about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
116 249152 May 8, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $3,728.32
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
9.17
10.0
ef300mmf_28_1_

Specifications:
Telephoto lens newly equipped with an Image Stabilizer enabling hand-held shooting for easier movement. The fluorite element and two UD-glass elements effectively correct the chromatic aberrations prone to occur with telephoto lenses. With the EOS-1v and EOS-3, the AF speed becomes the world’s fastest. To reduce the overall weight and enhance portability, the lens barrel and many other exterior parts use magnesium-alloy. Also, the detachable tripod collar revolves smoothly and locks securely.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8  next
          
Copypaste
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 22, 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 416
Review Date: May 8, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Stunningly sharp lens, creamy bokeh and great AF speed.
Cons:
The switches on the side are easy to accidentially move. I taped over the buttons/switches, just to avoid it.

It is by far my favorite lens. It is so sharp, I have no second thought about cropping 50%. The wheight is not too bad. I can work all day with this lens, handheld. Build quality and AF speed is amazing. No complaints whatsoever. I really do not have a single negative thing to say about this lens. (Well, except for the side-switches thing, but some gaffers tape fixes that.)

May 8, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Copypaste to your Buddy List  
mrcolin2u
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 30, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1132
Review Date: Mar 23, 2013 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Very sharp, works well with TC's
Cons:
Mar 23, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mrcolin2u to your Buddy List  
Rob Holloway
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 28, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing sharp images, focus lightning fast, perfect wide open and with TC1.4
Cons:
Attracts too much attention

I'd been using the 300/4L and loved that lens. Made the fatal mistake of borrowing the 300/2.8L IS

I used it extensively to shoot my son at baseball and then offered to shoot for the team. Mistake! people were amazed at the shots and wanted more, more, more.

The bokeh is even better at 420mm f4 with the TC1.4

Of course there are two downers. price and weight. But you really do get what you pay for. Sensational.


Oct 28, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Rob Holloway to your Buddy List  
mrcolin2u
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 30, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1132
Review Date: Oct 24, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well built, very sharp images, fast focusing
Cons:
None for me.

I've had this lens for over a year it has fast accurate focus and the results are tack sharp.
I don't envision ever selling this lens.
I use this for birds with a 1.4 TC. I haven't tried a 2xTC but a friend of mine does and has good results.

Here are some samples
http://mrcolin2u.zenfolio.com/p421212136/e2423413c
http://mrcolin2u.zenfolio.com/p421212136/e3b2a898
http://mrcolin2u.zenfolio.com/p421212136/e36f5a417


Oct 24, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mrcolin2u to your Buddy List  
GARY5D
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 15, 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 5
Review Date: Dec 23, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image qualiity is the best i have ever seen,Super fast focus with my 1d mk3 Just love this lens !!! super sharp!!! super sharp!!!
Cons:
Heavy,Weight, Must use monopod to get best results

This is the lens i never thought i would own

I can use this lens at 2.8 all day sharpness is spot on

Recent trip to Japan in October 2011 picked up this secondhand one in perfect condition

Having read the reviews over ths last couple of years i now what this lens like
Portrait shooting is the best because you have a good distance from the subject get a more natural expressions
Bokeh is is excellent , I have 50mm 1.2 & 70-200 2.8IS it is on par wit these lens

using 1.4x focus is just as fast

using 2.0x you do notice slow down in focus but still very usable

build quality is solid as a rock

You need the IS if you want to hand hold it

If you get the chance to buy one do it!!!!!


Dec 23, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add GARY5D to your Buddy List  
dolina
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 4, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 3628
Review Date: Nov 22, 2011 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Image quality is superb, fast 2.8 opening. Cheaper than the Version 2. A suitable alternative to the 400/2.8 IS if coupled with a APS-C body like the 7D and 7D Mark II.
Cons:
Since has been replaced by the Version 2 on September 2011, which is ok cause the Version 1's cheaper.

I will benchmark the 300/2.8L IS to a lens marketed back in 2008, the 200/2.0 IS & 800mm IS.

All three deliver excellent photo quality. Both weigh a bit but the 200/2.0 IS & 800mm IS has better balance on a non-1 Series body. The 300 only has 2-stop IS not bad but could be nice to have 4-stops like the current Version 2, 200/2.0 IS & 800mm IS.

Hood's tougher to mount than the 200/2.0 IS & 800mm IS. AF motor is slightly louder too. It gets almost as much attention as the 800mm IS in public. The attention could be good or bad depending on who is looking.

But at the end of the day... it delivers what it was designed for focusing spectacular images to the sensor.

This is a tried and true lens since it started selling in 1999!

If you want to see lens samples on full frame, APS-H and APS-C bodies go to http://www.flickr.com/photos/alabang/tags/canonef300mmf28lisusm


Nov 22, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dolina to your Buddy List  
onelouderimage
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 29, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 29, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $5,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything...
Cons:
Nothing...

The Canon EF 300mm f/2.8 L IS USM is an absolutely phenomenal lens. It produces absolutely awesome image quality. Results at f/2.8 are very sharp from the center right into the full frame corners. Color and contrast are superb. Maybe one of the highest image quality Canon EF lens. Super fast and very accurate focusing are only one of the many positive aspects. The quality with the 1.4 extender III is truly excellent, almost as good as the lens by itself. With build quality typical of a Canon L Series Lens and is designed to withstand the rigors of professional use. The lens comes with a hard plastic case and this is not really useable in real life situations.

Jul 29, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add onelouderimage to your Buddy List  
eric_m
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 496
Review Date: Mar 19, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $3,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: extremely sharp, extremely fast AF
Cons:



Mar 19, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add eric_m to your Buddy List  
AutoMotoMedia
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 11, 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 11, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast Focus
Cons:
HEAVY! (non-IS)

This is for the Non IS version.

A couple of years ago I picked up a non IS 300 2.8l. I love this l ens a lot. I rented one some years back, so I knew I could get by without IS. The person I bought it from worked for a newspaper, so this thing has been used a lot, but is in good condition. Focuse s fast, really sharp, and fun to shoot with. It is one heavy son of a gun!

Here's some pics:

http://automotomedia.net/showthread.php/83-Canon-300mm-2.8l-(Non-IS)


Mar 11, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add AutoMotoMedia to your Buddy List  
texdr
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Oct 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Review Date: Jan 5, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,340.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Perfect for my interests in photography which consists of butterflies and backyard birds
Cons:
The price

I love this lens. It help kick me out of the photography doldrums shooing with the 100-400. With this lens, and added teleconconverters, there is just no comparison. I evaluated the 500 f4 and for my needs the 300 was much more practical and I would say sharper than than the 500. This lens is now my workhorse lens with my 100-400 to be retired. Another great capability for is the ability to take pictures in low light. Rarely are the butterflies I shoot in some wide open field with bright light; rather they are on a plant with much darker background behind them. I highly recommend this lens

Jan 5, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add texdr to your Buddy List  
NDP_2010
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 7, 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 723
Review Date: Dec 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $4,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast AF, excellent IQ, IS
Cons:
weight, does not have 4 stop IS

Super fast AF, only slowed slightly by introducing a 1.4x.
IQ is excellent at f/2.8, have not seen CA's even under very harsh conditions.
IS is a plus, although the old generation IS, if you are careful, you can shoot 1/50s without too much problem.
Build is solid as a rock.

size weight and price are all expected for a high quality tele lens.
IS: although a pro also, it would be nice to have 4 stop IS

Upgraded from the 100-400 canon lens. Although the images from this lens are also excellent, the 300 2.8 is noticably sharper, and the background blurr is very smoothe and pleasing.
The price is quite large, but the lens is worth the $$


Dec 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add NDP_2010 to your Buddy List  
fotojeroen
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 2, 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 181
Review Date: Oct 7, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp, fast, not to big, not to heavy
Cons:
Lens hood construction. Tripod collar

I use it for sports. I think the 400 f/2.8 is overkill. That's to heavy and to much for field action.
What can I say, it costs a lot of money, but it's worth every penny


Oct 7, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add fotojeroen to your Buddy List  
webman06
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 21, 2004
Location: France
Posts: 50
Review Date: Jul 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: As good as it gets!!! The image quality is superb. The bokeh is awesome, the focus is extremly fast, the built quality is here. A must have for all sport/wildlife photographer.
Cons:
none

THE lens, one of the best if not THE best in the Canon lineup.
It can be coupled with teleconverter x1.4 or x2 with great results. The focus is extremly fast on a 1 serie camera.
The quality of the hood is great and the weight is not much of a problem as the balance is very good.
The image quality is superb at all apertures.
Very Highly Recommanded !!!!
It's really worth it's cost and is a great step up the 300mm f/4 L IS that i was using previously.
I'm all smiles considering this lens. :-)


Jul 27, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add webman06 to your Buddy List  
felipin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 1, 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 41
Review Date: Jun 16, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast aperture, fast and accurate AF, sharpness (no matter which aperture), color, contrast, bokeh..., IS (although I barely use it)
Cons:
Yes, it's bulky and it's expensive, but you can't really expect such a lens to be cheap and lightweight...

This is my workhorse for sports. It always amaze me. Perhaps one of the very best lenses of all the Canon line-up, i.e., one of the best lenses in the world...

Jun 16, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add felipin to your Buddy List  
777adri
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 6, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: will use it only at 2.8 and it is the best
Cons:
weight ? is there any alternative ?

The problem is you like to trow away all you former photo's. I bought the lens because the "normal" photo's you can make with a G11 nowadays. 300mm2.8 is hard work bud the results are the pictures are special in every respect of photographing like kinds of sports. Portraits are fine because you can take distance. In my opinion if you are to close the subject will act and the photo's become useless. I will only use this lens and when i am to old to carry i hire a caddy.

Jun 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add 777adri to your Buddy List  
BrentM
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 19, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Feb 22, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp and high quality
Cons:
Heavy

This review is for NON-IS. I picked this lens up over the summer and have used it a lot since. Here's some shots I took yesterday:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/automotomedia/sets/72157623491786898/


And for the auto race guys, you can take a look at this set...most are with this lens. If you can live without IS, you can have a great lens at a super price. It's heavy, but it's awesome!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/automotomedia/sets/72157622430386838/

For those who like triathalon, nearly all of these are with the 300 2.8 Non-IS as well.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/automotomedia/sets/72157622295838631/


Feb 22, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BrentM to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
116 249152 May 8, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $3,728.32
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.93
9.17
10.0
ef300mmf_28_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8  next