about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
208 484145 Jul 6, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $470.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.12
9.22
9.6
ef_100_28_1_

Specifications:
Autofocus lens for macro photography up to life-size (1x) magnification. Inner focusing affords a long working distance of 5.9in. (149mm) at 1x. A 3-group floating system results in excellent delineation at all focusing distances. Ring USM for silent and high-speed AF, and full-time manual focusing also provided. The optional Tripod Mount Ring (B) B (with adapter) enables the lens to be rotated for vertical or horizontal framing.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
richardho11
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 9, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $360.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, excellent price, creamy smooth bokeh, decently fast at f/2.8, good build, does not extend when zooming and excellent af speed.
Cons:
None that I can think of.

This is an excellent macro / porature lens! Its really ultra sharp and creates a creamy smooth bokeh at f/2.8. At $475 new, you really can't go wrong!! AF speed is decently quick, build feels nice and sturdy. I love how the barrel does not extend when zooming in, this way I won't scare all the little critters. All in all, this is one of the best bang for the buck lens I own! Highly Recommended!!!

Apr 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add richardho11 to your Buddy List  
Robr
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 1, 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 441
Review Date: Apr 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp and light
Cons:
No lenshood, (but no flare seen yet).

As I bought this one for the macro abilities, but soon I discovered to have a very nice sharp portrait lens also!
Usually I use(d) the 70-200mm L IS for the portrait part. This small and light 100mm lens is very versatile and allows me to go extremely close. Macro is sharp and portrait is sharp, comparable to the 70-200. Although I prefer the bokeh of the 70-200 still. Together with my 16-35 a very nice light walk a(ll)round lens kit.
As a macro lens it delivers nice colorfull images at 1:1.
A must have lens!


Apr 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Robr to your Buddy List  
Evan Baines
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 15, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5527
Review Date: Apr 10, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp! Great color, solid feel, doubles as tele-prime. 1:1
Cons:
Minor shift in focal length when focusing due to IF... not a big deal, but be aware of it.

My favorite lens. This baby is sharp! It feels solid and the IQ is impeccable. I've had no problems with AF speed when using the range limiter. Superb!

Apr 10, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Evan Baines to your Buddy List  
Levendis
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 19, 2006
Location: China
Posts: 156
Review Date: Apr 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp. Doubles as a 100mm standard prime. Maximum 1x magnification at 31cm.
Cons:
Working distance - length of the lens barrel means that you have to get as close as about half the 31cm to get to maximum magnification. Manufacturers' defect in first copy - as usual check before purchase!

Solid performer as others mentioned before. Good sharpness and color rendition. Great 1st macro lens. Great as first macro lens - opened up possibilities for me in many applications - flowers, still life, miniatures, small animals, etc...

Watch out though - first copy that I inspected at store actually has a visible piece of plastic about 2x3mm big INSIDE the lens. Shame on Canon for trying to waste my time again...

Second copy at least looks clean inside and seems pretty good so far after 100+ pictures or so.


Apr 1, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Levendis to your Buddy List  
yvzzz
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 15, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 34
Review Date: Mar 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $630.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I have owned this lens for a couple of years, bought it after reading so many positives on this forum. This lens is SHARP! I use it on a full frame camera and have been blown away by the file quality of my shots. There is no substitute for macro on a full frame. It is indeed also a superb portrait lens!
Cons:
Considering the main applications for this lens, none really. As many others have said, it is a little slower than L-lenses for focussing, but that's not the point of this lens.



Mar 31, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add yvzzz to your Buddy List  
Alb. de Wilde
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 31, 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 31, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Reliable, almost no hunting, sharp, inner focusing, price.
Cons:
None

I own this lens for 9 months now and made more then a thousand photos with it on a 30D body. I'm a photographer of insects and almost always the 25 extension EF25 is mounted too.
In normal light there's no hunting using AF on the shortest distance switch. The body and lens are very reliable. I don't have any complaints. It gives me sharp photos with a good contrast and colour saturation. That's all I want.


Mar 31, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Alb. de Wilde to your Buddy List  
cohenxa
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 831
Review Date: Mar 12, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $430.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great handling - sharp -good autofocus - f2.8!!! The greatest lens to start macro...and it could turn into a good portrait lens too!
Cons:
Focus a little bit noisy (actully it is not that bad but I was looking for a "cons")

I've read on this forum that this lens has the best FOI (Fun On Investment). I definitively agree. I own the 17-85 and 70-200L. None of them has macro capability. It opens a new way to "see" photography. I definitively recommend it to anyone.

Xavier


Mar 12, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add cohenxa to your Buddy List  
neridah
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 16, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 970
Review Date: Mar 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Outstanding sharpness-Build-Bokeh-Affordability & Value for money.
Cons:
No lens hood....Not as fast as comparable "L"Series lenses.

I purchased this lens today and have played with it extensively shooting everything from detailed jewellery to plants flowers and pets.
The sharpness and detail have blown me away.
I also sampled some portraits that were outstanding im amazed at the versatility of this lens as it doubles as a 2 in 1 (Macro and Standard)...The price was suprisingly affordable for such a quality lens...
This ones a keeper! Highly recommended in every way.


Mar 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add neridah to your Buddy List  
Krystof Meder
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 25, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 6, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid build, pin sharp, great macro, fast to focus, great bokah
Cons:
none

This was my second decent lens for my Canon 30D and I fell in love with it, straight out the box. With a bit of practice this lens takes superb macros and doubles as a solid telephoto prime.

I seriously could not find anything to fault with this lens, sure the 180mm Macro has better magnification but it's also almost double the size.

If you want a decent macro you can not go past this lens!


Mar 6, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Krystof Meder to your Buddy List  
levinet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 25, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 9
Review Date: Feb 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price, build quality, sharpness, smooth focus ring, size, weight.
Cons:
None.

This is a fantastic lens, in every way. Under normal shooting the AF is fast, bokeh is lovely and optics are very sharp.

In macro conditions this lens is fantastic, working distance isn't bad (you can't beat it at this size/weight) and put bluntly, it just works.

Anybody who says this lens has slow AF doesn't realise that in the macro range this lens is pretty much as fast as they get. And with the focus limiter set, this lens is as fast as almost any other regular telephoto USM lens.

This lens is a factory built for pumping out great photos.


Feb 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add levinet to your Buddy List  
jlc61
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 27, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 145
Review Date: Feb 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great images, lightweight
Cons:
None

Bought his on clearance at a camera store - a bargain.

Feb 3, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jlc61 to your Buddy List  
lancemoreland
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 545
Review Date: Jan 28, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: What's not to like. Sharp as a tack. Light. Priced right
Cons:
none

This lens should really be wearing a red ring

Jan 28, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lancemoreland to your Buddy List  
Husien Jahja
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 9, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 16
Review Date: Jan 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great lense... great colour... macro looks good...
Cons:
focus a little bit on the slow side especially on 0.31mm. but could cope with it..

My first macro... Never regret in buying this lens... I always wanted 180 macro... but it's just too heavy and needed a tripod to shot most of the time...

I picked up this one at a bargain and it is definitely not a bargain in sharpness and colour...

This lens could shot macro and potraits that really makes it an excellent buy....

This is definitely for keep...


Jan 23, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Husien Jahja to your Buddy List  
Dan Doucette
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 2, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 27
Review Date: Jan 18, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very sharp, good contrast, lightweight, affordable, fun to use.
Cons:
Unusual/poor bokeh characteristics at times (see below), relatively short camera to subject distances (but unavoidable without longer lens). Build quality is just acceptable (but don't forget the reasonable price of this lens).

Overall this is a great macro lens at a reasonably affordable price. It has great sharpness, very nice contrast, and is relatively easy to get good results with, (provided you use good macro shooting technique). The lens is light enough to be carried often, in anticipation of those times when you will find a use for its macro capabilities. The build quality is acceptable, especially for the price, but is certainly not "L" construction.

I use this lens only for macro shooting, so I can not comment on its capabilities and handling in conventional shooting situations.

The only main problem I ever find with this lens is unusual out of focus highlight points. Sometimes when grains of sand, dew drops, rain drops, snow/frost flakes, etc. are out of focus in the background, the spectrum of light breaks down and you can see each color that makes white light, as if the light were passing through a prisme. It's odd, and showns itself to lesser or greater extents depending on the strength of the highlight point. Larger areas of bright background highlight do not show this characteristic, just smaller points of light. Also, the overall quality of the out of focus background bokeh is sometimes a bit harsh, and not as smooth as I would like. This only becomes apparent under some shooting situations (see salamander photo in gallery at the link below).

Overall I am very satisified with this lens and often get good images while using it. I highly recommenrd it, especially considering the good price.

To see images taken with this lens, visit my website: http://www.infotography.com/nature/index.php?album=close-up&image=001+close+up.jpg All images in this gallery were taken with the 100mm macro.

-Dan


Jan 18, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Dan Doucette to your Buddy List  
tidelands
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Oct 23, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 48
Review Date: Jan 13, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Couldn't be sharper. Or realistically sturdier. Does what it's supposed to do with no back talk.
Cons:
No complaints. Particularly compared to the 50mm macro, this is an easy piece of glass to work with.

For the money this is a wonderful lens. This is not to say that more money would buy a lens that would provide better results or make the job easier. I bought it new from B&H and would have been happy to pay more had I needed to. I have it on a 30D and have shot maybe 1000 product close ups since its arrival. With the proper setup there is little to do post production. Clarity is great and the handling is very smooth. This thing walks all over the 50mm macro. I've generally been shooting at f5.6 with the lighting I have and that offers a pretty shallow DoF. I don't know what that means for portraits as I haven't tried yet. But for the work it has done so far, which is what it is designed for, it gets a 10.

Jan 13, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tidelands to your Buddy List  
DLai
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1130
Review Date: Jan 11, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $469.95 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build, comfortable focus ring, and sharpness.
Cons:
Slow af (but what else would you expect from a macro lens).

Although the 100mm macro is one of the least used lenses in my bag, it's still quite a performer when I need deliver a high quality image.

Jan 11, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DLai to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
208 484145 Jul 6, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $470.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.12
9.22
9.6
ef_100_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next