about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM "A"

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 5776 Jul 22, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
67% of reviewers $999.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
9.00
8.3
sigma50f14a

Specifications:
Focal Length: 50mm
APS Equivalent: 1.5x: 75mm; 1.6x: 80mm
Max Aperture: f/1.4
Min Aperture: f/16
Diaphragm Blades: 9 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 13 elements in 8 groups, including 1 aspherical and 3 SLD elements
Diagonal Angle of View
(Based on image circle): 46.8 degrees
Focus Details: HSM, with full-time manual focus override
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: n/a
Closest Focus: 40cm / 15.7 in.
Magnification Ratio: 0.18x / 1:5.6
Filter Size: 77mm
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): 99.9mm x 85.4mm / 3.9 in. x 3.4 in.
Weight: 470g / 16.6 oz


 


          
Doug Vann
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 18, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 50
Review Date: Jul 22, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, nice feel with Canon 6D, great DOF for having the subject pop out.
Cons:
A bit pricey but it is still less then the 50L and sharper.

I have owned several 50mm lenses over the past few years. Sigma 50mm EX DG HSM, Canon 50mm f1.8 and Canon 50mm f1.2 L. The new Sigma 50mm DG HSM f1.4 Art lens is the best of the lot. Super sharp, consistent results. The previous Sigma lens was almost as sharp as this one but not quite. The 50 f1.2 L was not as sharp as either Sigma lens but was pretty good for portraits.
The new Sigma is a bit on the heavy side for a 50mm lens but it feels real nice on my Canon 6D. Has a quality feel to it. Have taken several full body shots outdoors as well as flowers and am 100% satisfied with the results. Subject is amazingly sharp with a nicely blurred background. Exactly what I was looking for. Have 5 weddings coming up and this lens will pay for itself shortly.


Jul 22, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Doug Vann to your Buddy List  
petr vokurek
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 16, 2007
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jun 16, 2014 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Great build, perfect optics, looks sexy maybe..:-)
Cons:
Unreliable autofocus:-(

I had great expectations about this lens and thought this would finally be my ultimate 50mm lens. Mechanically it is truly amazing- itīs like handling an old Hasselblad lens, all metal and glass! Optically this lens really delivers, too. Itīs much sharper than anything from Canon I have owned (1,4/50, 1,2/50). It doesnīt suffer from the usual aberations when shooting wide open and the pictures at 1,4 are razor sharp and crystal clear- when it does focus properly...However, my copy had very inconsistent autofocus. If I took 3 photos of the same scene (portrait or just about anything it this distance range) one would be perfecly sharp, the next one would be out just a bit, the next in focus again and the next out again. I was using it on 5d III with the focus point directly on the subject, so no focus and recompose...I tried it on two weddings and after I went through the pictures I returned the lens. All my Canon lenses are way more reliable and predictable. Even my old 1,4/50mm. Itīs no way near as sharp but it does focus more reliably- and thatīs saying a lot because itīs not an easy lens:-) At the end of the day, a perfecly focused photo from Canonīs 1,4/50 is better than a slightly (or not so slightly) out of focus one from the Sigma. I hoped Sigma finally sorted out the AF problems and gave them a chance but it just didnīt work out for me.

Jun 16, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add petr vokurek to your Buddy List  
Ulan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 133
Review Date: May 23, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness even at f1.4, nice bokeh, well built, elegant design
Cons:
Heavy, bulky, poor lens cap

This is a brilliant piece of glass. Sharpness is awesome, even at the maximum aperture in the centre. This lens delivers contrasty images; sharpness (or "piqué" as it is called in French) is very good all over the frame at higher apertures.

Build quality is at the same level as the Sigma 35 mm Art : solid and trustworthy. I like the "chic" design, also when coupled with the lens hood which comes with it. The lens cap is not of the higher standard as I have some difficulty when putting it back on the lens.

Autofocus is known to be a weak spot of Sigma, but since the Art line came to life, things seem to have changed. At least in my case, using the Canon 5D mark III (famous for its accurate AF system). To be sincere, I had to use the USB dock of Sigma to tune the accuracy of the focus at different distance ranges. After calibration, results were more than satisfactory and consistent, something you can check looking at your f1.4 shots at 100% magnification. AF speed is quite good and silent. I haven't tested the lens for AI Servo, so can't say anything about that point.

The lens is quite heavy and big (but not more than a good zoom).


May 23, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ulan to your Buddy List  

   



Sigma 50mm f/1.4 DG HSM "A"

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 5776 Jul 22, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
67% of reviewers $999.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
9.00
8.3
sigma50f14a