backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
101 170538 Dec 21, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $949.58
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
8.74
9.6
ef10028lmisu_586x225

Specifications:
Canon's newest "L" series lens is its first mid-telephoto macro lens to include Canon's sophisticated Image Stabilization. With the highest quality optics available, combined with near-silent Ultrasonic focusing and life-size close-up capabilities without an adapter, the EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM is simply unrivalled.

This is the first lens on the market to incorporate Canon's new Hybrid Image Stabilization Technology. Hybrid IS effectively compensates for both angular and shift camera shake during close-up shooting. The lens was developed to expand users' photographing range and allow a wider range of users to easily enjoy macro photography.

* Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 100mm 1:2.8
*Lens Construction: 15 elements in 12 groups
*Diagonal Angle of View: 23.4
*Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with USM. *Full-time manual focus available.
*Closest Focusing Distance: 0.99 ft./0.3m (maximum close-up magnification: 1x)
*Filter Size: 67mm
*Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.1 x 4.8 in./77.7 x 123mm, 22.0 oz./625g


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 
      
Mr.Jsph
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 22, 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 23, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 5 

Pros: sealed.
Cons:
Size of filters, no tripod ring, AF doesn't works perfect, IS is not usable with insects in movement, you need a tripod, no buld as others L series lens, cromatic aberrations.



Oct 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Mr.Jsph to your Buddy List  
Deniss
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 22, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,020.00 | Rating: 6 

Pros: L series, weatherproofing.
Cons:
Plastic, no tripod ring, IS not operative in movement situations, Cromatic Aberrations perceptible much as earlier 100mm. Not so excellent as I was expecting



Oct 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Deniss to your Buddy List  
anorphirith
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 13, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1140
Review Date: Oct 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Excellent build quality, Hybrid IS very effective, bokeh is just fantastic, razor sharp, lightweight, very silent focus and IS
Cons:
a little pricey, limited for insects but perfect for flowers, it is not possible to remove the lens cap while the hood is on

My first Macro lens, I always wanted to option to shoot close, and I learned that this lens can be used for many more purposes, portraits indoor/low light shots, the hybrid IS is a BIG difference from the regular IS
the image couldn't be sharper
very good lens, I recommend it to anyone as a 100mm lens AND a s a macro lens


Oct 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add anorphirith to your Buddy List  
jojomon11
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 6, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 7624
Review Date: Oct 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,049.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Light, fast-focus, IS, High quality plastic, Quiet
Cons:
Price, No tripod ring

Good performer, in terms of IQ the very same as the 100 2.8 version. Handhold ability is very good in good lighting. Build quality although mostly a plastic body, the feel and quality is very good. A light weight lens with excellent results. This is a great lens for people who don't use a tripod, although it can be used with a tripod like I use also.

Oct 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jojomon11 to your Buddy List  
B Culbertson
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 6, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Review Date: Oct 21, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,049.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, faster focus than earlier model, Excellent Image Stabilization, f/2.8
Cons:
None

I have used both the second generation Canon 100mm macro (non-IS) and the Canon 180mm macro. This lens is a great performer. The only thing I miss is the reach of the 180 when shooting insects. But the new generation IS significantly helps with handheld macro and makes this a great lens for close portrait. It is clearly sharper than my 70-200 f/2.8 IS and focuses almost as fast (when you use the focus limiter to remove macro focus). It is also quite light (very similar to the 100mm non-IS) but well built. I realize that it is pricey but the ability to use the lens for more than macro sealed the deal for me.

Oct 21, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add B Culbertson to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
101 170538 Dec 21, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $949.58
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.33
8.74
9.6
ef10028lmisu_586x225


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7