about | support
home
 

Search Used

Nikon 105mm f/2.8D AF Micro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
30 115021 Mar 20, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $593.82
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.46
8.79
9.4
1988NCP_180

Specifications:
Medium telephoto Micro lens for portrait and other high magnification close-up applications.
Provides extra working distance for elusive subjects or ones requiring supplemental illumination.
Continuous focusing from infinity to life-size (1:1)

Filter Size 62mm
f/Stop Range 2.8-32
Minimum Focus Distance 1' (0.31 m)
Maximum Magnification 1:1
Angle of View 23
Groups/Elements 14/12
Tripod Collar No
Length 4.6" (116mm)
Maximum Diameter 3.3" (83mm)
Weight 1.6 lb (720 g)
Usable Nikon Teleconverter TC-14E II, TC-20E II, TC-20E III, TC-17E II (only manual focus, AF not supported)


 


Page:  1 · 2 
      
Elysium
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 10, 2003
Location: N/A
Posts: 54
Review Date: Oct 13, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $899.95 | Rating: 9 

Pros: SHARP!!! Well constructed! With the VR version, the vibration reduction helps a great deal. Great portrait lens, bug lens, and general use. Good for the price.
Cons:
AF hunts and gets stuck on a focal range that you have to manually turn the focus ring to get it unstuck.

This is a lens that is very well built and sharp. This out weighs the fact that sometimes the AF gets stuck on a focal range.

Check samples here.

kirbyyau.com/bugs


Oct 13, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Elysium to your Buddy List  
williamkazak
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 8, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 6278
Review Date: Jun 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Useful for film or digital.Great all around telephoto.Good speed.Essential focal lenght to have in the bag.
Cons:
AF hunts.Lens shade makes it as long as the 180mm F2.8.

I use this in the home for bride getting ready pics. I can pick up her necklace, headshots and also candids of the other people in the house. Outdoors it has a nice reach and I can throw the backgrounds out of focus esaily.On the digital it becomes a nice 150mm. This lens is sharp. No complaints. The speed is nice and thru the viewfinder it looks good.
I still have the manual version of this lens and they both are real nice. It works well on the beach and flare is no problem at all in the sun. The lens shade really does the job and I always leave it on this lens.
There is a need for a close focusing 105mm, not only for macro but for people and other all around shooting.


Jun 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add williamkazak to your Buddy List  
brunyan
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 124
Review Date: Apr 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremely sharp and well built. Perfect focal length for my DSLR.
Cons:
Hunts just a bit when focusing but perhaps no more than others of this type.

I've only had this lens a few days but have produced several nice images with it. It is on a par with my other prime Nikon optics. Just in time for spring flora!

Apr 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add brunyan to your Buddy List  
BryanP
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 162
Review Date: Dec 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Extremely sharp. Build is excellent. Macro capabilities right on the dot.
Cons:
Slow-AF.

I love these lens because they are built well IMO and they are VERY sharp. For it's use of macro shooting, the lens perform it's job like it is supposed to. It will give you high quality images.

There shouldn't be complaint about AF being slow, but I will address it anyways. Yes it will hunt, but you shouldn't be using AF anyways IMO when you're taking macro shots. Do focusing via manual mode and then shoot away.

I have no complaint about price because I got it at E+ grade for an excellent price, but even new (which I rated the price for), they're still worth it for what it does.

The lens give you room to work unlike the 60mm/2.8s, but I did read that the 60s are a little bit more sharper (I don't own one so I can't critique it), but if you need the extra space, this is the perfect lens to have.

I highly recommend this lens for portrait work (you may need a soft filter), and macro photography (this is an understatement).


Dec 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BryanP to your Buddy List  
microcosmos
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Review Date: Sep 20, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: This lens is a must have, and is so far my favorite lens. Sharp, very strongly built!
Cons:
Price

All the pictures in this gallery have been shot using the 105 Micro Nikkor.
http://microcosmos.deviantart.com/gallery/


Sep 20, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add microcosmos to your Buddy List  
Detchells
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 5, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Jul 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Tack sharp, zero distortion, good working distance
Cons:
Slow AF, bulky, price

I confess I haven't used any of the competing lenses mentioned as competitors to this one, but will say that this is my favorite lens to shoot with. It's just *so* sharp. It is pretty slow on the AF, being mechanically actuated, and needing to crank its optical elements a long ways while focusing from near to far. Still, rapid AF isn't usually an issue for macro shots (although there've been a few bugs that have gotten away from me due to the slow AF), so I don't count it too heavily against the lens. Definitely pricey though. Also, the focus on mine has started binding a little lately, but I strongly suspect it just needs to be cleaned and lubricated, as it's probably 10+ years old by now, and has never been serviced.

Jul 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Detchells to your Buddy List  
jb_va2001
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 18, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: A small, light, 105mm tele or macro. Sharp and fast. Good working distance for insects. Reasonable price. A nice compromise between the 60mm & 200mm Micros.
Cons:
None worthy of mention. I needed a step up ring. ;)

Well positioned in the Nikkor line up between the 60mm & 200mm Micros, the 105mm provides a sharp macro or telephoto image.

May 18, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jb_va2001 to your Buddy List  
obelix
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 21, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 194
Review Date: Feb 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great sharpness, great bokeh. Very sharp. Too sharp for portraits
Cons:
None.

The "compromise" focal length macro lens. Almost as sharp as the 60mm, but gives great working distance. I use it for portraits as well, but is too sharp for portraiture.

Strongly recommended.


Feb 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add obelix to your Buddy List  
phiggys
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Review Date: Oct 30, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build and image quality,manual focus feels really good, 52mm filters
Cons:
Slow AF but its not needed for macro work. To sharp for portraits unless you use s/f filter.

Why cant all AF lenses work and feel as good as this one does when switched to manual???
I think this is an excellent lens mine isnt the D version but the earlier one.
For close up and copying its faultless gives a reasonable working distance from subject works well on digital slrs as well.


Oct 30, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add phiggys to your Buddy List  
clonardo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 19, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 608
Review Date: Jul 6, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: tack-sharp, 52mm filter size, great MF feel
Cons:
slow AF (terrible in low light), pricey for what you get

I've had the chance to use this in the studio a few times, and from what I've seen, it's a great lens with excellent color rendition and sharpness. I've gotten good results in portraits only with a SoftFX filter- without it, you'll see every pore. The focus ring feels almost as nice as the older MF Nikkors- kudos to Nikon, they realize that macro photographers will be manually focusing pretty regularly even in the AF age.

In short, I love it. I would have bought one already, but I'm waiting to get my hands on the 200/4 Micro for comparison purposes.


Jul 6, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add clonardo to your Buddy List  
vince
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 306
Review Date: Feb 20, 2004 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Great build, good optics, excellent contrast and bokeh.
Cons:
Needs to go down to f/4 or f/5.6 before I get the best sharpness and contrast.

First let me say that I don't own this lens. Our local photo society organized a photo outing at the gardens - mainly macro, butterflies, etc. I carry a small Canon rig with one body and one lens (100/2.8 macro USM). Saw my partner with his Nikon rig and this 105/2.8 macro lens and the measurbator in me ( http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/7.htm ) wanted to play with his setup and see how well it does.

The first thing I noticed about his setup (F100 and this lens) was the lovely contrast and clear image in the viewfinder. Manual focusing was lovely and the image would snap into focus. From my slides, the bokeh is lovely. However when I observed the results at f/2.8-f/4 it was a little less sharp than I expected. f/4-5.6 onwards the lens is superb. Colors and contrast are superb.

Obviously this lens wasn't designed for lots of AF use. AF is slow and hunts a lot specially in low light. On the N90s, AF was poor. The F100 did a lot better. The surprise came when we also tried out the Tamron 90/2.8 macro. This lens beat the Nikkor at f/2.8 and f/4, and contrast and color rendition was as good as the Nikkor at all apertures. I liked the Tamron because I could shoot with it wide open and still get excellent sharpness.

This is a good lens, but Nikon may be able to do a little better at f/2.8 and f/4. I'd normally recommend this lens, but the only reason I say "No" here is that the Tamron 90/2.8 is a superb performer which matches this lens at a far lower price.


Feb 20, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add vince to your Buddy List  
Ogo-
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 29, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 54
Review Date: Jan 29, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $480.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great optical characteristics from f5.6-f22, ability to go to f57 if needed. Nice range for insects/flowers etc. 1:1 without the need for any extension tubes, etc.
Cons:
Mid-range situations can sometimes be difficult due to the AF hunting and being sluggish (on a CAM-900 body). The focus throw being extremely short at longer distances doesn't help in manually focusing this lens either, but that's not what it was designed for so this becomes a small detail.

This is a very nice compromise between the 60mm and 200mm Micro lenses.

Optically, I can't find any faults with this lens in the field it was designed for (extreme close-ups using very small apertures). CA is nonexistant past F8 which is commendable for a lens employing no ED elements.

This is a great lens for any kind of close-up work and I recommend it highly.


Jan 29, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ogo- to your Buddy List  
scotty haberer
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 5, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 117
Review Date: Dec 19, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very useful for copying, closeup work, and the longer focal length lets you give your macro subject a little breathing room. This is also useful for lighting your subject as well. I agree that this is a good mate for the SB29 auto ring flash (see negative aspects).
Cons:
The SB29 auto ring flash is not ttl compatible with digital cameras. This is not an indictment of the lens, however, but rather of the way digital cameras measure TTL flash exposure. Just be forewarned that this lens/flash combination will disappoint you if you are planning on using it for TTL work in digital media. Best to work manually in digital.

This lens is a wonderful addition to your bag of tools. It is invaluable for investigators, technical photographers, product photographers, and nature/scientific work. If you are interested in extreme accuracy and fast work consider the medical Micro-Nikkor that is closest to this FL. It is pricy but it uses guide number controlled Aperture adjustment to control flash exposure and it is extremely accurate. Also, the medical Nikkors are very sharp, but mostly designed for extreme close up work. The 105 f/2.8D AF Micro-Nikkor is much more versatile.

Dec 19, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add scotty haberer to your Buddy List  
JonCanfield
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 15, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 2851
Review Date: Jul 3, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $650.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, excellent contrast, 1:1 with no accessories, sharp (did I mention it was sharp?)
Cons:
AF slow, expensive compared to Sigma, Tamron. A bit too sharp for portrait work.

This is a fantastic lens for macro work. AF is painfully slow, although when working with macro I very rarely use AF. The extra focal length is useful when shooting insects & other things that move. Works very well with the SB-29 macro ring light. For portrait use, the focal length is good, but the lens is sharper than most people like. You may have to soften the image with filters or digitally.

Jul 3, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JonCanfield to your Buddy List  




Nikon 105mm f/2.8D AF Micro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
30 115021 Mar 20, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $593.82
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.46
8.79
9.4
1988NCP_180


Page:  1 · 2