about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM APO

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 4909 Jul 4, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $916.75
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
9.75
9.5
Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_11_20_05_AM

Specifications:
Name: Sigma 50-150mm /2.8 EX DC OS HSM APO
Image Circle: APS-C
Type: Telephoto Zoom
Focal Length: 50 - 150mm
APS Equivalent: 1.5x: 75 - 225mm; 1.6x: 80 - 240mm
Max Aperture: /2.8
Min Aperture: /22
Diaphragm Blades: 9 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 21 elements in 15 groups, including 6 SLD elements
Diagonal Angle of View
(Based on image circle): 27.9 to 9.5 degrees
Focus Details: HSM (Hyper Sonic Motor) with full-time manual focus override
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: Rotary
Closest Focus: 80cm / 31.5 in.
Magnification Ratio: 0.16x / 1:6.3
Filter Size: 77mm
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): 197.6mm x 86.4mm / 7.8 in. x 3.4 in.
Weight: 1,340 g (2.95 lb)
Notes: Image Stabilized (up to 4 stops correction); Planned AF Mounts: Canon, Nikon, Pentax, Sigma, Sony; Included Accessories: Lens Hood, Case; Nikon mounts do not have an aperture ring; Some functions may not work depending on the camera model.
Online Price: $1,099



 


      
werds
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 31, 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 37
Review Date: Jul 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $869.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Price Point. Sharp. Similar Field of View on crop body as the popular 70-200 focal length on Full Frame. Good build quality.
Cons:
Heavy? Currently appears to be a discontinued lens in Canon Mount.

After a lot of review reading on the internet and bouncing back and forth between breaking the bank on a Canon 70-200 2.8 Mk2... I decided to go with the 50-150 for the following reasons.

1. On crop it provides similar field of view as 70-200 does on full frame. This removes some of the awkward focal length that you get when using a 70-200 lens on crop. I really enjoy being able to use the 50mm wide end, although can still feel crowded at times it provides versatility.

2. The price was insanely good and comparing it's cost to Sigma and Tammy 70-200 2.8's with OS or VC it was better priced and since neither one are true 200mm lenses it only made sense to go with the 50-150 as you gain wide end and don't lose much long end.

3. The zoom and focus ring move the same direction as Canon lenses. Not a huge issue but makes it easier to adjust and zoom without having to think or break muscle memory.

Like most other reviews I see posted the lens was razor sharp out the box and to my extreme surprise does not appear to require any micro adjustments for focusing!

The focusing is sharp and silent. Although everyone notes that the OS is loud, I never would have noticed until I listened to it. It might be louder than Canon IS, but overall it isn't loud per say. Focusing is fairly fast, slower than the better Canon USM lenses but not by a lot.


Jul 4, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add werds to your Buddy List  
cjxx
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 28, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: Dec 18, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Better than 70-200/2.8L II? Sharp and quick.
Cons:
Heavy?

Got this because 70-200mm f/2.8L II was often a little long for track,
XC and gymnastics with the 7D. I thought I would use both lenses.
Instead I stopped using and carrying the 70-200mm II, 85/1.8 and
135L. I don't mind the moire one bit.


Dec 18, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cjxx to your Buddy List  
ebiggs
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Mar 16, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 309
Review Date: Dec 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $949.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Gives the popular 70-200mm equivalent to crop sensor bodies. Very sharp, good build.
Cons:
It is heavy and it is not weather proof.

This lens is a no brainer. It is simply fabulous on my 7D.
I highly recommend it to any crop sensor owner.
It is a little long and it has 'good' weight to it but seems to handle easily. Comes with a useful hood and nice padded case that Sigma uses for a shipping container.
There was a time when this ole boy would never consider a of brand lens but a few from Sigma, recently, has begun to change my mind.
The focus and zoom rings are reversed to my way of thinking and it took me a day or two to adjust.
My copy is sharp and no complaints on focus. It is fast and spot on.
This lens is a very good buy.


Dec 3, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ebiggs to your Buddy List  
icsdave
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 20, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Review Date: Nov 17, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $949.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp
Cons:
Size and weight

It took me over 6 months to decide to get this because of the size and wait, I had the HSM II version, which is much smaller. I picked up the Sigma EX 2X extender with the lens. I expected it to be poor but took the chance anyway. The 50-150 OS is sharper with the extender then the old version is with out one. Also the lens with the converter is sharper with the extender then cropping with out one.

So I am very happy with both.


Nov 17, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add icsdave to your Buddy List  




Sigma 50-150mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM APO

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 4909 Jul 4, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $916.75
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
9.75
9.5
Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_11_20_05_AM

supersize