about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
208 482783 Jul 6, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $470.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.12
9.22
9.6
ef_100_28_1_

Specifications:
Autofocus lens for macro photography up to life-size (1x) magnification. Inner focusing affords a long working distance of 5.9in. (149mm) at 1x. A 3-group floating system results in excellent delineation at all focusing distances. Ring USM for silent and high-speed AF, and full-time manual focusing also provided. The optional Tripod Mount Ring (B) B (with adapter) enables the lens to be rotated for vertical or horizontal framing.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
Peter Kotsa
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 1, 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 267
Review Date: Aug 12, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast focus, Sharp even at 2.8, lightweight
Cons:
no collar included

One of the best value macros around.
Certainly sharp as an "L", and focus speed is considerably faster than the 180mm.
I have had the Sigma 150 mm 2.8 and the Canon 50 mm 2.5, and I find that this lens is faster in focussing than both, and better images quality as well.


Aug 12, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Peter Kotsa to your Buddy List  
Sorensiim
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 30, 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 403
Review Date: Aug 11, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast and silent USM autofocus, price, light weight, relatively sturdy, does not rotate or extend during focusing.
Cons:
Front element is RIGHT at the front of the lens, just waiting to get some nasty scratches.

Man this thing is SHARP! Makes my L's (16-35 + 24-70) look soft in comparison. The USM autofocus is fast and actually useable for macro. I have a set of shots taken with it here:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dk_spook/sets/72157606554142963/
Awesome lens.

Only nitpick is that the front element is so "out there", just waiting to get some nasty scratches. Fix: Aftermarket lens hood or good UV filter. Problem solved.

Build quality feels real solid, much better than my 50mm F/1.4, but not up to par with my L's.


Aug 11, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Sorensiim to your Buddy List  
sven rose
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 9, 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 17
Review Date: Jul 21, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: sharpness, IQ for the price, lightweight, very good macro, versatility
Cons:
IS would be fine, why not sold with lens hood?

After many month of use: The lens is perhaps a little sharper than my 70-200 f4L IS, but colors are a little bit more vibrant with the L-Lens.
I couldn't imagine, this lens could be so versatile. Focusing is fast enough for action shoot of insects:

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/photos/335897473_dEDmn-L.jpg

http://svenrose.smugmug.com/photos/335894965_msJDC-L.jpg


Jul 21, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sven rose to your Buddy List  
XAOC
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 29, 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 21, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great price, sharp, colors, IQ,
Cons:
none

Great lens for the price. It's lightweight and it takes very detailed images with great DOF. Finally I can take images with great details of insects and flowers.

http://www.antoski.com/tips.html


Jul 21, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add XAOC to your Buddy List  
K-Lex
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 16, 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 65
Review Date: Jul 16, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Weight, balance, colours, IQ, sharpness, price
Cons:
Not an L

An absolutely fabulous lens. For the price you pay it's more than well worth the investment. Doubles as a macro lens and one of the finest portrait lenses I've ever used. Sharpness is on a par with the more expensive 'L' series, and being honest I cannot see the difference between this and my 70-200 2.8 IS L which cost four times as much.
My only gripe is the fact this isn't an L lens, but then it's got all the qualities of an L without the price tag to match. Cannot fault at all!


Jul 16, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add K-Lex to your Buddy List  
PIXEL_JUNKIE
Offline

Registered: Jul 1, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 94
Review Date: Jul 10, 2008 Recommend? | Price paid: $429.00

 
Pros: Ultra sharp! Very reliable and accurate focus, well built.
Cons:
None!!!

Ultra sharp, well build, accurate, consistent, fantastic colors, fine smooth bokeh, EF, silent, internal focus, fast (have to use the swith on it when not used as macro to make it focus fast on objects that are not close to you), ... I just can't say enough good things about it, it is perfect. I wish all lenses are as good as this one!!

Jul 10, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add PIXEL_JUNKIE to your Buddy List  
PIXEL_JUNKIE
Offline

Registered: Jul 1, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 94
Review Date: Jul 10, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $429.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ultra sharp, killer colors, very very reliable and accurate focus.
Cons:

This is a must have lens for everyone, I think. It is a prime and doesn't have the wide range of the zooms but it is mind blow how sharp it is. Color rendition is beautiful, bokeh is nice and creamy, doubles extremely well as a portrait lens. In fact I've used it for close ups and portrait then macro photography. I just can't say enough about it. Ultra high quality lens.

Jul 10, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add PIXEL_JUNKIE to your Buddy List  
atikarn
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 12, 2008
Location: Thailand
Posts: 9
Review Date: Jul 9, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $375.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great value compare to L, great for both macro & portait.
Cons:
none.

I have 2 L lens the 24-105mm, 100-400L and this 100mm macro. if I went outside with 1 lens then the 24-105L is the one but 80% of the time I use 100 and 100-400L

The 100mm macro never fail me. I had ever think to change it to 65mm to get 5:1 but the 100mm is just produce amazing result, so this is the one. Go ahead and get one.


Jul 9, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add atikarn to your Buddy List  
Joe Hunt
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 21, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Review Date: Jul 5, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great build, tack sharp, decent price for the quality
Cons:
none
Jul 5, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Joe Hunt to your Buddy List  
choiboyogg
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jun 9, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 3944
Review Date: Jun 30, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp! USM, 1:1 macro
Cons:
wish it came with the tripod ring.

of all 9 of my lenses, this is by far my favorite lens.
one day i got tired of using my kenko ext tubes and decided to give this one a try.
i used to have the 50 macro.
the main issues with the 50 was that it was not 1:1 and it was not usm.
100mm is so versatile that it is always on one of my bodies.
when people said that this thing was sharp, they sure werent kidding.
get this lens, i got a great deal on mine as the seller was selling it cheap but knowing what i know now, i would definitely pay the full retail price.


Jun 30, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add choiboyogg to your Buddy List  
mckenzy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 19, 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 5
Review Date: Jun 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, even at f/2.8 ; fast AF (compared to other macros) ; silent
Cons:
although AF is fast, achieving AF in low contrast is difficult.

Bought it 2nd hand. Mint.

Fun to use.

For peace-of-mind i decided on Canon rather than Sigma's 70mm or 105mm. I am not disappointed. Colours mostly come out very nice. With the exception of a shot or two that came out rather bland. I'm not sure why.

I never understood why reviewers used it to focus manually until i started shooting flowers and bugs - unless your subject and you can stay still, AF is hard to achieve. Manual is the way to go but having said that, i must say that manual focus is very smooth and can be done very fast.

This is very good because it forces you to get back to basics and THINK about your composition more carefully than you would have under AF.

http://picasaweb.google.com/sheldon.wee/EF100mmF28USMMacro

Highly recommended


Jun 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mckenzy to your Buddy List  
Maliketh
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Nov 6, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 67
Review Date: May 28, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $434.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp between f/2.8 - f/11, Can be used with tripod collar, although not always necessary. Nice and light. Large focus ring.
Cons:
Not sharp when used above f/11, limiting depth of field options slightly. Tripod collar from Canon very expensive. Doesn't come with hood - must buy that also.

I really love this lens. Out resolves the 1Ds MkIII, so I am pretty happy with that. Even at f/2.8 this lens is really sharp. You can create some amazing images with this lens if your technique is right. It's great to have a 100mm lens with such a close focusing distance, meaning you can really get in close if you want and not be too limited in your compositions.

Depth of field control at anything near 1:1 magnification is amazing, if a little thin. Say goodbye to any background distractions.

I bought a cheap tripod collar from eBay, much cheaper than the official Canon version. This lens is difficult to use with a tripod collar & camera with a vertical/battery grip.

I am really not sure why Canon don't include lens hoods with ALL of their lenses. Lens hoods are important in more ways than one and would cost hardly anything to make. Would make the product look like better value too. That said, some extreme close-ups (such as jewellery and bugs) will actually require removal of the hood so as not to shade/hit the subject. This can sometimes cause a few problems with flares and contrast if you are using strobes. Choose your angles carefully.

My only real gripe is that there is a bit of softening when used at apertures over f/11. Just don't use f/16 and you are ok.



May 28, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Maliketh to your Buddy List  
jcsin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 20, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: True macro, good color rendering, bokeh is great, build quality, not heavy, USM!, and Very Sharp!
Cons:
no IS, but it will be more expensive.

I bought this lens with 17-40 f4L to get the 250 bucks canon rebates, they are my first macro L lens. I was to get the 24-105mm but I figured I could get 2 lens with cheaper price, yes I made a right choice. I thought I would use 17-40mm for my walkaround lens but when i went to the park with my wife in the weekend, boy once we saw the insects and flowers we just switched to the this macro lens, and the results are fantastic! This lens also produce very very good portrait pictures, in my opinion I feel the quality is better than my 50mm f1.8. The autofocus is pretty decent, and I could manual focus it too when it's in auto mode, that's what USM about, I love it!! For portraits, the focal length is little bit long on my 30D, but I can accept this for its superb quality. I love this lens more than my 17-40mmL honestly, more fun!

May 20, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jcsin to your Buddy List  
jkurtz
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 5, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 216
Review Date: Apr 27, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super Sharp!! Nice colors. Good for macro and portrait!
Cons:
AF can hunt. Hefty prime.

Hello all,
I have had my 100mm macro for a bit now and can give a little review of what I have found out. The lens is super sharp!! As far as clarity, this lens definitely battles my 17-40L. The lens a little hefty for a prime but nothing that can't be dealt with. Typically, manual focus is the way to shoot with this lens. AF can hunt a bit. But, the quality is by far worth the hunting. In my opinion, the only thing thats not "L" about this lens is the infamous red ring. The true macro is fun to play with. Excellent for portrait as well, however its a little long on the crop (1.6x) camera. Also, sometimes I wish it was a little faster than 2.8, but what can you do?

Overall, the pros crush the cons. Buy this lens!!

Justin


Apr 27, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jkurtz to your Buddy List  
jfk03
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 20, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 463
Review Date: Apr 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $430.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, excellent build, reasonably priced, doubles as portrait lens
Cons:
AF hunts

Love this lens.

Apr 6, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jfk03 to your Buddy List  
alaina
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 21, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 21, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good and accurate AF. Good resolution. Accurate color. Only prime I had with little problem fits different bodies.
Cons:
f2.8 soft

I would not say it is the best non-L but it is good enough for the money. I started in love with primes after several bad experiences with so called L zoom. But for this f2.8 I did not experience much pain. At 100 mm the background seemed very smooth. I wish it could be f1.8. Of course it would be much heavier. The optical design is classical.

Mar 21, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add alaina to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
208 482783 Jul 6, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $470.83
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.12
9.22
9.6
ef_100_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next