about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 1D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
81 90072 Jul 1, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $1,736.28
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.91
9.67
9.6
1D

Specifications:
Sensor: 4.15 megapixels
Max resolution: 2496 x 1662 (Canon RAW format)
Lens conversion factor: 1.3x
Focus: 45-point Area AF w. One-Shot AF, AI Servo AF, and Manual Focus
Exposure: Program, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Depth-of-Field, E-TTL Flash, Manual
ISO Range: Equivalent to ISO 200-1600 (in 1/3 stop increments)
Max burst rate: 8 fps for 21 shots in Large/Fine
Magnesium alloy chassis
"Most extensively (weather)protected camera in its class"


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next
          
EOS-1D
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 22, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 397
Review Date: Jul 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IMAGE QUALITY!!! Performance, file size, sharpness, colors, build quality, frame-rate, AF, configurability, etc. etc. etc.
Cons:
Virtually nothing. High ISO noise is overblown (usually by those have never owned one of these AMAZING cameras), and Canon batteries don't give you much life (easily rectified by the purchase of 2200 mA 3rd party batteries). Banding does exist on earlier production models, but only really if underexposed and pushed

I've had this camera so long, I don't know why I haven't reviewed it before now. There is just something about this camera as a whole that's indescribable. The images are magical (with even fairly decent glass). I had to sell my first one for financial reasons, then scrimped and saved to buy a 1D Mark II in time for my daughter's birth. I had the MKII long enough to realize that I just HAD to have the original 1Dinosaur again. I would have been almost completely happy with the MK II, had I never owned the Classic. So I swapped the MK II (here on the awesome FM) for a mint 1D + cash and haven't looked back *in the least*.
As noted in the Cons section, high ISO noise isn't a problem at all (even at ASA 3200) as long as the pic is exposed properly. It's been said many times in other reviews that it truly does look like film grain.
The file sizes save you twice the storage space of the MK II (or 20D, for that matter. I tried one of them as well and went RUNNING back to my 1D!!!), and that CCD does things that Canon's CMOS can't even think about (granted, the CMOS + DIGIC II have their own positive attributes, just not enough to win me over). The weaker AA filter gives positively unrivalled sharpness, and I have yet to run into any moire issues. Their are PS actions for interpolating the files for printing at just about whatever size you want, and they hold up beautifully.
One "warning" if you want to call it that - the 1 Series aren't small, light cameras. They're built to take punishment, so they're not small or light, but everything else I've owned have felt like toys in comparison. I love the build of these beasts!
Also, if you shoot .jpgs out of the camera (they do look gorgeous!), you will want to download the custom curve that removes the green cast. It does exist.
If you're on the fence about this camera, I can't stress it enough - TRY IT. I've had this model for years, and there simply isn't ANYTHING out there that makes me want to switch. I've had the DRebel, XT, 20D and the 1D2, and this one is "just right".
Sorry for being overly verbose (actually, no I'm not. Don't read the review if you don't want to), but I really didn't even touch on everything I could have. Suffice it to say that only the 1DsII gets a 9.7 rating. Everything else is just *close*...
I love this camera! :D


Jul 22, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add EOS-1D to your Buddy List  
vigilante
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 10, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 167
Review Date: Jun 12, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Image quality, File sizes, Burst mode, Sharpness
Cons:
Green dominance in unprocessed images, Weight/Bulk

I came from a 20D, and while I couldn't upgrade to the 1dMk2 variant, I chose to go for 1D for PJ-style stuff. I prefer the 1D over it because of the more natural colors. 20D needs lots of processing not to look "digital" (oxymoron..., i know). I wanted a 1d-style body mainly for construction...i often lost power on the 20d due to the flexy grip. I wasnt disappointed,...i often have to shoot in pouring rain and now i dont need to stress about the camera shorting. Noise is also not much of an issue if you "shoot-to-the-right". But it's still there. I liked doing night photography with the 20d...impossible with the 1D because of the ccd...makes huge purple spots in the corners, above 25 seconds.

Anyway, it's still a good buy, even though it's 5 years old. I'll probably keep it and buy a 1dmk2 when the price come down.


Jun 12, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vigilante to your Buddy List  
sleepwalker33
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 2, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 661
Review Date: Jan 26, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,080.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price is amazingly low, Files need little to no post-processing, File size perfect for most of the world, Amazing Af, Huge buffer, Suberb build quality,
Cons:
You will need an extra battery, No zoom get over it. Posers will complain that it is to heavy, or lacks a zoom on the lcd, or complain about a little bit of noise, or maybe even that it doesn't have a horrid red-eye giving pop-up flash. Yawn ignore them all of that doesnt matter you will be getting better photos then 20d or any of it's followers.

The biggest thing about this camera is that the files it produces can often go straight to the client this is because of the ability to load custom tone curves (which no other canon can do I believe.) And even without such curves (which are free and easily available) the files look damn good. Let me rephrase this again, when files look this good you spend less time in RAW or Photoshop and more time shooting (like a photographer should be doing.) I was a firm believer in Raw until I got this camera which produces brilliant jpegs, so much so I often find myself either not touching the raw images (I shoot Raw + Jpeg) or simple shooting Jpeg something I honestly believed I would never ever do.

I could rehash what has been said a thousand times but here is all that is important.
This camera will work for anyone even non sports shooters such as me. I picked this over the 20d and have no regrets at all, I will probably use this camera till it's shutter explodes or something equal catisrophic. It nearly perfect in all ways.

Noise is greatly overblow, if you have descent lenses and you aren't shooting in a cave you will have no issues. If not expose to the right and noise will be minimized. Banding issues have all been worked out with later releases of the camera.

It has plenty of resolution for up to a 16 x 20 which is more then enough for 99.99 % of the world.

This will be the camera I reach for any time in the real world.
In the studio I would probably prefer something like a digital back but all things in time.


Jan 26, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sleepwalker33 to your Buddy List  
capitalK
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 25, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1026
Review Date: Jan 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Speed, size and weight, image quality and AF are amazing when paired with L glass, sealing, 1.3x crop factor, impossible to accidentally change settings; if you mess up a setting it's your fault, not the fault of the camera
Cons:
size and weight, battery life, no zoom on LCD, 4.1 MP is a little small for some people but probably more than most people actually need

I bought this camera used a few weeks ago as a second camera to compliment my 350D. I say compliment because the strengths of each camera cover the other one's weaknesses. The 1D is solid and fast, AF is so fast I don't even need to think about it. The lack of zoom on the LCD is annoying, but I often use that feature to ensure I got the right focus. With the 1D and my 24-70mm L if the camera locks focus I can be pretty sure that it "got it".

At 4.1 MP I am very happy with the image quality. Sure the photos are a little smaller, but so are the file sizes. The 1D RAW files are about the same size as the 350D's Large JPG files.

Even though I bought the 1D to compliment my 350D I have barely touched my consumer body in the last 2 weeks. I think the 1D is a gateway drug to another pro body for me. I'm glad I spent the money on a 1D instead of buying a second 350D or a 20D, which would have been redundant.


Jan 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add capitalK to your Buddy List  
Majikthize
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Review Date: Nov 30, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 45-point AF, 8 frames per second, film-like noise quality, lots of shots per card at just 3.5MB per RAW file, large and bright viewfinder facilitates manual focusing, 1.3x crop factor is just right for me.
Cons:
.TIF (RAW) files' small preview, higher noise than 20D/1DII/1DsII, erroneous reporting (50% under) of capacity for CF cards over 1GB, heavy batteries, slow write/review speed.

A superb picture maker at a bargain basement price. I can't believe these things are going for under $1,500 on eBay - an absolute steal. Getting mine used on eBay for $1,200 was like getting a 10-year-old Porsche with low miles and worn upholstry for less than a Kia. At about the same price as a new 20D, the 1D's 45-point AF, large and excellent viewfinder, bullet-proof construction and 8fps speed made it absolutely no contest for me. I have a 10D for casual use and event work and a 1Ds for commercial, landscape and fine-art use. The 1D will be my candids camera, particularly at weddings, because 8fps and superb AF will help me nail shots of brides in motion and prints don't have to be huge.

After reading reviews, I was a bit hesitant about the relatively low resolution (4MP) and high noise at ISO 800 and above. I needn't have worried. Detail and sharpness are superb in prints up to 10x15. And, noise at ISO 800 seems no worse than with my 10D, provided exposure is not under. I have not yet seen banding in shadow areas. Like the 1Ds, noise is more film-like, more like grain, than with some newer cameras. Though the noise level is higher, I find it less objectionable than the low-but-blotchy noise of newer models. I always shoot RAW, and light application of Adobe Camera RAW's noise-reduction tools cleans up the images nicely.

For wedding and event work, as well as sports, and at <$1,500, this camera is a no-brainer. The 20D is a good all-around camera, but the 1D is a real professional tool perfectly suited to events and action. Getting twice as many shots per card is very tasty icing on the cake.


Nov 30, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Majikthize to your Buddy List  
ptnik
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 4, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
Review Date: Oct 4, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: need for speed built solid like a tank....no sorry stronger than a tank.
Cons:
battery life...I sually carry spares.

Cant fault this camera except for the battery life....images POP right out of the camera.

Oct 4, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ptnik to your Buddy List  
tchotchke
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 701
Review Date: Sep 5, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,550.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build is fantastic. Super fast. Short blackout time. Size (it's actually big enough for my hands). Tons of Features.
Cons:
Weight (but not so bad), only 4.15mp, not quite exactly 3 x 2, long exposure noise. Battery life is not great.

Simply an amazing camera. Having upgraded form a 300D the improvements are stunning. The instant I started using it I fell in love. Would never go back :-)

Sep 5, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tchotchke to your Buddy List  
What a Ride
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 11, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 89
Review Date: Aug 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: What a Work horse, blazing speed when shooting sports, none quicker. Yes it's heavy but what do you expect from a series 1 pro camera. Love it..Better get one..
Cons:
the only neg thing about this camera is the guy using it.

I've had my camera since the beginning of this year, I moved up from a great D30 camera but needed a faster camera for sports. I am quite anxious to shoot football and basketball. With a 70 - 200L and an extender I'm ready to go. When using my flash (420ex), the flash is just like quick strobes going off, wow....I wanted a pro camera and decided to spend the money..If my pics come out bad I can only blame myself...

Aug 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add What a Ride to your Buddy List  
ocases
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 105
Review Date: Aug 24, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: build quality, fast focusing, weather sealed, what else can I say, its a great camera.
Cons:
bulky, consumes more battery.

I've been to 300D, 350D, 20D and finally I decided to make a try with 1D. It is an amazing camera and finally decided to sold my 20D just for this camera. you should try one and make your own conclusion. for me, I love this camera compare to those cameras I've used before.

Aug 24, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ocases to your Buddy List  
Wonotch
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 1, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 302
Review Date: Apr 22, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Simply amazing build quality, SOLID BRICK; 45AF Points, very fast/inteligent AF; 8fps!; virtually zero shutter lag time; spacious viewfinder; endless customization...
Cons:
Changing ISO, Drive Mode, etc. is very awkward at first, becomes painful with handheld big lenses; no preview zoom for us chimpers!; slight green cast and very slight banding; menu navigation can also be cumbersome at first...

Never having owned a 1 series camera before, and coming from a Digital Rebel, i can safely say that i am positively and completely blown away by this machine. I dont feel ISO noise is much of an issue considering how much i payed for this camera, and that it was released in 2002. I have noticed only a minimal amount of banding and only if i look real close, so this hasnt become an issue for me yet. I DO recommend loading a custom tone curve though, as the green casting is pretty noticeable.

This camera feels much more like an extension of my hand and eye. What i want to take a picture of is what i get at exactly the moment i hit the shutter release. This combined with outstanding image quality more than justifies what i spent on this baby. And considering the 1D retailed at $7000 in 2002, its one hell of a deal!

I get to feeling like this camera will be able to handle college football this season quite a bit better than my 300D could have. Wink


Apr 22, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Wonotch to your Buddy List  
Peter Kirk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 305
Review Date: Mar 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Built like a tank, goes on and on wthout fail, image quality is SUPERB, ver good detail for 4Mp
Cons:
tad heavy

I already have a 1D mkII and I use the 1D as a backup....I find the image quality staright out of the camera is very very sharp with an enourmous amount of detail. Slightly noisy over 1000ASA but if you slightly overexpose by 1/3 stop no issues. Top Camera...will last for years and years. I had a 20D and sold it for the 1D, definately do not regret it at all.

Mar 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List  
jay1hawker
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 23, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 2774
Review Date: Feb 9, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quick focus, 8 FPS, A sports/action photographers dream... Built like a tank and a joy to use...
Cons:
As far as I'm concerned, there's not much. The banding issue can be addressed with the new software...

I started out with an EOS D30, moved onto a EOS 10D, and
finally decided to go for the 1D. I wish I would have made the jump a few years back. What a camera! It is a joy to use and focuses much faster than anything else I've used.
And the 8 FPS is awesome. I am very happy with this camera.



Feb 9, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jay1hawker to your Buddy List  
charlieboy
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: May 15, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1673
Review Date: Nov 19, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I love this!! Awesome! Fast!
Cons:
More pixels please! Other than that in the right hands it killer!



Nov 19, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add charlieboy to your Buddy List  
Incomplete Pet
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 15, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Review Date: Oct 27, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid, speed, AF, pictures!
Cons:
Hm....having to travel a total of 7 hours to get mine?

An awesome camera for sports shooting! Started getting into photography properly around March, then decided I wantedf a 300D, then realised it was stupidly slow and felt like a toy. Then bough a Canon 1N, fell in love with the 1 series cameras, splurged on a 1D and couldn't be happier!

Combine this camera with a 70-200 f2.8 L IS lens and you'll have THE ultimate combination for almost all types of shooting!


Oct 27, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Incomplete Pet to your Buddy List  
mfisnc
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 3, 2003
Location: Panama
Posts: 216
Review Date: Oct 21, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: powerfull body, fast, amazing picture quality for 4Mo sensor , a real dream
Cons:
a little bit heavy

hi,
I just received my 1D brand new serial 28xxx paid 1700$ on amazon , I come from 300D and 10D , and the quality of the pictures is amazing , thank's to all the owners who posted reviews that helped me a lot , again a real great camera for this price

eric


Oct 21, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mfisnc to your Buddy List  
chinatown
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 6, 2003
Location: China
Posts: 132
Review Date: Sep 8, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,340.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast auto-focus, well-built and sealed body, bright and large viewfinder.
Cons:
battery life, getting one more spare is a must!

I used to shoot pics with 1V and jumped into the world of digital photography with 300D. The dim and small viewfinder of 300D drived me nut. Having used the 300D for 5 months, I was determined to jump back to the 1-series body that allows me to shoot the pics like the way of 1V.

I am happy with the noise level which is much better than films, ie. ISO 800 is much better than that of films! Besides, 4MP is more than enough for me. The dynamic range of the camera is better than 300D, which allows me to notice the details of the pics.

I think I am happy with this monster for years.


Sep 8, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add chinatown to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 1D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
81 90072 Jul 1, 2010
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $1,736.28
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.91
9.67
9.6
1D


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6  next