backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Zeiss 85mm f/1.4 Otus Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 5840 Jul 17, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $4,490.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
10.00
10.0
otus85

Specifications:
Image Circle: 35mm
Type: Telephoto Prime
Focal Length: 85mm
APS Equivalent: 1.5x: 127.5mm
1.6x: 136mm
Max Aperture: f/1.4
Min Aperture: f/16
Diaphragm Blades: 9 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 11 elements in 9 groups, including 1 aspheric and 6 elements made of special glass with anomalous partial dispersion; Zeiss T* anti-reflective coating
Diagonal Angle of View
(Based on image circle): 28.2 degrees
Focus Details: Internal focusing; Manual focus only
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: n/a
Closest Focus: 80cm / 31.5 in.
Magnification Ratio: 0.13x / 1:7.7
Filter Size: 86mm
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): ZE: 124 x 101 mm / 4.88 x 3.98 in.
ZF.2: 122 x 101 mm / 4.80 x 3.98 in.
Weight: ZE: 1200g / 2.64 lbs
ZF.2: 1140g / 2.51 lbs
Notes: Available Mounts: Canon EF (ZE), Nikon F (ZF.2); Included Accessories: Lens hood, front and rear lens caps.


 


          
mhilliard
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Mar 30, 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jul 17, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,490.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Mind-blowing contrast and sharpness. The most beautiful renderings for portraiture, whether wide open or stopped down, and absolutely pure color fidelity.
Cons:
Heavy, but that's a minor inconvenience.

After working with Leica R-series equipment for 15 years (converted to Canon mounts for the past 6) I'm convinced the Otus 85 is the finest lens in 35mm.

Shooting a mixture of studio and editorial portraiture with this very heavy lens is fun, slightly intimidating (from the extremely narrow DOF) and glorious when processing a session. Watching images import into Lightroom before adjustments makes the jaw go slack – the purity, color and contrast are better than any German glass I've used over the past 30 years, including many years of Rollei and Hasselblad gear.

Dare I say it? This is may be the best lens ever made, and I can't wait to swap out my Leica for other Otus lenses as they come out. Wow, worth every cent and if you can justify the expense you'll never look back.


Jul 17, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mhilliard to your Buddy List  
tunisia
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Aug 12, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 62
Review Date: Dec 23, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,490.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent sharpness, superb micro-contrast, built like a rock, fantastic rendering/painting, beautiful colors.
Cons:
Built like a rock as I already stated and as heavy. Awkward to use on a Sony 7r which is how I'm using it, but doable nevertheless.

Just got it and only have briefly played indoors. At first, real disappointed that the weight really is heavy and it's somewhat awkward to use on Sony 7R handheld; but you get used to it in quick order. On a tripod, no problem, but use a tripod collar from Novoflex or the like for support.
Admittedly, I've used it very little so far, informally testing it around the house. I found the sharpness is exceptional as is micro-contrast. Color and rendering are beautiful. Was worried to see it described as neutral. If this is neutral then bring it on; it's beautiful from lights to dark, smooth, and shooting into lights no flare or artifacts of any kind, so far. My best lenses so far are the Zeiss 15 Distagon and 135 Apo and they are excellent performers. However, this lens seems to get more from the Sony sensor than either or any other lens I've used in terms of sharpness, contrast, and color rendering. It especially seems to pull out more of that lovely micro-contrast that really defines a picture.
The Otus is really phenomenal and is indeed worth the price and bulk. Sorry to go on so long, but the improved micro-contrast is very medium-format-like (on the Sony 7r and/or Nikon d800) and the bokeh is fantastic. Looking forward to taking this to Berlin on my next trip.


Dec 23, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tunisia to your Buddy List  

   



Zeiss 85mm f/1.4 Otus Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 5840 Jul 17, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $4,490.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
10.00
10.0
otus85