about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
115 145918 Jul 24, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $2,369.73
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
8.63
9.9
ef70-200lisiiu_586x225

Specifications:
Improving upon one of the most celebrated lenses in the Canon EF line is no easy feat, but Canon has done just that. The all-new EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM increases the speed, performance and optical quality of the EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM while maintaining all of the characteristics that have made it a legend for professionals and advanced amateurs alike. The EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM features one fluorite and five UD elements for increased optical quality and reduced chromatic aberration. It has a minimum focusing distance of 1.2m/3.9 ft. at all zoom settings, which is useful for photographers in smaller spaces trying to get closer to a subject. It features a next-generation Optical Image Stabilizer, providing up to 4 stops of correction at all focal lengths. And as with all L-series lenses, the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM is dust- and moisture-resistant and designed for use in the challenging environments typical of rigorous professional use.

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 70-200mm 1:2.8
Lens Construction: 23 elements in 19 groups (1 Fluorite and 5 UD elements)
Diagonal Angle of View: 34 - 12
Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with USM. Full-time manual focus available
Closest Focusing Distance: 1.2m/3.94 ft. (maximum close-up magnification: 0.21x)
Filter Size: 77mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.5 x 7.8 in./88.8 x 199mm; 52.6 oz./1490g
Lens Cap, Lens Hood & Pouch: Lens Hood ET-87


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 
      
tom guffey
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 17, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 574
Review Date: Mar 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,499.00

Pros: Well built, a little heavierthan the series 1 - and the lens barrel is all the same size. Still takes 77mm filters, (good), and it is a notch sharper than the series 1, which is hard to believe. Linked up with the 7D, its a killer. The Af is extremely fast. The AF, with both the 1.4 and the 2.0 extender's focus faster that the series 1. Very pleased with lens. Hope Canon upgrades the 300 and the 400 next.
Cons:
The only one I had was the price.

The feel is 'beefer', a little heavier and the lens fits the hand better, as the 'tube' is all the same size. The 77mm filter is consistant with the prior, and the lens hood has a different method to snap on and off.

When using this with the 7D, the AF seems to be faster than the series 1. Both of the extenders work very well with the new lens. If theres a flaw, I'm not sure what it might be. Pleased with the purchase!


Mar 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tom guffey to your Buddy List  
Mikeyi
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 11, 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp sharp sharp....
Cons:
Pricey...

I had picked up the version II today and started doing some testing immediately. After Canon did such an amazing job of the Mark I 70 - 200 2.8 IS L, I did not think it was possible to get any better. I was wrong. Like the last reviewer, I could not believe how sharp this lense is. It also has tripod sensing for the IS and works more effectively with the 1D Mark IV autofocus. Tried it in EXTREMELY dark conditions 1/6th (1600 ISO, 2.8) of a second and was amazed at the autofocus and the sharp image quality. Great contrast. Excellent lense. Although a little pricey, I am VERY happy with it.

Michael.


Mar 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Mikeyi to your Buddy List  
Jonesy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2744
Review Date: Mar 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,499.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Fast, Sharp, IS works!!
Cons:
Price

I use to own the 70-200 2.8 IS MKI before this and loved it. Sold it and went all primes for weddings but I missed the 70-200 for portrait sessisons and etc...

Compared the MKI and MKII in the shop before buying and the MKII is sharper and the IS works better. I have done some 100% crops from the MKII at 200mm, 2.8 and they look nice!

Only complaint is the 2499 price tag....I almost wanted to add more money and just get the 300 2.8 but I felt the 70-200 would be more practical for my use.

Nice SHARP fast lens!!!!


Mar 10, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Jonesy to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
115 145918 Jul 24, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $2,369.73
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
8.63
9.9
ef70-200lisiiu_586x225


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8