about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
118 148973 Oct 2, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $2,365.70
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
8.55
9.9
ef70-200lisiiu_586x225

Specifications:
Improving upon one of the most celebrated lenses in the Canon EF line is no easy feat, but Canon has done just that. The all-new EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM increases the speed, performance and optical quality of the EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM while maintaining all of the characteristics that have made it a legend for professionals and advanced amateurs alike. The EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM features one fluorite and five UD elements for increased optical quality and reduced chromatic aberration. It has a minimum focusing distance of 1.2m/3.9 ft. at all zoom settings, which is useful for photographers in smaller spaces trying to get closer to a subject. It features a next-generation Optical Image Stabilizer, providing up to 4 stops of correction at all focal lengths. And as with all L-series lenses, the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM is dust- and moisture-resistant and designed for use in the challenging environments typical of rigorous professional use.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 70-200mm 1:2.8
Lens Construction: 23 elements in 19 groups (1 Fluorite and 5 UD elements)
Diagonal Angle of View: 34 - 12
Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with USM. Full-time manual focus available
Closest Focusing Distance: 1.2m/3.94 ft. (maximum close-up magnification: 0.21x)
Filter Size: 77mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.5 x 7.8 in./88.8 x 199mm; 52.6 oz./1490g
Lens Cap, Lens Hood & Pouch: Lens Hood ET-87


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 
      
henkeggens
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 20, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Just can say that all positive kind of comments can be done are really true.
Cons:
They promissed better button, but, as a sportsphotographer, with permanently using zoom, all the buttons should be taped, like on the old 70-200, It's seems to me easy to put the button a little bit deeper in the frame, and make the switch not as easy as it goes.



Mar 20, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add henkeggens to your Buddy List  
Maggot
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Review Date: Mar 18, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Great IQ, Great IS, Super fast & accurate AF, Excellent wide open.
Cons:
Price...........dear Lord.

Coming from the original version, which like many, I thought was a little lacking at f/2.8 across the whole lens, but especially on the long end........I find this new version to be far superior. I'm not saying the original was bad, not at all.....it's a classic workhorse lens for so many, but as I'm a prime guy first and foremost, with a few zooms for versaltility, I always found the original 70-200 2.8 IS to be lacking at f/2.8 and that always irked me. I can safely say f/2.8 on this new version is simply excellent. So much so, that I'm considering getting rid of my small 200 2.8 II, which the version I of the 70-200 couldn't touch for sharpenss. Then we come to AF. One word......SNAPPY! This thing snaps into focus so fast and accurate that one feels like they just got whiplash. In low light on my 5D2, there's absolutely no hunting. Incredibly confident and competant AF!

Mar 18, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Maggot to your Buddy List  
denoir
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 11, 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4212
Review Date: Mar 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,600.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: IQ, sharpness, speed IS
Cons:
price, size, weight, glare

This lens is an impressive piece of engineering. It's really sharp. Prime lens sharp, wide open and at both focal length ends. At 2.8 and 135 mm it is almost indistinguishable from the 135mm f/2.0L @2.8. The sharpness would be considered excellent for a prime lens but for a zoom it's nothing short of amazing. It's a big improvement over the MkI version of the lens - especially at 200mm.

The IS is very good but it's a less dramatic improvement over the previous version.

The auto focus is the fastest that I've ever seen.

Optical distortions, CA etc are virtually non-existent. It does have problems with glare - it's not a lens you want to point in the general direction of the sun.

The bokeh is very good, but not as good as on the 135mm f/2.0L.

The only significant problems with this lens have nothing to do with the images it produces. It's the price, size and weight that are arguments against buying it.

Price: I paid $3600 (in Sweden) which hurts. At $2500, (which is the US price at the time of writing this review) it's still pricey. $2000 would have been a reasonable price.

Weight & Size: It's big and heavy which makes it in every respect a bit more difficult to use than smaller lenses. You need to find new ways of holding the camera while carrying it and you must adapt your shooting technique - not to mention re-organize your camera bag. I was surprised however that it was easier to handle than I thought - at least walking around and shooting with it for a few hours was no problem. The build quality is excellent bordering on the absurd. The thing is built to survive a nuclear blast. This is not all positive - the focus ring is a bit too stiff for my liking and I'd gladly trade some of that build quality for lighter weight.

The size is primarily problematic because it is an extremely conspicuous lens. The MkII is even larger than the MkI and you can be sure that everyone within a radius of a mile will know you are taking photos. Because of this it's not very useful for street photography. If you think that the 200mm tele will save you, think again. People notice the lens from a very large distance.

Overall if you can handle the price, size and weight then it's a fantastic piece of glass. It is simply put a zoom lens with image quality comparable to high-end prime lenses.

For some real world example shots see:
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1029&message=34781207

And here is a comparison with the 135L and an el cheapo super zoom lens:
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1029&message=34776029


Mar 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add denoir to your Buddy List  
tom guffey
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 17, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 574
Review Date: Mar 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,499.00

Pros: Well built, a little heavierthan the series 1 - and the lens barrel is all the same size. Still takes 77mm filters, (good), and it is a notch sharper than the series 1, which is hard to believe. Linked up with the 7D, its a killer. The Af is extremely fast. The AF, with both the 1.4 and the 2.0 extender's focus faster that the series 1. Very pleased with lens. Hope Canon upgrades the 300 and the 400 next.
Cons:
The only one I had was the price.

The feel is 'beefer', a little heavier and the lens fits the hand better, as the 'tube' is all the same size. The 77mm filter is consistant with the prior, and the lens hood has a different method to snap on and off.

When using this with the 7D, the AF seems to be faster than the series 1. Both of the extenders work very well with the new lens. If theres a flaw, I'm not sure what it might be. Pleased with the purchase!


Mar 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tom guffey to your Buddy List  
Mikeyi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 11, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp sharp sharp....
Cons:
Pricey...

I had picked up the version II today and started doing some testing immediately. After Canon did such an amazing job of the Mark I 70 - 200 2.8 IS L, I did not think it was possible to get any better. I was wrong. Like the last reviewer, I could not believe how sharp this lense is. It also has tripod sensing for the IS and works more effectively with the 1D Mark IV autofocus. Tried it in EXTREMELY dark conditions 1/6th (1600 ISO, 2.8) of a second and was amazed at the autofocus and the sharp image quality. Great contrast. Excellent lense. Although a little pricey, I am VERY happy with it.

Michael.


Mar 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mikeyi to your Buddy List  
Jonesy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2754
Review Date: Mar 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,499.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, Sharp, IS works!!
Cons:
Price

I use to own the 70-200 2.8 IS MKI before this and loved it. Sold it and went all primes for weddings but I missed the 70-200 for portrait sessisons and etc...

Compared the MKI and MKII in the shop before buying and the MKII is sharper and the IS works better. I have done some 100% crops from the MKII at 200mm, 2.8 and they look nice!

Only complaint is the 2499 price tag....I almost wanted to add more money and just get the 300 2.8 but I felt the 70-200 would be more practical for my use.

Nice SHARP fast lens!!!!


Mar 10, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jonesy to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
118 148973 Oct 2, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $2,365.70
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
8.55
9.9
ef70-200lisiiu_586x225


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8