about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 14mm f2.8 EX Aspherical

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 153779 Jan 26, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $613.95
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.13
8.73
8.5
14mmEXhsm_1_

Specifications:
The world's shortest focal length non-fisheye wide-angle AF lens with a fast F2.8 maximum aperture and a close focusing distance of only 7.1 inches (18cm). The lens also incorporates a built-in lens hood and a gelatin filter holder behind the rear lens element. The AF drive for Sigma SA, Nikon and Canon feature the ultra-quiet Hyper Sonic Motor (HSM).


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
Liquidpics
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jun 14, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1107
Review Date: Jun 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp Sharp images- focusing distance is close- you can get right up to you subjects nose. WA is nice on the 1D Mark II- 18mm f/2.8. It has HSM so it's nice and quite. Excellent build. It's a prime at a great price!
Cons:
nothing worth mentioning

This lens is a great value for the money! You can get them used in mint condition on online auctions now. It's versatile and can be used on a full frame camera or one with a crop factor.

Jun 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Liquidpics to your Buddy List  
agaleati
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 13, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 13, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: A veru sharp lens indeed. This lens is well built, sharp, and contrasty.
Cons:



Feb 13, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add agaleati to your Buddy List  
spartan123
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Nov 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3683
Review Date: Jan 16, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very well built, great photo's.
Cons:
none

Even though I do not use mine a lot, when I do need the extreme wide angle this lens comes out. Very nice photo's. Watch out for your feet in the photo's Smile

Jan 16, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add spartan123 to your Buddy List  
justruss
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 5, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 4533
Review Date: Sep 29, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: WIDE! Close Focus, good control of the usual WA problems. Nice double hood.
Cons:
Flares like crazy. Some CA, but overall very well controlled.

On a 1.6 crop camera this thing is a miracle worker. The first time I looked through the lens I nearly fell over and definitely had a little rush. The build quality is extremely high and the focusing is smooth. Gorgeous front element and once I get the lens less than 7 inches away (yes it stays focused to about 4 inches) I get a nice semi-fish thing going on that gives a great effect. Ability to create nice out of focus areas and small DOF.

Like any WA, but more than most (it's wider and faster afterall) this thing flares super easily. I too am learning to take shots with one hand so that the other can block the sun... which is highly effective when the sun is out of frame, even with the extended hood attached. I've though about adding a piece of cardboard or something to the hood because it seems that all it needs is half an inch in the right place and it wouldn't cause vignetting.

I'm not convinced of the ability of a 6mp camera to make good landscapes without stitching, but this lens does perfrom nicely at that capacity. Where it really stands out, however, is in shooting interiors or cramped corners. The low light ability, great lack of distortion and super wide perspective allow some truly stunning interior shots. I echo that your clients will love it.


Sep 29, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add justruss to your Buddy List  
clonardo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 608
Review Date: Jul 6, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Color rendition, close focusing distance, build quality
Cons:
flare, flare, and more flare. also, not sharp below f/5.6

I managed to pick one of these up cheap used, so I'm not going to list the price. It's certainly nice and wide, and is helping me build my experience using an SLR with one hand. Why, you ask? It's because I have to constantly shield the lens from any light sources.

That being said, the color rendition and exagerrated perspective are great. It was money well-spent, I think.


Jul 6, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add clonardo to your Buddy List  
matthewg
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 23, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 23, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Probably the best wide angle I've ever used! Not Cheap but worth every penny of it and the clients.... they just love it!
Cons:
be careful of photographing too close up, becomes quite distorted

Go out and buy one! Sod the cost, your clients will lovvvvvvvvvvvvvve it!

Jun 23, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add matthewg to your Buddy List  
MikeBinOKlahom
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 16, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 653
Review Date: Jan 17, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: The affordable way to get wide-angle on a consumer DSLR. Decently sharp, and focuses very close. But I've only used it on a Canon D60 and 10D, so can't address performance on full frame cameras.
Cons:
Susceptible to flare, and with a fair amount of distortion--The flare is inherent in this type of lens, not a flaw of the Sigma itself. The bulbous front lens is fragile, and unfortunately the lens cover seems to easily come lose. But I haven't had a disaster with the lens yet.

It's affordable (though not cheap). It's very, very, very wide. It has a peculair two-part lens cap that is prone to come loose. It has reasonable image quality on a cropped consumer DSLR. The close focus lets you do a sort of wide-angle macro (not truly macro, of course).

I recommend it if you want a really wide-angle lens, but I'd try a 20 or 24mm first.


Jan 17, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add MikeBinOKlahom to your Buddy List  
Lensman99
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 30, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: May 26, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Build quality is excellent, barrel distortion and lens flare well-controlled, ability to go really wide with a 10D!
Cons:
Gel filters

I too have only used this lens on the 10D with its 1.6x focal length factor, where it's very short 14mm (22mm EFL) is a welcome addition to my lens collection. It has definitely expanded my photographic horizons with the 10D, and of course would do the same for any of the non-1x D-SLRs. Its build quality is impressive and the front lens element is gorgeous. I am quite pleasantly surprised at the control of lens barrel distortion, aberrations and lens flare. The "petal" lens hood seems effectively designed and the lens cap clever as well. Sharpness is very good and quite usable at f/2.8. I value its close focusing ability.

The only negative I have found is having to use gel filters. Fortunately, I make minimal use of filters and never have liked the uneven effect of polarizing filters with super wide lenses.





May 26, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Lensman99 to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: May 25, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build quality Minimal barrel distortion Good control of CA and flare Accurate color rendition Close focus to about 7"
Cons:
None

All my comments are based on usage of this lens on a Canon 10D at 1.6x. I have not yet tried it on my EOS 3 in the film world.

Being a fan of wide angle photography, my 10D with its 1.6x focal length factor had left me aching to mount a piece of glass that gave me a truly wide view. I acquired this lens, mounted it, peered through the viewfinder and at once felt the joy return. W-i-d-e with surprisingly little barrel distortion on my dSLR at long last!

I find the lens to be well-built with a high quality feel to it. The focus is also smooth when using manual mode. HSM helps to keep the AF quiet, although I am perplexed at Sigma's inclusion of this feature on a lens so wide that very little focusing is ever done.

The close focus ability is greatly appreciated as lenses this wide are so expressive when close focusing. This also allows blurred backgrounds, even at an EFL of 22mm.

I am very satisfied with the excellent control of barrel distortion, CA and flaring -- all banes of ultra wide photography. I have acceptably sharp images even at maximum aperture.

It has proven an excellent lens for landscape photography, and for tight shooting conditions.

I can recommend this lens for wide angle fans without hesitation.


May 25, 2003
Edit/Delete Message
Kyle Yates
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 11, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 5798
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent for D30/D60/10d/1d -- barrel distortion certainly acceptable and in general well built for the price
Cons:
Will find any available stray light (but MUCH better than the Sigma 17-35 in this regard). Filters -- horrible gelatine rear mounted filters if you have to use them (due to bulb shaped front) Defects show with a 1Ds of course

On a non full frame camera this Lens is certainly a very adequate performer giving some semblance of real Wide Angle shooting to D30 / D60 / 10D and 1D users. At F8 the performance is definitely on a par with Canon's at a very significantly cheaper price.

Here's an example shot into the light with a D60 hand held Iso 200, 1/90 at F8

http://www.1kyle.com/sigma14.jpg

Distortion is fairly minimal and can be corrected in PS.

On a 1Ds it's defects become obvious but 14 MM on a full frame is really extreme wide angle and normally there would not be a lot of demand for this type of Lens


All in all -- for a non full frame camera - best bang for buck you can get if you want something approaching decent wide angle and without having to re-mortgage the house -- but work within the Lens limitations.
You won't be disappointed.

If you try it on a 1Ds you probably will be disappointed -- especially if you still capture your feet in the frame -- suprisingly easy to do on this wide angle @ full frame..



Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Kyle Yates to your Buddy List  
stan_g
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 232
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: real wide-angle for 1.6
Cons:
heavy

Had this lens for several years and when you need it, it does the job. With a D30/D60/10D it gives true super wide. Focuses very fast. No alternative this wide at a resonable price until the Sigma 15-30.
I lucked out and got a good one. VERY close focus.


Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stan_g to your Buddy List  
mike kobal
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 12, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 475
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: only sharp true wide angle available for 1.6x sensors at a reasonable price.
Cons:
distortion, flare, weight.

got it for the 10D. not usable on the 1Ds. absolutely not usable below 5.6.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add mike kobal to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 14mm f2.8 EX Aspherical

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 153779 Jan 26, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $613.95
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.13
8.73
8.5
14mmEXhsm_1_


Page:  1 · 2