about | support
home
 

Search Used

Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8 DG OS HSM "S"

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 7146 Jun 2, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $3,375.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.75
9.50
10.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_11_12_41_AM

Specifications:
Name: Sigma 120-300mm /2.8 DG OS HSM "S"
Image Circle: 35mm
Type: Telephoto Zoom
Focal Length: 120 - 300mm
APS Equivalent: 1.5x: 180 - 450mm; 1.6x: 192 - 480mm
Max Aperture: /2.8
Min Aperture: /22
Diaphragm Blades: 9 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 23 elements in 18 groups
Diagonal Angle of View
(Based on image circle): 20.4 to 8.2 degrees
Focus Details: Internal; Hypersonic Motor (HSM) with full-time manual override
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: Rotary; Internal
Closest Focus: 150cm / 59.1 in. to 250cm / 98.4 in.
Magnification Ratio: 0.12x / 1:8.1
Filter Size: 105mm
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): 291mm x 124.4mm / 11.5 in. x 4.8 in.
Weight: 6lb, 12.4 oz / 3,062 g (lens alone), hood: 276 grams, tripod foot: 360 grams.
Notes: Image Stablized (up to 4 stops); Available AF Mounts: Canon, Nikon, Sigma; Accessores: metal lens hood, lens case, tripod socket (TS-51).
Typical Online Price: US$3,600



 


      
PennsyBill
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Jan 5, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 748
Review Date: Jun 2, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great Image Quality - Fast Focusing - Customize Performance With Optional USB - Very Small Drop In IQ w/Sigma 1.4TC - It's a Nikon 70-200 VRII on Steroids - I Think Skin Tones Are More Natural Than any Nikon Lens I've used.
Cons:
It's heavier than the 200-400 f4 that I used prior to the Sigma - and harder to balance on a monopod. +1 on the comments about lens hood - great in use but stopped carrying it reversed on the lens as I didn't want to chance scratching the body of the lens

The finish should do a great job protecting the camera and the lens glass is a pretty as any other lens I've seen.

I thought the camera & lens combination would be similar in handling to the camera and the Nikon 200-400 f4 VR but it really wasn't close. I think I'll try another mounting foot for it

Almost forgot - on a Nikon body your focusing is reversed


Jun 2, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PennsyBill to your Buddy List  
kc3m
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 7, 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 15, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Value and performance. Functionality w/ 5Dm3 and 1.4X. Very sharp. Well constructed. Ability to adjust firmware parameters w/SIGMA dock & software
Cons:
Heavy. Sealed for dust, not for water.

Rented this lens first to assure this SIGMA lens would be fully compatible with my Canon 5dm3 & 5dm2 and the Canon 1.4X extender vII. I was impressed and delighted. Purchased it for wildlife photography as I needed a bit more range than my canon 70-200 2.8.



Jan 15, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kc3m to your Buddy List  
micloi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 1, 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 23
Review Date: Dec 2, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp Fast AF when tweaked with the USB dock Custom modes Great with the 1.4x and 2x Great range
Cons:
Heavier than the Canon and Nikon versions (which are not a zoom lens though)

I have tried practically every Nikon, Canon and Sigma telephotos.

This is one of my favourite lenses and, with the variable limiter and AF speed customization, fixes the main complain I had from the precious version.

Very usable at 600mm f5.6, very sharp at 600mm f6.3 and tack sharp at f7.1 with the D800e


Dec 2, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add micloi to your Buddy List  
teglis
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 31, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1094
Review Date: Nov 21, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,150.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: 300mm/2.8, sharp, great bokeh, price relative to primes
Cons:
Attaching hood in reverse position for storage, size and weight (no surprise there)

This lens is incredibly sharp, even wide open (5D2). Sigma lenses have a reputation for focus problems, but my copy is spot on. Stabilization works well.

Obviously this is a big heavy lens, but I have carried it in a backpack and even hand carried while walking. It is hand-holdable in daylight. I haven't tried it at lower shutter speeds. Its size makes it quite conspicuous.

The hood has a thumbscrew to make sure it is securely attached, and that works well when shooting. But when reversing the hood for storage, it doesn't seem to twist into position as well, and I've had it fall off even with the screw tightened.


Nov 21, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add teglis to your Buddy List  




Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8 DG OS HSM "S"

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 7146 Jun 2, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $3,375.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.75
9.50
10.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_11_12_41_AM

supersize