about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
60 179448 Jul 31, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $246.28
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.45
8.46
7.8
ef_24-85_35_1_

Specifications:
Ultra-wide zoom lens with portrait-length telephoto capability. By having multiple lens groups move during zooming, the lens was made compact and lightweight. The ashperical element suppresses distortion. High contrast is maintained at all focal lengths and sharp images are obtained.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 
      
emzed
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 23, 2004
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3
Review Date: Oct 5, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $309.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Light; inexpensive, fast AF, portrait lens at 85...
Cons:
Vigneting at 24mm...even at 85 on the edges! 67 filter size, f/3,5-4,5 not so sharp for zoom standard at f/3,5- 8 etc...

I bought this product one year ago in B&Hphotovideo in NY and I was quite happy then...

But, When I brushed my skills in wedings and fashion division I understood that this is not a good glass for me niether for serious customers!!!

I dont want to make wrong opinion in readers head about this lens but I worked only with this peace of glass on Adriatic See this year and used Velvia 50 film...and what I found?

Realy bad dark edges in all corners on prints 20*30 cm which are on my wall in badroom!!!

REALY, REALY BAD FOR EYES...
I am disapointed not in details but in "tele" at 85 mm...HEEELLLLLLLOOOOOOOO Sad((

Or...I cant be a fair judge? Because I am a pro now. Using a Hasselblad for real work Smile)
But after all, who wants to pay for pics of wedings with this quality of enlargements ?

Me...NO!!!
24-70 f2,8 L usm is 4 times expensive but worth of every penny!!!
I am saying that and I am NOT an owner!!! I use it from times to times...

AA2: buy it, if you do not attend to upgrade later on 24-70 L...
Its GOOD lens for amateurs...


Oct 5, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add emzed to your Buddy List  
trsqr
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 24, 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 38
Review Date: Sep 3, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $229.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: AF speed, price, size, weight
Cons:
Was hoping that it would be sharper

This lens is a good standard zoom and surely a great improvement over any kit lenses. Wide open it is rather soft, but stopped down a bit it is really good. USM makes the AF fast and accurate.

Since I often find myself pushing for the ISO800 and still ending up shooting wide open, I think it's time for 24-70/2.8...


Sep 3, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add trsqr to your Buddy List  
starlite
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 19, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 341
Review Date: Jul 29, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $260.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Excellent backup lens for a working kit of "L" glass. One of Canon's not so well kept secrets, anymore.
Cons:
For its range and speed...none.

This lens was recommended to me after I made a major switched to Canon for myself and several staff photographers a few years ago. I had asked for "backup" glass to have on hand for each system and both of the Canon reps I work with (if you read many posts on Rob Galbraith's site you'll know one of them) highly recommended this lens. Outside of "L" lenses it is considered (by Canon) to be one of their best in its focal range. I have used the lens on some documentary and editorial assignments and was quite pleased. Its size makes it a pleasure to use when lens speed is not a concern.




Jul 29, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add starlite to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: Jun 10, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Versatile walk-around lens
Cons:
weak mechanism allows some zoom creep; slow glass, for indoors needs flash 50% of the time.

I bought this as a first lens, and it's been great for point & shoot situations. When I'm out for pictures though, a wide angle prime and the 70-200L are the workhorses.

Jun 10, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
Zane Yau
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 30, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3142
Review Date: Jun 3, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: One of the better quality Canon consumer lenses. Great sharpness for this price. Little flare. Light weight.
Cons:
Build quality - when zoom extends to 85mm.

I bought this lens together with my EOS 30(7E) in Thailand when I travelled there 2 years ago. I used to use Minolta. It's the first Canon lens I use and to learn photography with. When I bought this lens I ask the dealer why is this lens so expensive compared with the standard 28 - 80 lens, which he virtually throws in as part of the package, as this lens is only 4mm wider and 5mm longer. He said what you pay is what you get and it's harder to make wide angles. Alright, I bought it as I like the distance scale on the lens, the manual override of AF and it looks more substantial and professional than the 28-80 Smile After I tried out the lens, I loved it so much. It's really good for travel as it's light and doesn't disappoint you for its sharpness. It does portraits really well too which my wife thank me. On the digital it gives you a focal length of around 37 to 135 which is pretty good for general purpose. The only thing is it doesnt feel solid when you extend it to 85mm.



Jun 3, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Zane Yau to your Buddy List  
junbug
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 23, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Review Date: Aug 17, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $270.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: small size, low price, fair image quality
Cons:
zoom creep, barrel and pincushion distortion

It's ok quality, considering the price I paid.
Not as sharp as other prime lenses i have (of course), but easy size to carry around. Appropriate for everyday snapshots, especially with DSLR, which you might wanna be more careful about lens exchange to avoid introducing dust on image sensor. I'll bring this one with 10D for travel situasions.


Aug 17, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add junbug to your Buddy List  
Gochugogi
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 25, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9875
Review Date: Jul 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $325.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent image quality Petite, light and versatile Absolutely No Zoom Creep Great walk around lens
Cons:
67mm filter size is unusual for Canon

This zoom is unique inasmuch as the range encompasses a true wide angle, 24 mm, to short telephoto, 85 mm. Most of Canon's "normal" zooms start at 28 mm. Not too long ago 35 mm was the norm. If you love wide angle perspectives or shoot in tight interiors, this is the zoom for you. Personally, I find 24 mm images somewhat difficult to compose in full frame formats--28 to 50 mm comes more naturally--but having an extra 4 mm is nice when you need it.

An internal lens group is focused by ring-type USM (Ultrasonic Motor). This motor dives the small rear elements easily, resulting in extremely fast AF. Thus, the front element does not rotate nor does the barrel expand or contract during focusing. Plus, ring-type USM features full-time manual focusing (FT-M), allowing you to manually focus without switching out of AF mode. Of course, being an USM lens, it is silent when focusing. If you prefocus manually, the distance window in meters and feet is very useful. Unlike many Canon consumer zooms, this puppy exhibits absolutely no zoom creep, even after 1.5 years of constant use.

This EF 24-85 3.5-4.5 USM sports a 6-blade diaphragm. Thus, out of focus areas (bokeh) are reasonably smooth. A molded glass (GMo) aspherical lens element (4th) is used to correct astigmatism, achieve sharp definition and to make the lens compact. Canon manages to pack 15 elements into a 69.5mm (L) x 73 mm (D) barrel! With all those elements, the optional petal hood, the EW-73II, should be used at all times to protect the front element and reduce flare.

The filter size is an odd (for Canon) 67 mm, making filters expensive. There is only one other Canon lens with this filter size, the EF 70-200 4L USM. Fortunately, the EF 24-85 3.5-4.5 USM and EF 70-200 4L USM complement one another well and make an excellent kit. Plus, there are a few advantages to large filter sizes: 1) the extra space between the front element and filter threads minimalizes the possibility of accidental scratching when changing filters; and 2) thick filters such as polarizers may be used without vignetting.

For a consumer zoom, the EF 24-85 3.5-4.5 USM delivers sharp and contrasty images. I found it on par with the EF 28-105 3.5-4.5 USM. Although quality is decent wide open, the best image quality is at F8 or 11. The long end is slightly softer than the wide angle side, but sharp enough for excellent 11 x 14 inch enlargements.

This zoom suffers from considerable barrel distortion at the wide end and a small amount of pincushion distortion at the long end. If you shoot architecture, avoid this zoom and embrace the superior correction of prime lenses. For general use, distortion is not a problem except with ocean horizons or closeup subjects with parallel lines. Indeed, distortion increases considerably in the macro range, especially at 24 mm. Distortion is normal for zooms and is an optical compromise that allows the convenience of multiple focal lengths.

Flare and ghosting are well controlled for a zoom, but extreme conditions, e.g., a shearing Hawaiian sunset, may cause some flare and ghosting with full frame formats. After all, 15 elements give ample opportunity for light to bounce around. Amazingly, flare and ghosting are better controlled than both my EF 28-105 USM and EF 28-135 IS USM. With an EOS 10D (DSLR), there is no flare and ghosting even with blazing sunsets, perhaps due to the small sensor size. Maybe the rectangular flare mask between the first and second elements really makes a difference. Nevertheless, I always keep the lens hood on to help keep flare in check.

The EF 24-85 3.5-4.5 USM is a wonderful lens for the EOS Elan series, Rebel series, IX series, A2/A2E or D30/60/10D. The 24mm wide angle makes it especially useful on cameras with small image sizes, i.e., 1.25 to 1.6x cropping factor, such as the IX series or D30/D60/10D. Due to its light weight, it balances well on smaller cameras such as the Rebel or Elan series. It isn't as well suited for pro EOS cameras like the EOS 1V or EOS 3 as the variable aperture of F3.5 to 4.5 is too slow to activate their cross AF sensors. It's only about $300 new. What a deal!


Jul 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gochugogi to your Buddy List  
Jeff Stevens
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Mar 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 504
Review Date: Jun 23, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $349.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Size, Cost, USM, and Excellent Sharpness.
Cons:
Wished it focused closer (1.5ft)

Started with a 50 1.8 prime. Loved the lens, and the speed. But couldn't afford the 24-70L and returned 2 sigmas (not happy with focus speed). I wanted all primes, but the wife uses the camera too, and she had to have a zoom. So far I am very impressed with the lens. It doesn't block the flash (important, since I don't have a flash yet). It is very light, and the focusing is lighting fast! I would recomend this lens to anyone that wants a zoom, but doesn't want the price and weight of an L.

Jun 23, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jeff Stevens to your Buddy List  
Richard N
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 3, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 146
Review Date: May 22, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $290.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Good all-around zoom. Very good quality for a consumer zoom, IMHO best of all mid-range consumer priced Canon's zooms (even better than 28-135/3.5-4.5 IS USM).
Cons:
Unusual filter thread 67mm, zoom ring a bit too narrow.

I had an excellent copy - optically and mechanically. Very sharp and contrasty (again, given that it is a consumer zoom). No zoom creep. Also, the front element doesn't rotate which is good when using filters, such as grad. NDs or polarizers.

This is a great starter lens with a good range, esp. when shooting film or DSLRs w/o crop factor. I used this lens mostly on my film-based bodies - Elans (IIe or 7e) and was very happy w/ picture quality (using Velvia or Provia slides).


May 22, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Richard N to your Buddy List  
Chuck A
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 16, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Review Date: May 14, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $160.00 | Rating: 8 

Pros: Bargain price Good optics USM Well built
Cons:
Wish it was faster

This is a very nice starter lens for Canon DSLR users. My copy is sharp and I have no complaints. Just stop down to 5.6 or 8 and it is very sharp. Color and contrast are excellent. Rivals the Canon L zooms. The USM and full time manual focus is also a plus. I really don't see how you can go wrong with this lens.

PS: Look for the older Champagne models. They are sharper, especially wide open.

I really like this lens.


May 14, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chuck A to your Buddy List  
blulegend
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 24, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 90
Review Date: Apr 6, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Great value, fairly sharp, fast autofocus, full-time manual focus
Cons:
Bad zoom creep, odd 67mm filter size, sometimes mis-focused using 10D, felt cheap, zoom grip sometimes slippery or difficult to grab

Used on 10D.

Focus was fast and quiet though sometimes accuracy was questionable at times. The lens would easily creep to full zoom when walking with camera tethered from the strap.


Apr 6, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add blulegend to your Buddy List  
stan_g
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 8, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 232
Review Date: Mar 30, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: Compact, fairly sharp, good zoom range, FTM focus
Cons:

Outshined by 28-135 IS. Nice when you want the smallest, lightest package with the D30/D60/10D.

Mar 30, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add stan_g to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
60 179448 Jul 31, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $246.28
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
7.45
8.46
7.8
ef_24-85_35_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4