about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
116 250266 May 8, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $3,728.32
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
9.17
10.0
ef300mmf_28_1_

Specifications:
Telephoto lens newly equipped with an Image Stabilizer enabling hand-held shooting for easier movement. The fluorite element and two UD-glass elements effectively correct the chromatic aberrations prone to occur with telephoto lenses. With the EOS-1v and EOS-3, the AF speed becomes the world’s fastest. To reduce the overall weight and enhance portability, the lens barrel and many other exterior parts use magnesium-alloy. Also, the detachable tripod collar revolves smoothly and locks securely.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8  next
          
Fizzog
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 1, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1434
Review Date: Feb 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: So sharp! Brilliant lens and only item I've ever bought that's increased in value :)
Cons:
Worry about losing / damaging lenshood - its replacement costs £300 !

I agonised over spending so much money for a lens but have since basked in the pleasure I get from using it. It has transformed the quality of the wildlife shots I now get.

The f2.8 and the seamless attchment of the 1.4x II and 2x II extenders makes this a versatile wildlife lens. I love it.

It has increased in price by £1000 in the 18 months I've had it, which is good news for me but bad for my photo-buddy who had been hoping to replace his 100-400.



Feb 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Fizzog to your Buddy List  
burychka
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 13, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 219
Review Date: Dec 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,340.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: So sharp, it almost makes your eyes bleed...and wide open at that; retains its sharpness with 1.4xII extender and still good with the 2xII extender.
Cons:
Price (unavoidable, I guess) and that ridiculous leather lens "cap"

We've got the 500 F4 IS, so I have experience with big Canon lenses. While the 500 delivers what one expects, the 300 is just plain remarkable. When it arrived, I did some quick test shots in the house. Shot the box from a big toy we bought for a grandson. Step 3 50's diner. Big box with color pictures and text on the side. Took the first shots with the 5D2 on a tripod and using the 2 second timer in lieu of cable release. Shot at 2.8, 4, 5.6, and 8.

When I looked at the first image at 100% in DPP, my reaction was that something is wrong with the lens. Edge of the text and pictures on the box looked to have a fuzzy dot pattern. I looked at the box again, and it looked OK. But then I looked with a light and magnifying glass, and there it was--the same dots and fuzz I saw in the digital image. Yes, the lens saw better than I did, and even so at F2.8. Wide open. Only a little sharper at F4 and F5.6, then a slight deterioration at F8.

I continued the test shots at ISO 100, 200, and 400, and with the Canon 1.4xII and 2xII, also at the alternate ISO's. The only image flaws I found were camera shake with the extenders and resulting slow shutter speeds. The higher ISO took care of that. With the extenders, I found that stopping down one full stop improved the image sharpness, although both extenders produced some CA. Repeating the same tests with a crop camera yielded pretty much the same, although the crop eliminated a lot of the CA.

Christmas day with a big family gathering, I mostly used a normal zoom, but from time to time I switched to the 300 for some random closeup face shots--when I could get far enough from the subject for focus, that is. Again, great sharp eyelashes and eyes. Of course the narrow depth of field at F2.8 left noses and ears out of focus.

Compared to the 500 F4, this is a lightweight. Heavier than the 70-200 F2.8IS, but w-a-a-y sharper. Very nice bokeh, too. Still, it's a lot of money for a hobby, even a shared hobby.


Dec 29, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add burychka to your Buddy List  
terminator
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 273
Review Date: Sep 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Crazy sharp wide open!!! f/2.8! fast auto-focus, distance switch improves auto-focus speed, IS works like a charm, build like a tank
Cons:
2-stop IS, auto-focus can be faster, attract lots of eyeballs especially when the hood is put on

This is one of the dream lens that I'd never thought I would own. But now I own it! Woohoo! Everything good about this beast is true: sharpness, color, IS, speed, focus, build, etc. It is the best sporting lens for your young kid(s).

Given its age, I think Canon should upgrade the lens, and there are several things Canon can improve: use new IS technology to make it effective for 4-5 stops, speed up AF a little bit, and reduce the weight significantly. Of course, all should be done without compromising the image quality.


Sep 30, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add terminator to your Buddy List  
nazdravanul
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 1, 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 170
Review Date: Jul 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing lens. No other words to describe it.
Cons:
I wish it had the new 4 stop IS like my 200 2 IS does :).

I couldn't justify both the 200 2 IS and this amazing lens (simply from a purely economic POV, if I could afford it, I would have definitely kept both Smile ).


Jul 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nazdravanul to your Buddy List  
solomon10
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 21, 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 178
Review Date: Apr 30, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Bokeh, sharp, IS, ability to use converters very well.
Cons:
None, ok maybe price.

I upgraded from the non IS version. The non IS version is very good considering the price you can get them for, but in my opinion the IS version delivers critical sharpness time after time. I do not earn any money from photography at the moment, so it difficult to justify why i should have such a lens. If you are thinking the same, you will not be disappointed, just amazed at the quality. Buy one used and see it as an investment

Apr 30, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add solomon10 to your Buddy List  
sivrajbm
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: Mar 15, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 3289
Review Date: Mar 12, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, Sharp, Excellent IQ, Mad Bokem, Built like a tank, Beautiful Build Quality...WOW worth every dime...
Cons:
Doesn't come with CP and a nice storage place in hard case or nice soft case, picky huh :-)

Ok, first of all got this beauty for a GREAT price. (Still had that new lens smell Smile) Totally unmarked with all the parts, UT date code. I've shot and played with it for a month before I gave this review. This lens is the BOMB, it's fast to focus and EXTREMELY sharp. I can see why everyone raves about this lens. I shot some HS Football with a non-is version and knew I had to have my own. Almost bought a Sigma 300, then a non-is, then I found this one on here. This is my first Great White and it's excellent it also takes the 1.4tc extremely well. I bought a nice Domke J-612 and Canon CP for it. I'm planning to get a 2x II before LLBB season gets started. All I can say is WOW it's worth every dime...

Mar 12, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sivrajbm to your Buddy List  
dolina
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 4, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 3674
Review Date: Feb 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image quality is superb, fast 2.8 opening
Cons:
Old (circa 1999), 2-stop IS, heavy, hood is tough to mount & dismount as compared to the 800L IS, AF motor is louder than the 800L IS, Almost gets as much attention as the 800L IS which is a good/bad thing depending on who gives the attention

I will benchmark the 300/2.8L IS to a lens marketed back in 2008, the 800L IS.

Both deliver excellent photo quality. Both weigh a bit but the 800L IS had better balance on a non-1 Series body. The 300 only has 2-stop IS not bad but could be nice to have 4-stops like the current 200/2L IS and 800L IS.

Hood's tougher to mount than the 800L IS. AF motor is louder too. It gets almost as much attention as the 800L IS in public. The attention could be good or bad depending on who is looking.

But at the end of the day... it delivers what it was designed for focusing spectacular images to the sensor.


Feb 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dolina to your Buddy List  
cdryall
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 19, 2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 4, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: IQ, speed of focusing, IS, colour, absolute lack of CA, how well it takes a 1.4X TC and even a 2X acceptable - as good as it gets for me..
Cons:
Not cheap, can't remain inconspicious, maybe a black version would be an option?

IQ, IQ, IQ, finest lens I have ever had the pleasure to own. Wanted one for a long time but could not bring myself to part with the money. Can now really understand why pro's who make their living from such lenses turn to such...

May not be as versatile as a zoom and the price may be too much for many, but then again why do people (who shouldn't) buy a Ferrari or even a Bentley for that matter...

One of those items that brings the aaahh factor long after the price is forgotten.......


Feb 4, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add cdryall to your Buddy List  
Chris B.
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Oct 7, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1223
Review Date: Dec 3, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredible sharpness, super fast AF, incredible build
Cons:
not a thing!

This has been on my "grail" list for a really long time and I recently had the opportunity to buy a "like new" (2007 date code) one for a very good price. It was perhaps the best photographic purchase I've ever made!

Incredibly stunning sharpness and detail!! Super fast focus!

Handles both the Canon 1.4x and 2x converters with ease. With the 1.4x, there's just no image degradation or loss of AF speed....nothing, nada! With the 2x, I have experienced a very small loss of image quality at wide open but as soon as you go down a stop, it comes back. With the 2x, there is also an AF slowdown but still very impressive.

On a xxD body, it's just incredible for birds!

This lens is a gem!!


Dec 3, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Chris B. to your Buddy List  
Tobers
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 23, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 39
Review Date: Nov 22, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Stunning image quality, sharpness, build quality
Cons:
Bit heavy

This review is for the NON-IS version.

Bought 2nd hand with a 1998 date code, so this is a 10-year-old lens. After a bit of tweaking of focus micro-adjustment to -12, this lens is stunning. Jaw droppingly good images that are sharp and crisp with great colour & contrast straight out of the camera. Focus is extremely fast. Way better in all respects than the Sigma 120-300 2.8.

Downsides - it's a bit heavy (I understand the IS version is 0.5kg lighter), and I'd like a longer tripod foot so I can use it as a handle to carry the thing.

However, if you want image quality, this is the daddy.


Nov 22, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Tobers to your Buddy List  
SR777
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 9, 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 368
Review Date: Nov 8, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb sharpness, colour, AF...everything about this lens is top notch
Cons:
Nothing

Superb colour, super sharp, no CA whatsoever, fast AF (can't imagine it being faster). What a lens!

The weight is perfect, balances very well on a 1D2. Very easy to hand hold. IS works very well.

The lens takes both 1.4x and 2x Canon teleconverters very well. The sharpness and colour are maintained with the 1.4x. Stopping down a third of a stop with the 2x results in increased sharpness from the very usable images when used wide open.

Can't see what can be improved with this lens. Little wonder this lens is regarded as amongst the very best ever made.


Nov 8, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add SR777 to your Buddy List  
skibum5
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 20, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 16600
Review Date: Oct 13, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharpness, contrast, focusing speed and accuracy, low-light performance, as good as it gets at wide open, no CA, no PF under any circumstance, handles the 1.4x TC very well
Cons:
bulk, cost

the AF is as good as it gets and no lens i've used has been more flawless at wide open, simply zero CA, zero PF even under the worst circumstances, no purple/green to OOF areas

the bulk does make it more unweidly than the 300 f/4 so it's a tad tougher to stop tracking a player on the dime with it and it's so wide it also makes tracking a touch trickier, but it is still worth it, gives you less DOF, better focusing and image quality and lets you shoot indoors and night games.

noticeably better focusing and image quality than the sigma 120-300 (also lets in a little bit more light wide open and is a real 300mm as opposed to say 280mm or so)

frightfully expensive, but the other camera makers are even more frightful for this lens.


Oct 13, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add skibum5 to your Buddy List  
scalesusa
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 2, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 2411
Review Date: Oct 6, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros:
Cons:

It looks like it is going on sale for $150.00 off come later this month. The "Instant Rebate is already active in Canada"

Oct 6, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add scalesusa to your Buddy List  
Breitling65
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 31, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5233
Review Date: Sep 21, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, AF speed, amazing colors/contrast as most L's. Not as heavy to handhold.
Cons:
Hood is not up to this lens level, connecting is pain everytime.

I looked on this lens for more than year, debating size and price. As result prise rose about $300 Smile. So I decided no more waiting!
Previously I own 300/F4 IS (didin’t impressed me much) and also now still have 400/5.6 primes. But this lens man.... Smile It is stunning!!! It is easy for me to handheld however I got new Gitzo tripod and Arca-Swiss head for it as well. I am using lens on 1D mk III and this is unbeatable combination for sports or wild life. Excellent with extenders (1.4 or 2), weather sealed!!!


Sep 21, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Breitling65 to your Buddy List  
Romain Nowakow
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Oct 3, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 107
Review Date: Sep 20, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Reach, Sharpness, Overall IQ, AF
Cons:
Price of course

What can I say??? I've had it for a couple of weeks now and have field tested it in various venues and, in all, performance is outstanding. AF is fast, even under low-light, 2.8 conditions. I would recommend this lens to anyone who had the wallet to get one.

Sep 20, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Romain Nowakow to your Buddy List  
Muzz
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 20, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 104
Review Date: Sep 1, 2008 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beleive all the hype - sell a kidney heck sell two kidneys if you must this lens is that good.
Cons:
Attaching the ET-120 Hood can be a nightmare and makes you look silly because you cant attach a hood to a big lens :)

Being lucky enough to live in "Great Britain" I had the pleasure of buying this lens for the princely sum of approx $5,000 USD.

However in a nutshell it does not matter if it cost $6,000 USD (Some shops charge that here in the U.K for this lens) it is still amazing and worth every penny.

First impressions of this lens are simply amazing - built like a tank - a tad heavy but perfectly hand holdable for a period of time.

I like the way when you have a Canon white super tele people take note. It can get you into some nice situations - people part like the red sea to give you extra room at events.

It is nice to be asked to take a picture of the local talent Wink

If you only buy one lens - Buy a Canon 300mm 2.8 I.S

Anyone want to buy a kidney? My bank manager has the over one Sad


Sep 1, 2008
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Muzz to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
116 250266 May 8, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $3,728.32
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
9.17
10.0
ef300mmf_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8  next