about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
27 93085 Jun 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $372.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.36
9.33
9.5
1940NAS_180

Specifications:
High performance, fast telephoto lens that's ideal for PJ, sports and portraiture.
Internal focus for fast AF operation.
ED elements assure crisp and sharp images, even at the maximum aperture.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.8-22
Minimum Focus Distance 5.0'
Magnification 1:6.6
Angle of View 13 Degrees
Groups/Elements 6/8
Tripod Collar No
Length 5.7"
Maximum Diameter 3.1"
Weight 1.70 lb
Usable Nikon Teleconverter TC-201 or TC-14a (manual focus only, may have occasional vignetting)
Usable Nikon Teleconverter Tc-201 Or Tc-14a (Manual Focus Only, May Have Occasional Vignetting)


 


Page:  1 · 2 
       †††
RBohacs
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 16, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Aug 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very compact for its speed, very sharp, fantastic colors and great contrast, price!!!!
Cons:
none

I recently made a change from an outdated Canon 10D to a Fujifilm S3 Pro, therefore I needed to change out my lenses (the few that I had). I first acquired the Nikkor 50mm f1.8, a rather standard walk around lens and one that I am familiar with, as I frequently shot the Canon 50mm f1.8. I must say that the build quality and image quality of the Nikon lens is far greater then the Canon, even through they both run about a $100 bucks.

My next lens was the Nikkor ED AF 180mm F2.8 which I purchased off EBay for $300 bucks and is in mint condition. The build quality is superior, while the overall lens size is rather compact for such a fast lens. The optical quality is excellent, as the lens produces razor sharp images that are contrasty and have vivid colors. Yes, the AF is slightly slow, but who cares, youíre getting one of the sharpest lenses made for $300 bucks, there must be a flaw somewhere. On the S3 Pro body the AF works fine and speed is adequate.

I honestly wasnít too sure about getting a 180mm prime since itís not really long enough for average wildlife, and its too long for portraits, however, it seems to work in many of my situations. It seems to have a rather large magnification for a 180mm lens, which is great to have for large wildlife and taking pictures of my kids as the play in the yards, etc.

I am in the process of buying a Kenko Pro 2x teleconverter. From what I have read, the glass within the teleconverter is great and will produce sharp images with this prime, while giving me a 360mm F5.6 lens that still has AF. No Nikon brand AF TC will work without modification.


Aug 13, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add RBohacs to your Buddy List  
brianli
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp and nice brokeh
Cons:
slow focus

I bought a used one. It has several versions. You should watch out and don't get the oldest version if you plan to buy a used one. The build qualities are different. The lens is small and sharp. For the full price as new, it should come with VR.

Jul 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add brianli to your Buddy List  
CMalsingh
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 30, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7
Review Date: Jul 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Weight & portability, superb image quality
Cons:
Focus speed is unpredictable (not always slow, but sometimes hunts), esp in low light

I wanted a mid tele that was light, easy to carry around and had a good wide aperture. The alternatives (eg. 80-200 F2.8) were well rated but cost more and weighed a lot more.

I was brought up on primes so don't mind the lack of zoom.

I am still learning with this lens, but am enjoying using it and have been pleased with my initial results.

For some examples, see http://www.pbase.com/cmalsingh/180mm_nikon


Colin


Jul 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add CMalsingh to your Buddy List  
williamkazak
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 8, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 6295
Review Date: Jun 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Nice balance,easier to carry than 80-200 or 70-200 and sharper than any zoom lens.
Cons:
Noticeably softer at F2.8.

I bought mine used at Calumet Camera in Chicago.This is a great lens.You have to use it to really see what it can do for you and that means you cannot have other lenses in your bag competing with it.Just use it and you will see.You will be very happy with the results.
It makes a nice companion to a zoom lens like the 24-85mm.This lens works very well on film or digital.I take mine to the beach but I am careful with the rear cap because the internals are exposed (how stupid is that Nikon).
It will work in a wedding reception and it is so much easier to use and to carry than an 80-200 zoom.It fits in a Tamrac lens pouch that can attach to your belt.Also has a great feel and balance on a flash bracket.AF can rack in and out as mentioned.
It took the place of my 200 F4 manual AIS.


Jun 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add williamkazak to your Buddy List  
sp9914957
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 29, 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 29, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, nice color and contrast
Cons:
Not at the moment.

Just bought this 2nd hand lens from someone. Shoot some photos on the way. One thing I can say is that this lens is very sharp and nice bokeh. Price is still reasonable and very worth buying. So far all my lens are prime lens. Sharpness and contrast are very good and need not adjust or touch up using software

Oct 29, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sp9914957 to your Buddy List  
Tobias1
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 4, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 119
Review Date: Oct 2, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp , nice bokeh , excellent contrast , very usable focal length for digital,
Cons:
short built in lens hood for digital and it doesnt lock , I use a much longer screw in one anyway so it really doesnt bother me. Af a bit slow ..then again I dont shoot sports with it!

So far extremely happy with this purchase ....bought it 2nd hand a few months ago from a fellow Nikonian. Great portrait lens and even scenics are tack sharp stopped down. No complaints the sharpness at f2.8 either!

Oct 2, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Tobias1 to your Buddy List  
yellowcube
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 30, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 17, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: sharp(!), fast, build quality, a bit of a retro look
Cons:
AF could be faster.

after only half a day and 50 test-shots on a D70, it is quite clear to me that this lens is truly impressive. Image quality is slightly soft at f/2.8, but everything above f/4 is razor sharp and doesn't even need any post-sharpening. Contrast and colour are equally impressive.

The AF is the only point of criticism on this lens. It's not very fast and tends to hunt from time to time. Second, to select manual focus, you have to set it on both camera and lens. Bit weird if you ask me.

Furthermore, the lens is very well built and I was quite surprised it's not extremely heavy or big. Some might disagree, but I absolute like the hood which can be slit forward when needed.

And last: the focal lenght of this lens made me doubt a bit about buying this lens. 180mm incl. the D70's cropfactor is perhaps slightly too long for portraits and slightly too short for natureshots. Fortunately, there's more than that.






Jul 17, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add yellowcube to your Buddy List  
Daron Shade
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 30, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 378
Review Date: Nov 23, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharpness, color rendition, size & weight, cost, high image quality while wide open, built very well and withstands abuse
Cons:
Slow focussing for today's standards. Integrated hood is of little use.

Like many have said, a long lens for portraits, short for sports. But walk around with one for a few days, and you will find that it is the perfect focal length for many, many shots.





Nov 23, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Daron Shade to your Buddy List  
voider
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 4, 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
Review Date: Nov 8, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $499.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Outstanding Colors, Bokeh, Sharpness and Contrast. Lightweight and great to walk around with. Very good to shoot people without getting any attention. Inexpensive and great built quality
Cons:
For Manual focusing it is necessary to switch 2 times. On the lens and on the body.

This was one of my first pro lenses. After the 180 I bought the 200 micro and 85 1.4 The 180 is a really nice lens. I love the bokeh of this lens and it is unbelievable sharp.

Even wide open it is very sharp. From F4 onwards its sharpness is hard to beat!


Nov 8, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add voider to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: Germany
Review Date: Mar 25, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Large aperture and small size.
Cons:
not AFS, slow focusing

Good for headshot but too long for my D100 as portrait lens. Great optics

Mar 25, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
dobrodude
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 26, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 256
Review Date: May 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Next to the 105 2.5. possibly Nikon's sharpest, most versatile prime lens.
Cons:
none

I don't use this lens as often as I probably should, considering the speed and quality of the glass. It's mechanical build is superior to most zooms and 3rd party lenses, and can withstand years of abusive use. Should last forever under ideal conditions. It's a bit too long for portraits(?), and maybe too short for wildlike.....but if you walk around with it for a day or two, with just this lens, you'll see why it was a photojournalist's favorite lens for so many decades.
The new 70/80-200 f2.8 zooms are close to this in quality, as far as sharpness, but over all color rendition and sharpness belong to the 180 f2.8, hands down.


May 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dobrodude to your Buddy List  

†††



Nikon 180mm f/2.8D ED-IF AF Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
27 93085 Jun 23, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $372.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.36
9.33
9.5
1940NAS_180


Page:  1 · 2