about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
71 190204 Jun 18, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $223.53
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.14
9.57
9.2
ef_50_25c_1_

Specifications:
A superior-performance lens offering excellent optics and focusing from infinity down to one-half life size (0.5x). Its nine-element design features a floating optical system, which ensures top-notch performance even at close focusing distances. Light and compact, it functions beautifully as a general-purpose normal lens. The optional accessory Life Size Converter EF enables focusing down to life size (1:1), and actually increases working distance - very desireable in close-up shooting.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
          
a.rivard
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 13, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 3, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp; versatile close focus; economical.
Cons:
none, except for users who may require the instant gratification of perfect auto-focus.

Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro:

I would recommend it as an economical first choice for a 50mm. I have found it superior to the EF 50mm f1.8 & at f2.5 not much slower. A versatile, reasonably durable lens, to be sure not as rugged as an L.

Colour character is excellent - natural - is a very good description.
Versatile close focus capability.


Sep 3, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add a.rivard to your Buddy List  
Peter Kirk
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 25, 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 309
Review Date: Sep 1, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $220.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely amazing contrast and colour control. The sharpness of this beauty is also superb.
Cons:
Non USM motor, non 1:1, barrel extends.

They say that you get what you pay for, but in this case, you get a lot more than you bargined for....its worth every cent.
Sharp, compact, CHEAP, only in price.


Sep 1, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Peter Kirk to your Buddy List  
Joshua June
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 14, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Aug 28, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $170.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, nuances of focusing, performance in good lighting, Macro capabilities
Cons:
... at $170 I'm not sure I can complain about a very very slightly slower focus.

I actually sold off my MK I 50mm 1.8 after getting this guy. Why? because its zoom is faster, more accurate and clarity is close enough were I cannot tell a difference in sharpness, and I can get closer by far to my subjects and get accurate focusing in lower lighting then the standard 50mm.

Something I should also note: This lens has the finest tuning focus dial on any lens I have ever owned, it practically can be turned 3 full times around just for focusing as opposed to most zooms that only give you 90-270 degrees of rotation. This allows extremely fine tune adjustment of focus subject.

Also, any wash out of color or bokeh, I drop it 1/3 a stop, this gives me those deep colors, IF NEEDED I photo shop my image a little lighter or more saturation, I really prefer this lens over the nifty fifty.

I own an Xti, and am on a mission to try every Canon lens new and discontinued.


Aug 28, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Joshua June to your Buddy List  
Dinkar Singh
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 25, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fantastic colors
Cons:
Slow focussing

Amazing color. Tack sharp images. Some of my best photos have been taken with this lens.

My only gripe with the lens is that focussing can be somewhat slow, and the build quality is so-so. But that's what keeps the price down. If you care primarily about image quality this lens is a real steal.


Aug 25, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Dinkar Singh to your Buddy List  
CS Ong
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 29, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Review Date: Jun 26, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $160.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: tact sharp, cheap
Cons:
noisy AF, slow at low light, color not as saturated as L, but hey this is not an L!

Bought this lens used from ebay for only about $160 with shipping. Used it to shoot my kid, and some general macro (non-life size) shots.
So far the sharpness is comparable to the Carl Zeiss lenses I own, however the color rendition and saturation is a little wash out compared to the CZ lenses and L lenses. Buy hey this is only a $160 lens and the sharpness just blows me away.
Definitely value for money, and a keeper!


Jun 26, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add CS Ong to your Buddy List  
rossmehan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 9, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 25, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $210.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap, decent autofocus, excellent contrast, color, and sharpness at all focus distances
Cons:
None for the money

I had to give my 2-cents on this lens--BUY IT! Really sharp and contrasty. Excellent lens for the money. I bought it to replace my 50 f1.8 as a normal lens (which is a decent lens in itself) because I wanted a little more sharpnness and was not expecting the high image quality I got. Canon sometimes shines with their non-"L" lenses, and this is definitely one of them. Macro works great too. Not the greatest build, but at this price it's disposable if damaged!

Apr 25, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rossmehan to your Buddy List  
Geisterfahrer
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 30, 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 29, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Not expensive; small and lightweight; no need for a hood; excellent sharpness; "natural" color rendition
Cons:
Feels somewhat fragile; no 1:1 magnification; manual focus can be tricky; slow AF

A light, small and unobtrusive lens, even when fully extended, the 50 mm f/2.5 Compact Macro is one of the oldest Canon EF lenses available; the archaic design makes the lens feel somewhat fragile - though not as "plasticky" as the 50 mm f/1.8 II - and features a small manual focus ring that can work fine on, say, the 35 mm f/2, but is difficult to use properly with a macro lens, made for shots where accurate focusing is critical. Should you want to use AF, you will need to be patient, since it is slow and prone to hunting, especially at shorter distances.

However, when you manage to close the lens as much as possible to get your main subject in focus, the results are surely worth your efforts. The ability of the lens to reveal the details, even very small ones, is truly amazing; excellent microcontrast and natural (i.e. not too saturated, but neither "washed") color rendition are the strong points of the lens. Moreover, the optical elements are deeply set inside the lens body, making the use of a hood not necessary.

The 50 mm f/2.5 Compact Macro is a recommendable choice if you do not take a lot of macro shots and/or your main use for such a lens is to shoot flowers, plants, coins, stamps or still-life scenes. Yes, it is not able to give a full 1:1 magnification ratio, but the optical quality, light weight and low cost of the lens can make up for that. Surely it could be used for portraits, architecture and art, but the 50 mm f/1.4 is a better lens for similar needs, due to its richer color rendition and great "boke".


Dec 29, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Geisterfahrer to your Buddy List  
JoaquinQuerol
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 22, 2006
Location: Spain
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 22, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great contrast,colour and very very sharp.
Cons:
Slow and noisy AF.

I think thatīs one of the more ugly lens,whith a little glass but its optical quatity is fantastic. Yes, its AF is noisy and slow but for my usually photo at this focal leng I donīt need fast AF.
I test this lens with the canon 50mm f/1,4 and 24-105 L. Between 24-105 and 50mm f/2,5 this macro lens beat in over apertures at 24-105 L series.
Between 50mm f/1,4 and 50mm f/2,5 in the middle allways is better macro lens, but in the corner 50mmf/1,4 lens is best to f/3,6 equal at f/4 and worst from f/5,6."This test is only valid with a full frame camera".If you had crop camera and don,t need extra aperture this is your lens.
I usually donīt use this lens for macro becouse I had 100mm macro, but if you need more than 1:2 use kenko extend tubes with 50mm f/2,5 you can get very good result.
Itīs one of more sharp lens I had, similar canon 200mm f/2,8L


Dec 22, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add JoaquinQuerol to your Buddy List  
Gaspar Avila
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 6, 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 20, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wonderful image quality, Sharp, Cheap (almost for free), Very light and small
Cons:
Noisy, Poor build quality, Not 1:1

I bought this lens after reading other people's reviews here and, in general, I agree with everything that's been said about it.
It's a great lens for closeups. I bought it mainly for photographing nature closeups and handicraft, and it's been great. I use it on a Canon 5D.


Dec 20, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gaspar Avila to your Buddy List  
William Austin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 30, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp Sharp and light
Cons:
none

Paid Ģ103 for this lens used off ebay, It's a great little lens and is very sharp, focusing speed is good, not used it yet for macro photo's but I got it to replace my 50mm mk1 as I'd heard it was meant to be sharper, which I've found it to be true

Oct 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add William Austin to your Buddy List  
ConorOSullivan
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Sep 6, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Review Date: Sep 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Pretty sharp, great money value. Best macro lens below $300 and maybe even more. Leaves you open with the life size converter option. Pretty good for portraits too. Very small and light.
Cons:
A little short and not true 1:1.

I love this lens, use it for all my macros now. Almost everything in my gallery was shot on it http://cpostudios.com All of the close ups were shot with it. A shot of a spider on a horizantal stem is focused down all the way with now life size converter. No crop on that photo except for the EOS 350D's crop. Good representation of what this lens is capable of in terms of quality, it's up to you to make the image count really.

Sep 16, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ConorOSullivan to your Buddy List  
gliphix
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $289.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: definitely sharp, light and compact, cheap cost and can be a soft portrait lens too, colors wonder
Cons:
yeap noisy, slow focus, you need patiences, not recommended for none full-frame DSLR.

I have never really appreciated this baby until I started using it with my EOS-1Ds. I've used it a lot with the 350D but the photos didn't have the impact and clarity I was expecting with the exception of a few portraits that came out soft and nice. It could be better if the lens was 1:1 macro but its not.

This is my favorite so far with this lens:
http://www.dpcprints.com/print.php?IMAGE_ID=310431

Some examples of the capabilities of this lens:
http://www.dpcprints.com/profile.php?&USER_ID=50935&GALLERY_ID=22

You can also visit my "In The Garden" gallery at PBASE to see what else I use this for at http://www.pbase.com/gliphix/inthegraden&page=all

In short, I like this lens for its sharpness and compact design but overall, it doesn't cost much.


Mar 28, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add gliphix to your Buddy List  
andyjaggy82
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1283
Review Date: Feb 6, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sharp, good colors, cheap.
Cons:
focusing speed.

This was the first lens I bought aside from the el-cheapo kit lens that came with my camera. this lens is sharp, and very usuable even wide open. the build quality is decent, not L quality but a huge step up from the cheap kit lens. focusing is slow and LOUD, it sounds like a grinding machine or something. I don't see the focusing speed as much of an issue though since this is a macro lens and I typically focus manually with macro stuff anyway.

Feb 6, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add andyjaggy82 to your Buddy List  
sky_barker
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Aug 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 526
Review Date: Jan 28, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $230.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, small, cheap.
Cons:
Build quality.

With both film and digital this is one of the best Canon lenses I have used. It's the only non L lens I have but it has a permanent place in my kit. It's an outstanding choice for pet portraits.

Jan 28, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sky_barker to your Buddy List  
Stimphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 10, 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 10, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp. Great contrast and colour. Small and flexible in usage.
Cons:
1:2. Not much other than that really. Oh yea, the bokeh is not quite as smooth as I would like it.

It's very sharp, for certain, but not as sharp as my 85/1.8. Gets even sharper when stopped down to f4, but that's it, you're not going to see any more change even if you stopped it down more and did test charts. Edge to edge sharpness.

Contrast and colour are on par with Ls I have played with as well as the 85/1.8. Very good.

I use this lens mainly for portraits and for abstracts so the 1:2 isn't an issue for me. I suspect it might be very good for flowers though. Focussing is fast enough on my 1dII and catching moments during events are not a problem.

My only complaint is that the bokeh produced by this lens looks a tad choppy and by far isn't the most pleasing.


Jan 10, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Stimphoto to your Buddy List  
peta32387
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Review Date: Dec 28, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

why on earth do some people even compare this to an L? i don't even own this lens, but i like to read reviews. seriously. this thing costs whatever, $230 bucks. of course it's not an L.

Dec 28, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add peta32387 to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 50mm f/2.5 Compact Macro

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
71 190204 Jun 18, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $223.53
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.14
9.57
9.2
ef_50_25c_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next