about | support
home
 

Search Used

Zeiss 50mm f/1.4 Planar T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
22 34785 Jul 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $691.90
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.95
8.63
8.9
50mm

Specifications:
The Brilliant Glimpse
This bright and compact standard lens has a precise manual focusing mechanism and large rotation angle for precise control. The Planar T* 1,4/50 is designed for medium and longer distances and provides high-performance wide open, which only improves as the lens is stopped down. The lens construction controls flare and ghosting artifacts, resulting in a brilliant image with excellent contrast and natural color rendition. The Planar T* 1,4/50 is available with the F bayonet (ZF), K bayonet (ZK), EF bayonet (ZE) and M42 (ZS) lens mounts and is designed for use with full-frame SLR and DSLR cameras. Combined with a DSLR with a 1.5 crop factor, the lens becomes a compact, lightweight 75 mm portrait lens.

Focal length 50 mm
Aperture range f/1.4 – f/16 (1/2 steps)
Focusing range 0,45 m – infinity
Number of elements/groups 7/6
Angular field, diag./horiz. 45°/38°
Coverage at close range 24 x 16 cm
Filter thread M 58 x 0.75
Dimensions (with caps) ø 66 mm, length 69 mm
Weight 350 g
Camera mounts F Mount (ZF & ZF.2) EF Mount (ZE) K Mount (ZK) M42 Screw Mount (ZS)


 


Page:  1 · 2 
          
john_edwards
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 30, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1906
Review Date: Apr 8, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $660.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp enough to cut glass.
Cons:
None, now that I've re-learned how to manually focus.

I bought this to be a walk around lens on the 1Ds2. It has taken me a while to get comfortable manually focusing again after years of autofocus but now its become second nature. This lens is probably going to be a gateway drug into Ziessland as there is such a thing as 3D, and this lens has it. It reminds me of when I moved from cheap glass to L glass, and now L glass to Ziess, there is a difference.
John


Apr 8, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add john_edwards to your Buddy List  
Liquidpics
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jun 14, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1107
Review Date: Apr 8, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $725.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, color, contrast and dreamy bokeh
Cons:
AF would be nice when needed

I can't believe it took me this long to actually try this lens. I was so used to or rather spoiled by AF. Realize, that all functions of an AF lens remain with this lens from full control of shutter and aperture control to focus confirmation in the camera. The only thing that the user has to do is manually focus which I find gives me more accurate focusing anyway. It's amazing. It shares the same bokeh as the Canon 50 and 85L's at f/1.2 and actually has better bokeh then the highly praised Canon 35L and just put's the 50L to shame in the focus dept., no more headaches. The vibrant color this lens produces combined with it's dreamy bokeh produces the "3D" images that are highly sought after. I am now as hooked to the Zeiss lenses as I am to Canons' L's.

Apr 8, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Liquidpics to your Buddy List  
prashant
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 9, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 517
Review Date: Apr 5, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $570.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great bookeh, fantastic handling, viewfinder of even a tiny 500D is a joy, craftsmanship
Cons:
expensive
Apr 5, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add prashant to your Buddy List  
RickPerry
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Mar 29, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 599
Review Date: Apr 5, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $660.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wonderful color, clarity, contrast and resolution.
Cons:
A tad soft at 1.4 - but not an issue for me.





This lens rejuvenated my passion for Photography. I switched to digital in the early 2000's and was always disappointed in the results compared to my workhorse film camera for 20 years - a 35mm Contax RTS with Zeiss c/y lenses. Finally - this ZE mounted on a Canon 5D mk II body equaled not only my 35 but gave me images that looked like they came from my Linhoff 6x9 view camera with Schneider lenses. At last the veil had been lifted.

The Zeiss Planar lens was designed by Dr. Paul Rudolph in 1896 based on the double Gauss design (in 1817, C F Gauss). The Planar has been the basis for many lenses - almost all the high-aperture lenses supplied on Japanese cameras are modifications on the Planar. This ZE is the culmination of 150+ years of Zeiss lens design

This lens is compact, this lens is useable at 1.4 and gets wicked sharp by 2.5 - IMHO this lens gives a "painterly" effect that has the potential to turn your photos from mere records into "Works of Art".

The rendition of this lens is spectacular - Contrast, clarity, sharpness, resolution and color are all magnificent. The bokeh is gorgeous. Beautiful glass. Great workmanship. Thank you Zeiss





Apr 5, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add RickPerry to your Buddy List  
charles.K
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Nov 6, 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3704
Review Date: Apr 3, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great low light travel lens. I would compare wide open f1.4 to the 50L wide open. Neither are sharp but what lens is wide open. Once you get to f2 and above it is a lot sharper
Cons:
None

As a light travel lens that is MF, there is no comparison. Only other lens that would compare is the 50L which is much larger. Of course there is the sigma 50 f1.4. Great lens too, but does have AF issues, but has excellent rendition and sharpness.

When you take on a faster lens there a compromises wide open. This lens above f2 is great, but for low light, weight and portability...excellent lens.


Apr 3, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add charles.K to your Buddy List  
philber
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 20, 2008
Location: France
Posts: 7572
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fantastic IQ with one exception, light, compact, affordable (for a Zeiss), build quality
Cons:
Not so great wide open at minimum focusing distance, some focus shift, some CA.

This is the mother of all alt lenses, at least of the current ones. It is by far the least expensive Zeiss, the smallest, the lightest, and its 50mm focal length makes it the ideal walk-about on a FF camera. Its only weakness is up close and wide open, so if one wants to do primarily portraits with blurred background, and paper-thin depth-of-field, it is not such a good idea. There is also some focus shift, if you want to pick its, but not so much as to give me grief, and, in the absolute, there is more CA than ideal.
Come f:2.0, it is wickedly sharp, all the way to infinity. Its rendition of colours, contrast and volumes is world-class, but more as understated elegance than in an in-your-face style. I use it for landscape, cityscape, some portraits, though not close up, and it never fails to give me great results.
Considering its price, unless you need AF, need a zoom, or are primarily into portraits, nobody should be without one IMHO.
Other very competent prime shooters prefer the übersharpness of the Zeiss 50 MP. Except close up, of course, I have to date seen no reason to pay more money and carry more weight for a lens that may be a tad sharper but does not have the supremely elegant rendition of the f:1.4


Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add philber to your Buddy List  

   



Zeiss 50mm f/1.4 Planar T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
22 34785 Jul 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
86% of reviewers $691.90
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.95
8.63
8.9
50mm


Page:  1 · 2