about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EOS 7D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
76 105966 Jun 26, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $1,614.34
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.57
8.67
9.1
canon_eos_7_d

Specifications:
With a host of brand new features designed to enhance every facet of the photographic process, from still images to video, the new EOS 7D represents a whole new class of camera.

Made to be the tool of choice for serious photographers and semi-professionals, the EOS 7D features an all-new 18.0 Megapixel APS-C size CMOS sensor and Dual DIGIC 4 Image Processors, capturing tremendous images at up to ISO 12800 and speeds of up to 8 fps. The EOS 7D has a new all cross-type 19-point AF system with improved AI Servo II AF subject tracking and user-selectable AF area selection modes for sharp focus no matter the situation. The EOS 7D's Intelligent Viewfinder, an entirely newly-designed technology, provides 100% coverage and displays user-selected AF modes as well as a spot metering circle and on demand grid lines. New iFCL Metering with 63-zone dual-layer metering system uses both focus and color information to provide accurate exposure even in difficult lighting. The EOS 7D also captures Full HD video at 30p (29.97 fps), 24p (23.976 fps) and 25p with an array of manual controls, including manual exposure during movie shooting and ISO speed selection. The EOS 7D features a magnesium alloy body that is dust- and weather-resistant and shutter durability of up to 150,000 cycles. Compatible with over 60 EF and EF-S lenses as well as with EOS System accessories, the creative opportunities - not just with stills but also with video - are beyond amazement.

* 18.0 Megapixel CMOS Sensor and Dual DIGIC 4 Image Processors for high image quality and speed.

* ISO 100-6400 (expandable to 12,800) for shooting from bright to dim light.

* 8.0 fps continuous shooting up to 126 Large/JPEGs with UDMA CF card and 15 RAW.

* Advanced movie mode with manual exposure control and selectable frame rates: 1920 x 1080 (Full HD): 30p (29.97) / 24p (23.976) / 25p, 1280 x 720 (HD): 60p (59.94) / 50p, 640 x 480 (SD): 60p (59.94) / 50p.

* Intelligent Viewfinder with 100% field of view, wide viewing angle of 29.4°, high magnification of 1.0, intelligent viewfinder with glass pentaprism and an overlaid LCD display in viewfinder supports various shooting styles.

* New 19-point, all cross-type AF system equipped with dual diagonal cross-type sensors in center at f/2.8 and f/5.6 and AF area selection modes to match various shooting situations.

* iFCL Metering with 63 zone dual-layer metering sensor that utilizes AF and color information for optimizing exposure and image quality.

* Magnesium body with shutter durability up to 150,000 cycles and exclusive dust and weather resistance.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 
          
kkroeker
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 3, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 117
Review Date: Oct 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 8fps, viewfinder, battery life, controls off camera flash
Cons:
none at all

Beautiful camera. I love the build quality, I have BIG hands so this camera feels great. I don't even need to rush out and buy a grip. One of my fav features is the ability to control off camera flash... a huge bonus for me. The 100% viewfinder is fantastic, it's big & bright. The 8fps/second is incredibly fast and if your not careful you'll fill your CF card in no time. ISO performance is very good. I haven't done a lot of high ISO shooting but from what I have done it's impressive. The camera is very customizable with a host of new features. One of the cool features is the electronic level. The liveview is great for composing your shots when using the B&W ND110 filter (10 stops). I am not one to shoot a lot of video... that is until I bought this camera. The HD video is amazing. The quality is soooo very good. I find myself shooting video whenever I can.

Overall this camera is a dream to use. I would recommend it to anyone.


Oct 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kkroeker to your Buddy List  
siberslug
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Oct 28, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, AF, Weather Sealing, digital Level, 100% viewfinder, ISO performance, IQ, 720P @ 60fps, 1080P @24 and 30fps, Build Quality,
Cons:
NONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

INSANE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Better high ISO performance than my Buddy's Nikon D300s, the 7D crushes it !!
My buddy though maybe something was wrong with his camera, so I did a google search and found this review

http://www.photographybay.com/2009/10/27/canon-7d-vs-nikon-d300s-iso-test/

Same results that we got, The 7D just beats the D300s

High ISO performance is on par with the old full frame 5D, WOW!!!!

I'm in love with this camera and my Sigma 24-70mm IF EX DG HSM


Oct 28, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add siberslug to your Buddy List  
Vettesight
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 8, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 93
Review Date: Oct 26, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 8fps, High ISO better than the 40D, Weather Sealing, Leveling Assist, AF
Cons:
None so far

My wife and I have been using this camera for about 4 weeks and plan it to be a replacement for my wife's 40D. The AF is excellent and the 8 fps is super. IQ is excellent if you get the exposure right. Don't under expose as noise will show. I have found the noise is well controlled in well exposed images. DPP does a good job in this regard, but I usually turn down the luminance noise a bit to regain s bit of detail. I can't wait until ACR is no longer beta for the 7D.

The 18MP gives great detail. However, I had an early tendency to think I could crop more than is realistic. Trying to get a bird that occupies 20% of the frame to print at 8 1/2 X 11 is just not realistic. After all, this is only 3.6 MP!

So, just remember the camera is not a miracle worker. Use reasonable photographic technique and you will soon find this is the best non pro level Canon ever.


Oct 26, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Vettesight to your Buddy List  
Kim Willer
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 28, 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is everything the 50D should have been... Solid, weather sealed, fast, superb autofocus, 100% viewfinder, better ISO performance, ect. ect. If you don't like walking around with a big heavy 1D, then pickup this "mini 1D" I think that Canon this time has made a camera spot on :-)
Cons:
None.. I simply don't understand how its possible to rate this camera with a 5 ?

Based on 4 weeks use. 7D demands use of the best lenses if you want to get the full potential out off the camera, so don't save your money there !

Oct 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kim Willer to your Buddy List  
Marc C
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 25, 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 12
Review Date: Oct 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The extra features are welcome. You can get creative at a higher level. I did a few shots in rain without harming the camera.
Cons:
I'm still looking to find one. But so far none.

Quote from Billdev:

I was looking for an upgrade for my 40D with better AF and more cropability for nature shooting, and the 7D has proved to be the perfect camera for my needs. Everything about it is better than the xxD cameras I have used, and it truly represents a new category from Canon. The AF system is far more sophisticated than xxD and xxxD cameras, and it seems some folks are having difficulty mastering it. I have found it does an excellent job once you learn how to properly use it. Love it more each time I use it.

End of quote.

I do agree with this one. The focus has a lot of features to get them set-up. But ones you have dealed with this it is a great set-up for sport and fast action shots.

The building quality is very good. I used it with a 70-200 F/4 IS in rain without being afraid of harming the body

The quality at high iso is a major step forward at 18 Mpixel when comparing to a 40D. But it is only noticable in DPP.
LR 2.5 is working with a beta-profile so I could not tell more about this. The only thing that is important is that you have more detail in LR when shot at 1600 iso. The noise reduction in DPP makes the picture more softer.


Oct 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Marc C to your Buddy List  
Billdev
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 5, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 41
Review Date: Oct 24, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic Camera - Great Build, AF, AWB, Metering & Image Quality- Outstanding value for Nature & Action photographers
Cons:
None so far

I was looking for an upgrade for my 40D with better AF and more cropability for nature shooting, and the 7D has proved to be the perfect camera for my needs. Everything about it is better than the xxD cameras I have used, and it truly represents a new category from Canon. The AF system is far more sophisticated than xxD and xxxD cameras, and it seems some folks are having difficulty mastering it. I have found it does an excellent job once you learn how to properly use it. Love it more each time I use it.

Oct 24, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Billdev to your Buddy List  
Jeff Kingston
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 2, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 75
Review Date: Oct 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A wonderful upgrade. Better than 50D in every way. Disregard the silly 5 score show from someone else. This is a great camera
Cons:
None

Canon did a terrific job here. Remember this camera fills a crop camera niche. So forget carping that it is not FF. That's not the place this one is meant to play. I own a 5DMkII for FF and wanted the crop sensor for more reach on those occasions that need it and wanted to greater DOF for certain types of macro photography.

But in every way I can think of, this is a great step forward compared to the 50D and 40D. High ISO noise performance is much better than those two. It seems on a par with my old 5D Mk I. Resolution is terrific. AF performance is much improved--very snappy. Built in flash control something I've wanted for a long time. Movie capability. The list goes on and on.

This camera is a full 10 on all scores.


Oct 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Jeff Kingston to your Buddy List  
Christobel
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 26, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Review Date: Oct 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Robust, AF system, IQ, AWB, Metering, mRaw, ISO 3200
Cons:
None so far

Initially, the 19-point AF system really threw me until I went to Canon’s on-line digital learning center where they walk you, step-by-step, through the AF system. My images have never been this sharp.

Since I shoot with both the 5D Mark II and the 50D, I can’t help but compare the 7D to these two cameras. The 7D is very robust with great ergonomics. It just feels right in your hands. Auto focus is amazing. I did extensive tests with all my zooms and primes against the 5DII and 50D. The 7D nailed every shot, not so with the other 2 cameras. While the 5DII has the edge in overall IQ, especially in the dynamic range and color depth right out of the camera, the 7D holds its own very well; and with a little bit of post-processing can be brought up to the same level as the 5DII, in my humble opinion.

The AWB is vastly improved to the point that, in most instances, it doesn’t need any adjustment at all. Shooting in mRaw (10 mp) is impressive and much improved over the other 2 cameras sRaw‘s. Comparing mRaw to full resolution shots, I could not tell a difference until cropping a very small portion out of the frame and looking at them side-by-side.

Noise is very well controlled, much more so than the 50D, and you can easily shoot at ISO 3200.

I highly recommend this camera for its versatility, AF system, accurate auto white balance, and excellent image quality.


Oct 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Christobel to your Buddy List  
EOS20
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 6, 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 13601
Review Date: Oct 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good build quality, great viewfinder, very customisable! Wireless flash controller.
Cons:
Not really a big fan of the new On/Off switch position.

The 7D would have to be the best Canon body I've owned so far!

Everything on the 7D is a nice improvement over a XXD series camera, the viewfinder is a huge improvement over the XXD series, the build quality also feels better, the autofocus layout and performance is allot better then the 9 point AF system and the addition of the wireless flash controller is a very welcome addition!

Picture quality is good, really nice colours, and the out of camera picture quality is really good! ISO performance is good for a crop sensored camera, and does a much better job then the 50D.

The video quality is good too, and the manual controls are great and makes working with video much better then having the camera control everything.

I'm not really a big fan of the new position of the on/off switch because now you need two hands to turn on the camera, which could result in missing critical shots if the camera is switched off (You could just leave the camera on and let the camera go into sleep mode I guess) it's only a minor thing, but I would have liked to see Canon position the on/off switch around the shutter button just like Nikon does.

Overall, the 7D is a great camera and makes a good upgrade for anyone looking for something better then a XXD series without moving right up to a 1 series.

You can read my more in depth EOS 7D review here:

http://www.redbubble.com/people/eos20/journal/3973240-my-canon-eos-7d-mini-review



Oct 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add EOS20 to your Buddy List  
jrobichaud
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Feb 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 344
Review Date: Oct 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,685.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: speed, size, IQ and easy video
Cons:
none so far

I should premis by saying that I primarily shoot 1D series cameras. I was anxious to try canon's newest af system and was not dissapointed. I shot a NCAA game with her in place of my IIN. She performed very well.

All that said, the 7D will not replace my IIN or mark III, but it's a great $1700 camera!


Oct 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jrobichaud to your Buddy List  
RichM-NH
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 25, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Oct 22, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,699.00

 
Pros: solid feel, great features
Cons:
IQ problems

I sold my 40d to purchase the 7d, and so far I'm very disappointed. I think I may have purchased a defective product, as I have been unable to get the IQ I was expecting, or anywhere near as good as my old 40d. I'm sending it back to Canon and we'll see what happens.

I do like the feel, features, etc. If I can get the problem fixed, I'm confident I'll love the camera. But I hate the fact that you can't count on getting "perfect" right out of the box from Canon. Anyone else having this problem.

For what it is worth, I've tried different focus and NR settings to no avail. I'm using good glass (24-105 and 70-200 2.8 IS), which worked fine w/ my 40d. I downloaded the firmware update, no improvements.

Rich

P.S. If you have had the same issues please let me know about your experiences.


Oct 22, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add RichM-NH to your Buddy List  
Alek Komarnits
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 3, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 703
Review Date: Oct 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast AF, lots of pixels, 8 fps, big viewfinder, video, solid feel
Cons:
Nothing major - add HSS master control to on-board flash, ultra-high speed movie mode with smaller image size - i.e. why not 640x360x240fps?

This is going to sound like a Canon fanboy review, but the 7D is a pretty darn good camera

I've owned an XTi, 40D, and 50D. I've taken some semi-decent pictures with them (example: Antarctica cruise) but the 7D certainly seems to be a step up even compared to the semi-recent 50D. I ordered one a few hours after it went on sale, so got mine pretty early and have had it for several weeks now and fired off several thousand frames.

The increase from the 50D's 15MP to 18MP doesn't seem like much, but it's like another zoom level in Photoshop. Noise levels on a per-pixel basis seem slightly less (see high ISO 7D vs. 50D) so on a per-image basis, it's a definite improvement and the banding is much better controlled. Sure, noise is there, but more finer grain and less objectionable.

While 8fps may not seem like much more than 6.5, it again is a noticeable difference and appreciated ... but man, can you end up with a ton of images fast! And while a minor aesthetic thing, the shutter sound is more pleasing.

My 46 year old eyes appreciate the bigger viewfinder and I like the transmissive LCD which only highlights the autofocus points that need to be highlighted.

I have only shot a few dozens videos but this opens up a new ballgame as the HD quality is amazing. Nice to have this ability and mix of image size/speed such as 1920x1080x30 and 1280x720x60 ... Canon should have a firmware upgrade for ultra-high-speed - i.e. 640x360x240!

Autofocus seems quicker and more accurate ... but an FYI that the focus system is much more complicated and worth a good read of the manual and lots of hands-on familiarity.

Ability to use the on-board flash as a master controller has been a long time coming ... Canon should add HSS ability via firmware. Better yet, ditch the whole optical communication and go RF!

Bummer having to get new batteries (it uses LP-E6's rather than the 40/50D BP-511A's) but the percent charge showing is helpful. The electronic level is a gee-whiz features, but I actually have used it a number of times.

Yep, it's a good camera and glad to see that Canon didn't majorly cripple it somehow in order not to hurt 1-Series sales.

Enough rambling for now as I should go out and shoot some pictures! ;-)


Oct 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Alek Komarnits to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EOS 7D

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
76 105966 Jun 26, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
88% of reviewers $1,614.34
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.57
8.67
9.1
canon_eos_7_d


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5