about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon Extender EF 1.4X III

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 17852 Nov 13, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $441.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.50
9.8
14III

Specifications:
Extending a lenses focal length by a factor of 1.4x, Extender EF 1.4X III incorporates phenomenal optical performance with minimal chromatic aberration and is a perfect complement to many of Canon super telephoto lenses. It features a built-in microcomputer for seamless communication among camera body, lens and extender; features careful lens placement and coatings to minimize ghosting and flare and even has a new Fluorine coating that keeps soiling, smears and fingerprints to a minimum. An integral part of many professional systems, Extender EF 1.4X III maintains high standards not only optically, but also in terms of rugged, dustproof and water resistant construction.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture
Magnification: 1.4x

Lens Construction
7 elements in 3 groups

Max. Diameter x Length, Weight
2.8 x 1.1 in, 7.9 oz. / 72.0 x 27.2mm, 225g

Note: This lens is only compatible with fixed focal length L-series lenses 135mm and over, as well as the EF 70-200/2.8L, EF 70-200/2.8L IS, EF 70-200/4L, and EF 100-400/4.5-5.6L.


 


          
Doug Vann
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 18, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Review Date: Nov 13, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Enlarging long distance photos is the best use. Doesn't take up much bag space. Quality item.
Cons:
A bit pricy.

Bought this unit used for $350 Canadian no tax...... current new price is $489 + tax so about $560 Canadian. I previously had the 2X Extender and was never impressed with the image quality vs just cropping a photo. Sharpness of the 1.4X seems better then the 2X. Using the 1.4X Extender with my Canon 5DsR camera and Canon 70-200f2.8 L IS II lens. What I found was when taking a long distance shot with the Extender was the sharpness was better then just cropping alone. The Extender meant that the image didn't need to be cropped as much and therefore the image was not starting to break down because of over cropping. Even the 5DsR has a limit as to how much cropping you can do before it affects image quality. And since not as much cropping is needed to fill the page with the subject matter - the image file ends up larger and therefore better for prints as well. The Extender works well with the 70-200 and 5DsR combo.....

Nov 13, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Doug Vann to your Buddy List  
miataroy
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 8, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 271
Review Date: Oct 12, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All the good stuff from ver1 but with a little less CA
Cons:
NONE I knew what I was buying and that's what I got

I have not found a problem with it yet! On my 800mm IS this thing is a star and it just gets better as I go down to my 400mm, 300mm and my 70-200mmII... I kept my 1.4 ver1... but I don't know why... this converter is great!

Oct 12, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add miataroy to your Buddy List  
chipotle
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 22, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Review Date: Jul 11, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $474.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 70-200 2.8 II with this converter is still bright, incredibly sharp, and not much heavier ;->
Cons:

Note: gave high price rating because of how much I save by not buying another lens.



Jul 11, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add chipotle to your Buddy List  
Joe C
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 31, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 1, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $499.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: nice built quality, light, can't tell that you have it on, images look great on f4 70-200 And 70-200. 2.8 ii.
Cons:
Price

Nice addition to 70-200 and above L series lens, dust proof is a big plus,
sharp on full and 1.6 sensors. Auto focus is not hurt to much but better on f2.8. nice addition to long lens, a little better than ii series. Always in my bag.


Feb 1, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Joe C to your Buddy List  

   



Canon Extender EF 1.4X III

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 17852 Nov 13, 2015
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $441.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
8.50
9.8
14III