about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
173 335787 Jul 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $1,060.87
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.70
9.11
9.6
ef300mmf_4_1_

Specifications:
Compact L-series telephoto lens with an Image Stabilizer which compensates for camera shake with the equivalent effect of a shutter speed two stops faster. Two Image Stabilizer modes are provided: Stabilizer Mode 1 (the same mode featured on the EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM) and the new Stabilizer Mode 2 which steadies the image during horizontal or vertical panning. Mode 2 detects the panning direction automatically. The closest focusing distance is 4.9 feet (1.5 m).


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
Astrogeek
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 11, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 13
Review Date: Nov 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, light weight, built-in lens hood, fast focus
Cons:
IS is a bit noisy

I sold a Canon EF100-400L for this lens and am absolutely happy I did. Whether alone or coupled with a 1.4xTC this lens blows away the 100-400.

This lens is very lightweight, considering this is an L series. I really like the built-in lens hood and which Canon made this standard on more of their lenses.

The only less-than-perfect comment I can make on this lens is that the IS is noisier than the 100-400 and the 70-200 2.8L. One of my first shots with this lens can be found here:

http://www.pbase.com/pegsam/image/70126286

Sam
Tucson, AZ


Nov 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Astrogeek to your Buddy List  
blacktl2k
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 6, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $875.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, responsive, exhilirating lens. You won't be disappointed.
Cons:
None

My favorite lens.

Nov 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add blacktl2k to your Buddy List  
Ross T.
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 14, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 191
Review Date: Oct 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast...Light weight...Image Stabilized...Very Sharp!!!
Cons:
None

A Wonderful Lens...I've had mine for 9 yrs...Very Happy with it....Very Fast Autofocus....Image Stabilization is Awesome....Very Sharp Lens!!! :^)

Oct 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ross T. to your Buddy List  
Rajan Parrikar
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Sep 9, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1377
Review Date: Oct 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceptional optical performance (resolution, colours, contrast), superb build, integrated lens hood, IS.
Cons:
None.

I needed a lens for compressed landscape photography and narrowed down my selection to three: 300mm f/4 L IS, 400mm f/5.6 L, and the 100-400mm L IS zoom. I am glad that I made the current choice of 300mm. There are legions of glowing reviews of this lens all over the web but true satisfactions obtains when you experience the 'lens goodness' for yourself.

Summary: This is a magnificent lens.


Oct 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Rajan Parrikar to your Buddy List  
Areta
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 19, 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 334
Review Date: Sep 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, nice colors, IS, good value, clever hood, 1.5m focusing
Cons:
Needs step down with 1.4x, no weather sealing

I have the lens for almost a year and only recently learned how great it is. It is very sharp and makes WOW pictures. IS handy, clever, convenient hood design. Excellent for garden party portraits.

I would like this lens to be weather sealed, but otherwise you get plenty of lens for the money.


Sep 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Areta to your Buddy List  
TeeCee
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 13, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 11, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Stunning images, not too heavy, built in hood, great value, sharp & vibrant colours
Cons:
None; apart from I'm hooked on L primes!

This is my second L prime and I am bitten by the L prime bug. The best thing about this lens is it encourages you to be creative. The results are very rewarding.

Sep 11, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add TeeCee to your Buddy List  
Ric Grupe
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 43
Review Date: Jul 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Perfect lens.
Cons:
None

Don't hum, haw and hee around like I did. Just get one.

I bought an extra body just so this lens and the 1.4 TC could stay on it all the time!

Really nothing to talk about.....it's that good.

Here's one of my first shots:

http://rickay.smugmug.com/photos/83736810-L.jpg


Jul 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ric Grupe to your Buddy List  
flawlessly
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 123
Review Date: Jul 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: The best light weight and affortable telephoto "IS" prime, sharp, fast focus, good result with 1.4x TC II
Cons:
Not so good with 2.0x TC II, AF can be slower with TCs

Stack this with 1.4x TC II and you will have a 420mm IS lens, good enough for outdoor big birds like Blue Heron, Egret, and Hawk, sometime an Owl or two.

The "IS" isn't loud at all like other said but it's noticed if you listen carefully.

The built-in lens hood is a plus, no worry about losing it and spend hundreds of dollars to buy one.

The lens is light compare to my 70-200 IS, but the build quality is the same as other superteles.

This is the best "IS" tele and the cheapest tele that you can get.

Oh and the look from others just funny, you won't regret it...


Jul 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add flawlessly to your Buddy List  
Gyroscope
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Mar 26, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1076
Review Date: Jul 8, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build, image quality, built-in hood.
Cons:
None.

A fantastic lens. My favourite lens. SHARP images when used without an extender. With a 1.4x you need to stop down a bit and make sure your shutter speeds are high so as not to degrade quality too much. I use on a monopod mostly but handheld when needed for fast moving birds. Its obviously a little short for birding but I have had some excellent results with close range stuff. IS is great and autofocus is blinding. Close focus range makes for an almost-macro as well. Just get it!!

Jul 8, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Gyroscope to your Buddy List  
JohnJ80
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 11, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5647
Review Date: Jul 7, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, great IS, light, built in hood, very fast USM focus.
Cons:
Slower AF with 1.4x TC

I use this to shoot U12 and U14 soccer on a FF camera. The AF is so fast that it will track a player in motion for quite some time.

When the shot happens it is SHARP.

The only problem with this lens is that when the Canon 1.4x TC II is used, the AF slows way down. If you partially manually focus it, the lens will get it the rest of the way there very quickly. Sharpness and image quality with TC are very good, slightly less sharp than without.

J.


Jul 7, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JohnJ80 to your Buddy List  
juberisk2
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 16, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 406
Review Date: Jun 23, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fabulous image quality, portability, built-in hood, tripod ring, good with a 1.4TC
Cons:
first generation IS (only 2 stop correction and a bit clunky sounding when switched on as others have said)....ultimately no big deal



Jun 23, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add juberisk2 to your Buddy List  
George Chew
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 2, 2005
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 11
Review Date: Jun 18, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very handholder even without IS. Fast focusing and extremely sharp.
Cons:
IS operation noisy. Too used to silent canon usm lenses

Greetings,
Just have this lens for 2 days and enjoying every moment of it, more so than the ever so popular 70-200mm f2.8L. It works extremely well with EF 1.4x TC. Comparing to my the other L prime, 200mm f2.8L, its IQ and operation is on par against it. Since I bought it used, (in mint condition), it worth every single cents I paid. Enjoy...


Jun 18, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add George Chew to your Buddy List  
rthrbfshn
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 21, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 39
Review Date: Jun 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incedible Images, not too heavy, works well with 1.4 TC
Cons:
A bit expensive

I have already captured some incedible shots, only shooting small wild life in northern NJ. Works great with the converter.

Jun 16, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rthrbfshn to your Buddy List  
skintooth4
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 3, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 141
Review Date: Jun 16, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $875.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazed at what this lens can do. I love the IS and I love how sharp this lens is. It's perfect for sports and the macro feature on it is even better. I'm kicking myself for not buying it earlier, I was holding out for the 2.8 but with the way I make money and spend it I was never gonna reach that.
Cons:
the IS makes a knocking sound when activated and when it disengages, plus there's that high pitched noise it makes but, can't find anything other than that that would make this lens bad.

I took this thing out the second UPS dropped it off, and man was I blown away. I could focus soo much faster than the Sigma lenses I was using before. The color, and the shaprness were amazing.

I even tested the "macro" of this lens. And the Bokeh from it is amazing. It isolates the subject very nicely.

Glad I bought one.


Jun 16, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add skintooth4 to your Buddy List  
rtrigg
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 16, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 248
Review Date: May 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, sharp, sharp. The IS works well, and the autofocus is fast and quiet.
Cons:
Wish it was f2.8, but they cost the big bucks.

This is a great, great lens. Even sharper than the terrific 135mm f2. The weight is quite reasonable and the autofocus is about as good as it gets in the Canon world. Be warned that the length is significant so a tall camera bag is in order (or it needs to be stored lengthwise, but I don't like doing this for a variety of reasons).

The price is rather high, but all the good glass is expensive so that just goes with the territory. Hard to imagine anyone would regret buying this lens, just get it.


May 30, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rtrigg to your Buddy List  
HenkvdT
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 19, 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 573
Review Date: May 14, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Imagequality, Lightweight, Sharp, Fast, IS
Cons:
The IS is a bit cloinky, but no issue really.

I bought this lens from a fellow FM-er a month ago and used it extensively since then. My main consideration was image quality combined with portability. This lens delivers in both these departments.

The 300 f4L IS focuses fast and produces sharp and colorful images without compromising portability. It's not that much bigger than the 70-200 2.8 (IS), very handholdable and the retractable hood makes it easy to take it along in the bag.

The 2.8 IS variant is a killer optically and surely will have the edge in focussing speed and AI Servo tracking, but it's mighty big which in my case would result in not-bringing it along on many occasions.

So the bottom line is that if you are looking for a 300 which is portable, produces high quality images, takes reasonably well to the 1.4x, offers the ability of low light shooting and doesnt break the bank, you really cannot go wrong with this one


May 14, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add HenkvdT to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 300mm f/4L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
173 335787 Jul 7, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $1,060.87
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.70
9.11
9.6
ef300mmf_4_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next