about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 200593 Jan 26, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $6,486.36
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.96
8.84
10.0
ef400mmf_28l_1_

Specifications:
Super telephoto L-series lens with an Image Stabilizer for use in track and field sports as well as low-light nature and wildlife photography. The fluorite element and two UD-glass elements result in high resolution and high contrast. The ring USM and an improved AF drive algorithm make the AF speed the fastest in the world when used with the EOS-1v and EOS-3. This lens has the same AF stop and focus preset features as the EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
          
baharr
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Oct 7, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Review Date: Oct 15, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $7,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the reach,the feel on your hands
Cons:
I hAVE NOTHING NEGATIVE TO SAY about the lens

Great lens, great for soccer with a 1.4 x converter. Just a great all around lens. The weight doesn't bother me.

Oct 15, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add baharr to your Buddy List  
owmyheadhurts
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 3, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 164
Review Date: Oct 12, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $6,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp. Fast.
Cons:
Expensive. Heavy.

This is the sharpest, fastest, best contrast lens I have ever used. I've used all the 2.8L zooms. At one point I had the 300 2.8 IS and 500 4 IS as well as this 400 at the same time and was able to do some comparisons. The 300 and 500 are incredible lenses but in my opinion this 400 is the king. It really is not THAT heavy unless you are going to do more walking than shooting. You'll need a monopod.
I honestly can not tell the difference between the use of the 1.4x and the bare lens. Canon says that all lenses focus slower with the extenders but I have not noticed that with this lens.
I purchased the Wimberly replacement foot( highly recommended) for the 400 which lowers the lens about 2 inches. It's less top hevy and will mount on a Wimberly Sidekick without a spacer. It works fantastic on my Sidekick. Some will say you NEED a full Wimbely Head for this lens. I don't agree.
This is probably the most amazing lens you could buy.....and you'll pay through the nose for it.


Oct 12, 2004
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add owmyheadhurts to your Buddy List  
Unregistered
Offline
Location: United States
Review Date: Apr 12, 2004 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: super sharp, quick focus, outstanding wide open, great length for sports--fills up the frame very nicely.
Cons:
expensive and heavy--have to use monopod or tripod...but so what, image payoff is worth it.

considered the ultimate sports lens for field and pool sports. it has great reach, super fast focus, and creates wonderful images. heavy, but in a way this is a plus as it creates the need to anchor on a monopod and then the weight is actually a plus as it stabilizes naturally. love all the controls on the lens (focus memory, ranges, IS) and use all of them. you won't being sharpening or adding any contrast in photoshop--and turn the camera back to neutral--it is that wonderful. canon's 300 2.8, this lens and the 500 or 600 4's are as good as it gets.

Apr 12, 2004
Edit/Delete Message
WilbertC
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 7, 2003
Location: China
Posts: 19
Review Date: Oct 18, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $6,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast AF even with stacked TCs on 1D.
Cons:
Nothing really except heavy & expensive.

I got this monster only last Nov. and I've never handle such a heavy lens in my life. But once it's mounted on the Wimberley gimbal head/tripod and start shooting, the feelings' great it simply floats. To me, 1D+400/2.8LIS+Wimberleygimbal head+Gitzo 1325 is such a fantastic combo.Try it for yourself.

Oct 18, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add WilbertC to your Buddy List  
John Niesner
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 9, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 454
Review Date: Jul 17, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $6,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, great lens
Cons:
Big and Heavy



Jul 17, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add John Niesner to your Buddy List  
Matahari
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 8, 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 36
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, Contrast, Colorrendition, Bokeh, Autofocus, IS, Build quality
Cons:
Weight, Price

This is no doubt the sharpest lense i have ever had. Images are very sharp and crisp from max aperture. Colorrendition and bokeh is execellent. Autofucus is very very fast even on a slow camera like the D60. The build quality is very good. German Fotomagazin rates this lense as the best they have ever tested (including Zeiss, Leica and the other IS-superteles). German Colorfoto rates it as the best 400mm available. One of the problems with this lense is the very small DOF at close distances. So if i am close to the subject i normally stop down one or two stops. Another problem is the weight. Forget about handholding this lense (IS doesn't help much). You will need a Wimberly head or a Manfrotto 3421. The price is high, but you get what you pay for! I haven't testet it with TC's yet, but i guess performance is similar to the smaller brother 300 2,8 L IS.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Matahari to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 200593 Jan 26, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $6,486.36
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.96
8.84
10.0
ef400mmf_28l_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3