about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
39 67645 May 15, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $2,088.47
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.89
8.73
9.9
24tse

Specifications:
A superb refinement to a true Canon classic, the new TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II offers enhanced functionality and image quality in its most popular tilt-shift focal length. Designed with UD glass to minimize and compensate for chromatic aberrations and a specially coated aspherical element for the highest possible glare-free image quality, this tilt-shift lens features an angle of view of 84 on a full-frame camera.

New TS rotation lets users freely combine tilting and shifting within the range of /- 90 in the direction of movement. The Tilt function has an enhanced range of movement of up to /- 8.5, a revolving construction for both portrait and landscape shooting modes, locking, ergonomically-designed and easily operated tilt and shift knobs, uses a circular aperture for beautiful out-of-focus areas, and is constructed using only lead-free glass and has an SWC lens coating that controls ghosting and flare to a far greater degree than earlier coating technologies

Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 24mm 1:3.5
Minimum Aperture: f/22
Lens Construction: 16 elements in 11 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 84 (without tilt or shift)
Image circle diameter: 67.2mm
Focus Adjustment: Manual focus, rear focusing system (no floating system)
Closest Focusing Distance: 0.69 ft./0.21m (maximum close-up magnification: 0.34x)
Aperture Control: EMD with 8 blade iris diaphragm, circular aperture
Filter Size: 82mm
Max. Diameter x Length, Weight: 3.5 x 4.2 in./88.5 x 106.9mm, 27.5 oz./780g
Lens Cap, Lens Hood & Pouch


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
      
tom guffey
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 17, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 574
Review Date: Sep 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Solid, well built, excellent optics, better working range than the earlier T/S lens.
Cons:
None

This lens represents what we've come to expect from the quality leader in the industry......keep up the good work Canon.

Sep 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tom guffey to your Buddy List  
SKumar25
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 17, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1882
Review Date: Sep 23, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Lack of CA, sharpness, colours, contrast, build quality, allows for filters.
Cons:
MF, little bulky.

This is an exceptional lens. The edge to edge IQ on FF is astonishing. It is very sharp wide open, one can achieve critically sharp corners by stopping down a stop or two. The lens is sharp across the frame.

It renders landscapes very well, with a great balance of colour and contrast.

The focus confirm is very reliable and allows me to use this MF lens as a general purpose lens, taking photos of family, objects etc.

Very well done Canon!

Not sure how anyone could rate this a 8/10, yet write that it is an excellent lens!?!


Sep 23, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add SKumar25 to your Buddy List  
felipin
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 1, 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 41
Review Date: Sep 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharpness, overall image quality, lack of CA, extended shifting capabilities, build quality, design (it's nice!), independent shift/tilt
Cons:
None. Well, it is not exactly cheap...

After using the 24 TS-E I, which is still a good lens, the Mark II will amaze you. Kudos for Canon engineering!

As others have said, this may be, with ease, the best wide angle lens ever built by any brand for 35mm photography...


Sep 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add felipin to your Buddy List  
ben egbert
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 31, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 6163
Review Date: Aug 15, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,199.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Image quality, lack of distortion and vignetting
Cons:
bit hard to get used to the controls, requires new filter., Need to learn to manual focus without focus confirm when in tilit or shift mode.

Very sharp corner to corner. Great build quality. Compared to my 17-40, it is much sharper, especially in the corners and edges, and has no noticeable distortion or vignetting (above f5.6) or CA. These were my main reasons to get this lens. I use this on a 1DS-mk3.

Going to take some time to learn how to focus this when tilt or shift is required because focus confirmation is inaccurate when shifted or tilted. Also going to take some time to memorize all the movements. I rotated for side to side tilt and it took a while to get everything back for up down tilt and up down shift.

After taking a few ultra deep dof shots using tilt, I suspect I will not need it often on a 24 used mostly for landscapes. Stopping down to f8 or f11 provided very deep dof without tilt. But the shift function means no more pointing the camera up or down for composition, or getting on these old hands and knees to get the shot.

I strongly considered the 24 f1.4mk2 but I wanted to get some experience with a tilt shift lens with the thought of adding a 17 and 90 in the future.

Personal difficulties aside, this is fantastic lens, highly recommended.


Aug 15, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ben egbert to your Buddy List  
JWilsonphoto
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 16, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 15946
Review Date: Aug 13, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,399.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Build quality and features
Cons:
None, except the entry fee.

I have shot thousands of images with my two series I 24 TS lenses. While the I is a great lens, the series II is in a league all it's own. The build quality and the thought that went into it's features are obvious the minute you take it out of the box.

Sharpness and contrast exceed the level I was expecting. This lens is worth every penny of it's considerable price.


Aug 13, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add JWilsonphoto to your Buddy List  
Henning
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 9, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 29
Review Date: Aug 5, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros: Much improved image quality over the MkI version. Very useable on 21mp FF cameras. Improved handling over MkI as well.
Cons:
Size, weight. Far corners could still stand improvement.

I've used or owned most shift lenses made over the last 40 years, and still have 5. The best one for 35mm was the old 35TS for the FD mount. I had bought the 24TS-E with the expectation that it at least wouldn't embarrass itself in comparison. Unfortunately, it did. I used it on film when nothing but a 24 shifted would do, but usually I preferred using a 28PC Nikkor and later a 28 Schneider SA on Canon EOS to the 24TS-E.

When Nikon came out with their new 24TS and their 14-24 zoom, I seriously thought about getting back into Nikon. Fortunately, I hung in there and now have the 24TS-E MKII. It is everything I had hoped for with the first one, and then some. Image quality is generally excellent, with extremely low levels of CA, and when stopped down has at least decent image quality right into the corners. The very far corners when shifted are usually not quite as important in any case, so I'm not concerned. For the most part this lens can make reasonable use of the 21mp FF cameras, although the sensors could handle a bit more resolution than this lens can provide.

The new mount is very good. Handling is still a little clumsy, but it has been much improved with the tilt lock and the easily adjustable axes.

In any case, here finally is an excellent wide angle lens from Canon. No need to look to Nikon. My 17 should be here shortly, and I can get rid of some of the old manual focus third party lenses. My faith in Canon has improved.


Aug 5, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Henning to your Buddy List  
davidrwilliams
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Nov 15, 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 443
Review Date: Aug 1, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Stunningly good IQ - superb contrast, sharpness, CA and flare resistance and very high flexibility with large shift movements, tilt, and the ability to change tilt and shift axes on the fly.
Cons:
Price and the related cost of 82mm filters.

This is simply an amazing lens, with the best IQ of any lens I've ever shot with - Canon L's, Hasselblad/Zeiss SWC/M, Medium Format, whatever - it's just superb.

As shown in a number of the initial images posted on FM and the tests on the-digital-picture.com, this lens has very high IQ from f/3.5 and down, with virtually no CA, high contrast and extremely high resolution. Even the bokeh in out-of-focus areas is great.

Build quality is top notch - not as much metal as the old 24/45/90mm TS-E's, but very solid, tight and well assembled with no slop in the controls and secure tilt and shift locks. The lens also now includes a switch to completely lock the tilt control of the lens prevent the lens from accidentally tilting when not desired and ruining a shot by messing with your focal plane.

If you don't need the extra width of the 17mm TS-E this lens is highly recommended for architectural and landscape use as well as for creative depth-of-field control in wide-angle shots.


Aug 1, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add davidrwilliams to your Buddy List  




Canon TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
39 67645 May 15, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
97% of reviewers $2,088.47
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.89
8.73
9.9
24tse


Page:  1 · 2 · 3