about | support
home
 

Search Used

Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 46781 Mar 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $1,579.29
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.97
8.53
9.6
21mm

Specifications:
The new horizon
This legendary super wide angle lens will set new standards in its focal length class. Exceptional color control allows for extraordinary high contrast pictures without any color fringes. Thanks to the Carl Zeiss T * anti reflection coating and its outstanding attenuation of stray light, the Distagon T * 2,8 / 21 provides brilliant results under all lighting conditions. With a close focusing of only 0.22 m (0.72 ft) it is as attractive for landscape photography as for subjects with dramatic perspectives. The Distagon T * 2,8 / 21 with F bayonet (ZF), EF bayonet (ZE) and K bayonet (ZK) is suitable for analog or digital full-frame SLR cameras. The large front fi lter diameter even allows for the use of standard screw-in fi lters when combined with the standard lens shade.

Focal length 21 mm
Aperture range f/2.8 f/22 (1/2 steps)
Focusing range 0.22 m infinity
Number of elements/groups 16/13
Angular field, diag./horiz. 90/81
Coverage at close range 18 x 12 cm
Filter thread M 82 x 0.75
Dimensions (with caps) 87 mm, length 109 mm
Weight 600 g
Camera mounts F Mount (ZF & ZF.2) EF Mount (ZE) K Mount (ZK)


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
snowboarder
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 27, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2536
Review Date: Apr 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,540.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: sharpness, color rendering, amazing and unique "look"
Cons:
nothing

Zeiss 21 ZE was my first Zeiss lens. I waited for the release in Canon mount for years,
refused to buy an used overpriced copy requiring some awkward adapter and metering earlier.
What can I say? I'm not disappointed Smile This is my favorite landscape lens, started my Zeiss disease
which so far caused me more money spent for the amazing Zeiss optics.
It's not that it's sharp - yeah, of course it's sharp, at f2.8 it's sharper than anything else out there
at any aperture. It's the unique look you fall in love with. The color range, micro-contrast, separation.
It's also a joy to use, amazing quality, the focus is so smooth...
Run to buy one, but be careful - it will cost you more money, because there are other Zeiss gems
like 35 ZE or 100MP ZE which you will buy also (I know it, I did and many other guys did as well).


Apr 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add snowboarder to your Buddy List  
philber
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 20, 2008
Location: France
Posts: 7214
Review Date: Apr 2, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: A lens that fully justifies its legendary reputation. It produces an exceptionally high percentage of "Wow!" shots. Great build quality. Very easy to use, turns my 5D MkII into a point-and-shoot.
Cons:
Well-known "mustache" distortion

The Distagon 21 never fails to amaze even its owners, that's how good it is. It has a way of making shots dramatic and spectacular, due to its rendition of colour and contrast and to its almost preternaturally deep DOF. I set it at f:5.6 and can shoot anything from 8' on without even bothering to focus. It is also wickedly sharp right from minimum focusing distance all the way to infinity. All this makes it the undisputed king of landscape lenses.
For architecture, it has a well documented "mustache" distortion that can spook some potential users. I find such damnation overstated, plus it can easily be cured in post with PTLens.
This lens makes it frustrating that a picture cannot be added to a review, because that would be worth more than a thousand words...


Apr 2, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add philber to your Buddy List  
Mike M. Kraus
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Jan 14, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 1288
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness, contrast, color, build, the zeiss ' look ', image quality
Cons:
Possibly the price, but it has increased since I got mine, nothing else that bothers me

You probably have read all the reviews and technical stuff so I'll just make it simple. Right now this is my widest lens and my main interest is landscape. I had the canon 17-40 and really liked that, but this 21 ze is really something else ! I love everything about it and the manual focus is no problem. I have the 21 and 35 and wish I had several more ze's

Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mike M. Kraus to your Buddy List  
kevphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 28, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 99
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,725.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fabulous image quality. Very sharp wide open, great perspective. Great build quality. Easy to manually focus.
Cons:
None if you can afford it.

What a great lens. This will be my go to lens for landscapes. Just incredible.

Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kevphoto to your Buddy List  
nazdravanul
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 170
Review Date: Apr 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Incredible lens and surprisingly versatile.
Cons:
The famous mustache wave . Oh well ... :)

The legend is true ; everything you've heard or read about the sheer amazingness of this lens is totally true Smile .

Apr 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nazdravanul to your Buddy List  




Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
37 46781 Mar 31, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $1,579.29
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.97
8.53
9.6
21mm


Page:  1 · 2 · 3