color
Cons:
No HSM, nonremovable hood, BIG filter required

Color is rich, The lense hood isnt removable but there is a ring that is removable which snugs over the end which you can put a skylight filter (etc) to. This is a lil weird for me but with the other pros I can't complain. For the price, you cant beat it. Some may not like the size, its as big as my telephoto, as far as that goes i dont mind.
If you need a wide for a 1.6x camera, I shoot a 20D, then I highly recommend this lens.


Mar 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ga1lyons to your Buddy List  
louisjaffe
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 30, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Feb 20, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 4 

Pros: Useful zoom range.
Cons:
Poor edge sharpness, chromatic aberration.

Bought this lens to go wide on a Canon 10d, and liked it. When I got the 20d, it fell short. The edges revealed by full-frame sensor were really dirty.

Feb 20, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add louisjaffe to your Buddy List  
vmelamedov
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 14, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharpness, contrast, colors and build quality
Cons:
Glare, non removable shade.

May be I was one of those folks who was fortunate to get a "good copy" of the lens... I was waiting for new Sigma 10-20mm lens. I was planning to sell 15-30mm as soon as I get new Sigma 10-20mm. After shooting both lenses for a week my new Sigma 10-20mm took a train to eBay. Sigma 15-30mm was hands down superior lens. I usually use some Photoshop leveling, unsharp mask even shooting shorter focal lenses with tripod. I even add a bit of sharpness to shots made with Nikon 80-200 f/2.8 D. I was absolutely speechless opening Sigma 15-30mm shots in Photoshop realizing those shots did not need any corrections at all. Fabulous sharpness, contrast, color saturation where attributes of virtually every shot made with this lens. I assume by mounting this lens on a smaller x1.5 image sensor I have also avoided some vignetting, distortion and edge softness a lot of full frame 35mm users complained about... Have not noticed much of those things viewing full size NEFs.
The only serious complaint I can master is this lens does not control glare well (Sigma 10-20mm much more superior in this matter). Built quality is very good, non-removable lens hood is probably not so good. AF/MF push/pull design does not bother me for some reason. Auto focus performance is ok even in low light. HSM would help but I do not find it critical at the moment. For around $300 new it's a bargain for sure. I would strongly recommend this lens to all DSLR users who do not want to pay over $1k for Nikon or Canon alternatives.


Feb 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vmelamedov to your Buddy List  
condyk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 14, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 300
Review Date: Feb 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very nice to use with super smooth focus ring. Sharp with excellent colour and contrast.
Cons:
Gives a typical Sigma colour cast but if you shoot RAW it takes but a second to 'correct'. Big and fairly heavy.

Delighted with this purchase so top marks.

Feb 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add condyk to your Buddy List  
paparazzinick
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7417
Review Date: Feb 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, Color contrast, price
Cons:
Not low light lens

I got this lens for wide anle use and it is awesome. There isnt much distortion with it as there was when I used fisheye lenses. I know this isnt a fisheye but I was expecting some distortion and there is none. I played around with it for 3 hours today and it is sharp as my old Canon 15mm fisheye if not better.

I can not wait to use this on my D1X at a wedding


Feb 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add paparazzinick to your Buddy List  
iriches
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 29, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Review Date: Feb 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, well-built, works on full-frame as well as 1.3x and 1.6x cropped DSLRs. Focus a little noisy but more than fast enough for such a wide angle lens.
Cons:
Bit big & bulky. Hood / lens cap arrangement a bit clunky. Flare needs to be watched. Forget even trying to use the little pop-up flash on your camera body!

I was on the lookout for a wide lens for my EOS 10D. I've been making do with a 28-70 zoom since I got the 10D nearly a year ago, and was missing my wide angles.

I happenned to be walking past the local camera store (Jessops) and saw they had this Sigma for UKP 99.99 (about US$ 180). Most online prices are in the UKP 280-350 range. The store manager said it was being discontinued - but at that price is was way too hard to resist...

Initial tests seem to show that it is *very* sharp when stopped down a bit, and still pretty good wide open at the short end. Wide open at 30mm may be a bit on the soft side, but it's still more than usable.

There are some downsides: it's a big, bulky lens, and blocks the little built in flash on my 10D at all focal lengths. The hood arrangement is a bit cumbersome. It's no so bad if you use it only on a cropped DSLR - but if you mount it on a full-frame camera you need to remove a separate collar with the lens cap to avoid severe vignetting.

It is also a bit prone to flare. When indoors, lights in the frame can cause the odd blue spot. Being sensible outdoors during the day, however, reveals no significant problems.

All in all, for the price I'm extremely happy. I would still have been happy had I paid UKP300. If I'd paid the full UKP450 or so that this lens commanded when it first came out, then I think I would have been somewhat less forgiving of its shortcomings.


Feb 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add iriches to your Buddy List  
famorim
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 17, 2004
Location: Brazil
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 17, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $49,900.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Color contrast, sharpen, price
Cons:
flare, flare, weight, noise focus

I've got this lense just because my needs was about zoom lense to cover a focal range between 20mm thru 60mm (35mm equivalent), so Canon 10-22mm is too wide, 17-40mm too close.

The optical quality is great, it is very sharp, picts looks like my old 17-40mm, but the main problem is about weight and size. This lense is very heavy and over sized.

Regards
Fabio


Jan 17, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add famorim to your Buddy List  
Daguerre999
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 8, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 340
Review Date: Jan 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $440.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Useful range for landscapes and indoors. Light-weight, sharp & contrasty Interesting & fun on FF camera. A real bargain and an ideal walk-around for a 1.3 - 1.6 SLR.
Cons:
Slightly noisy AF. Distortion on FF (but what ultra-wide doesn't). Odd filter arrangement and vignetting at wide end.

I wasn't expecting this lens to be particularly good, but was happily surprised. It handles flare much better than I thought it would, and while barrel distortion is quite evident at the wide end on a FF SLR, this tends to flatten out on a 1.3-1.6 crop.
At 20-30mm, f5.6 - 11, this lens just can't be equalled for the money. It IS quite noisy on AF, but really: this is an ultra-wide that you can practically point and shoot at f8 and above.
All-in-all a great little all-rounder for DSLRs and a lot of fun with FF or film.


Jan 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Daguerre999 to your Buddy List  
studio56
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 11, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $207.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: i bought this lens for 4 weeks now, after read alot of reviews about it, indeed a very nice lens, i tested shot over 2-300 shots already, im very please with it, 1st impression was WOW!!!..watta lens, its huge*&, its over size is a thriller. not that heavy, well build with some kinda of plastic, but metal mount, i leave the hood cap on the lens, and i added a metal 82mm hood on it too, to preventing it from flares. so far i have no flares yet, cuz i dont intend to shoot against the sun..with its big fisheye lens, one should know it would cuz flares if you are not becareful. i shot many shots with it indoor with my dome flash at 15mm, it works perfect..very bright and contrasty, and sharp..colors are fine too, outdoors it seems under control with barrel distortion. no fringes. i use it on my fuji s2 pro. dont know anything wrong about it. well!, i paid only 207$ on ebay, used but in excel condi, for that price, its unbeatable..15mm = 22.5mm on my fuji s2. i love it so far. i havent tried add filters on it yet, i dont care for filters that much, as they seem to soften off images..anyhuu!, its a great lens in all aspects. especially the price, highly recommended..a true 5 stars.
Cons:
my only complain is for those who had bad experience w/it..xory, but its a great lens, may be its just the operator..or the cam body it mounted on..its not the lens. i would love to buy another sigma gold ring lens.

read in my positive aspects above.

Dec 11, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add studio56 to your Buddy List  
dcains
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7401
Review Date: Nov 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $349.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great range, warm colors, good contrast, fast focus, fantastic value, not too heavy, nice build quality
Cons:
Just a hint of flare under some conditions; odd arrangment of non-removeable lens hood means filter (huge 77mm size) must be mounted on the front end of the hood; it's a big lens, too

This is a fantastic wide-zoom lens for my 10D. The focus isn't Canon USM, but it's sure and fairly quick, without too much noise. The colors are a bit warm (which I like), and the contrast is nice, as is the detail from this lens. This was my first Sigma lens, and I liked it so much that I also just bought their 50mm f/2.8 Macro EX DG, which is tack-sharp and creates the bokeh I've ever seen. I'm very impressed with both these lenses.

My only concern is that Sigma's "fuzzy" finish isn't as durable as Canon's shiny painted finish, but I giess time will tell. I feel like I stole this lens for $349 (new, from an eBay online camera vendor), but even if you've got to pay close to list price, I can't think of a better value in its 15-30mm range.


Nov 17, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dcains to your Buddy List  
incdigital
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 2, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 226
Review Date: Nov 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $399.99 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Huge value,Useful range on FF and cropped SLRs, Sharpness is L-ish , Good AF
Cons:
Flare, No HSM, Using filters causes vignetting, Heavy lens, not 2.8

Aside from the flare, noisy AF, and stupid filter system...i love this lens. I've used this lens on my 1Ds for commerical use for years and have had no compaints....as long as you control the flare that is. Also works well on my 20D camera body.

You can see some examples i shot here:

http://www.pbase.com/incdigital/interiors
http://www.pbase.com/incdigital/aeronautical



Nov 16, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incdigital to your Buddy List  




Sigma 15-30mm f3.5-4.5 EX Aspherical DG DF

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
86 197197 Oct 23, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
91% of reviewers $1,398.92
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.86
9.32
8.6
15_30f35_45_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next