about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 100977 Nov 30, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
87% of reviewers $985.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.70
7.88
8.3
ts243_1_

Specifications:
Compact, wide-angle lens which enables tilt and shift movements. The floating optical system, with an aspherical lens element, corrects distortion and other aberrations. High image quality and compactness are the result. Great for architecture, landscapes and other wide-angle shots.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
          
smackie
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Nov 19, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 229
Review Date: Jun 8, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Range of movements for DoF control. Solid build. Smooth focus adjustment.
Cons:
Bit bulky. Requires careful metering at full shifts. Prone to flare.

This is one of my favorite lenses for "close-in" landscape work. The perspective control available allows for shots that would normally take a 4x5 to achieve. The lens appears to be sharp wide open, with only minimal dropoff in the corners. There's some CA at full movements but only when shooting full-frame.

Without movements, this is a fine 24mm lens for general landscape work. The manual focus control is smooth and precise and it has a full DoF scale. I've had some trouble with flare on bright days (the hood isn't amazingly useful) but it's manageable.

If I'm shooting landscapes, it's in my bag.


Jun 8, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add smackie to your Buddy List  
braindeadmac
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: Apr 29, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1973
Review Date: May 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great range of movements, very good to excellent image quality, even at f3.5-4.
Cons:
Bulky and heavy, camera ships with shift and tilt movements perpendicular & requires trip to service to make them parallel. A bit on the expensive side.

This lens is one of the main reasons I switched to Canon after 25 years of Nikon use. The only real problem with the lens is that the tilt and shift axes are "fixed" and not easily moved, thus you are considerably more restricted in the range of movements available. However, for most landscape photography the range of movements are more than adequate. The lens is also a bit bulky, but that's to be expected given it's combination of capabilities and rock solid build. The first thing to do after buying this lens is to send it back to Canon service so that they will make the tilt and shift movements parallel.

May 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add braindeadmac to your Buddy List  
gatom
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1792
Review Date: Apr 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $870.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: DOF control, perspectiv control
Cons:
None

Love this lens, for architecture or lenscape. Manual focus is so smooth and easy, Lens is very solid build. I only wish it would be around 16 - 18mm. Highly recomending.

Apr 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gatom to your Buddy List  

Offline
Review Date: Apr 2, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: DOF control and wide angle perspective
Cons:
none

Never figured this lens would become my main product shooting lens but it has -- clients love the "funky" perspective along with everything razor sharp. I most often use it at the minimum focus distance with exceptional results. This is the only lens I own that paid for itself ten time over in the first month. I can't live without it. Razor sharp results with excellent contrast and color saturation.

Apr 2, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add  to your Buddy List  
Jack Flesher
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Oct 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3489
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tilt and Shift :)
Cons:
Exhibits slight CA in the corners when shifted on my 1Ds (full-frame). Manual focus only.

I like this lens for its ability to correct perspectives and increase DOF -- In this vein, it gives the DSLR user some abilities usually left to users of Large Format systems. The lens is perhaps slightly less sharp than my 24/1.4, but its TS abilities more than compensate for this slight loss in resolution. To further clarify, the corners are visbly soft until about f4.5, with the sweet-spot being f8 where everything appears crisp. There is also some CA visible at thee corners and this is exacerbated by shift as the edge of your image goes even further off center. HOWEVER, you can use this to slight advantage at times depending on where your main subject is located, since this will IMPROVE the imaging charachteristic at the opposite edge of the frame since it is now closer to the center of the field. Also, I find these slight corner anomolies go undetected in the typical sweeping landscape shot, where the bennefit of the added DOF from a slight tilt is clearly noted.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add Jack Flesher to your Buddy List  
John MacLean
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 11, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 391
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: perspective control
Cons:
not wide enough

I do a lot of interiors and I find myself backed up against a wall either with my 14 or 16-35 @ 16, and I rarely could shoot 24mm and get what I need in the frame. I wish it was at least 18mm for this reason.

Mar 29, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add John MacLean to your Buddy List  

   



Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 100977 Nov 30, 2011
Recommended By Average Price
87% of reviewers $985.59
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.70
7.88
8.3
ts243_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3