about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
389 528747 Sep 25, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,295.68
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_

Specifications:
The Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM is designed to meet the needs of a wide range of advanced amateurs and professionals. A ten element optical formula with two UD-glass elements serves to correct residual aberrations, resulting in superb sharpness and high image quality. It is also able to obtain superior background blur with the f/2 wide aperture. The EF 135mm f/2L USM is fully compatible for AF with Extenders 1.4x and 2x. A stellar portrait and available light lens.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-32
Minimum Focus Distance 3'
Magnification 1:5.3
Zoom/Focus Control Not applicable
Angle of View 18 Degrees
Groups/Elements 8/10
Tripod Collar No
Length 4.4"
Maximum Diameter 3.3"
Weight 1.64 lb


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
tom s
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2007
Location: Croatia
Posts: 158
Review Date: Sep 29, 2009 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: f/2, nice bokeh wide open, focuses down to 0.9m, great colors, pretty compact, nice sharpness at f/5.6, good sharpness wide open in good light, fast focusing in good light, ok price for an L lens
Cons:
focusing ring very loose, prone to blooming and purple fringing, focusing can be tricky at f/2, focus hunts in low light, occasional soft focus in low light, auto-focusing (and sharpness) in low light depend heavily on battery life/status, don't even bother with 1.4x extender (it's very soft and ''dreamy'' wide open) unless you want/like a soft-focus-effect, not very versatile, no IS, bulky hood



Sep 29, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tom s to your Buddy List  
Cesar
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 18, 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp very good color and contrast
Cons:
no

Boa construção e permite imagens excelentes.
Recomendo sem duvida uma boa opção para fotografar em ambientes de pouca luz


Sep 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Cesar to your Buddy List  
jamato8
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2185
Review Date: Aug 30, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: This lens is the only one I own that reminds me of my Leica lenses. I would not be without this one. It is great even for close-up with tubes and rivals my 180L or 60mm. Beautiful color and contrast round out this top performed that also doesn't kill you on the price.
Cons:
None.

My review is in my positive notes on this lens.

Aug 30, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jamato8 to your Buddy List  
GeneO
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 10, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 9098
Review Date: Aug 19, 2009 Recommend? | Price paid: $925.00

 
Pros: Perfect. In color, contrast, sharpness wide-open and bokeh.
Cons:
None

Can't say much more than this lens does not disappoint in any way. Lots of bang for the buck. One of Canons bargains.

Aug 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add GeneO to your Buddy List  
noggin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Review Date: Aug 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast autofocus, perfect bokeh, compact size, indiscrete color
Cons:
none

Best value in L lens. The bokeh is amazing due to the near perfect focal length for head-shoulders portraits and f2 apeture. I'm using it on a 5D and can't say enough about how "dead-on" the autofocus is. It never seems to miss.

Aug 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add noggin to your Buddy List  
archiegonzalez
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 20, 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3
Review Date: Aug 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent build quality. Sharp images even at f/2. Fast AF. Smooth and creamy bokeh!
Cons:
None so far.

If you're into portraiture, I suggest that you get this as your first L prime lens. Works wonders on a full frame body. The images just pop right in front of you. Your photos will have a 3D feel to it. This is my most used L prime, I also have the 85 f/1.2 and the 24 f/1.4. For the price, this is hard to beat. I decided to purchase this based on the reviews here and it lived up to all of the hype. This is truly a legendary piece of glass.

Aug 16, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add archiegonzalez to your Buddy List  
sunpole
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 3, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 315
Review Date: Jul 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, little copy variation, black, AF dead accurate
Cons:
None

For $1000, you can't buy any better lens than this guy here. Great value, instantly fall in love with the picture this lens can render. I have never seen any bokeh like this and the sharpness of the image. Just simply amazing, beats all my other L.

Jul 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add sunpole to your Buddy List  
mkuzmick
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 17, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 17, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: bokeh, f/2 sharpness, color
Cons:
tough to find right now

My only regret is that it took me so long to get this thing. Fabulous for portraits, as everyone knows--and absolutely wonderful for video on the 5D2. The interview footage I get with this combo is SO gorgeous---I get lost in a daze looking at it when I should be editing! I was on the verge of getting the 70-200 f/2.8 instead, but so far I have zero regrets for going in this direction.

Jul 17, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mkuzmick to your Buddy List  
MiLa-Foto
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 14, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 14, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Bokeh, tack sharp from beginning
Cons:
price.


Bought this lens shortly after I got my 5DMK2 and uses it mostly for portrait shots on my old 5D during weddings in low light Church.

Now after about 6 months of using I am still looking forward to every new photo taken with this lens. It's always amazing.

[German] Fast zeitgleich mit Anschaffung der 5D MK2 kam auch diese Linse ins Haus. Seitdem wird sie vorwiegend an meiner alten 5D bei Hochzeiten in schummrigen Kirchen und Standesämtern für stimmungsvolle Portraits ohne Blitz genutzt.

Ich freue mich jedesmal auf die Auswertung des Tageswerkes bei dieser Linse, immer scharf mit tollem Bokeh und super Freistellung.

Unbedingt empfehlenswert!



Jul 14, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add MiLa-Foto to your Buddy List  
Sea Dragon Rex
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 31
Review Date: Jul 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $845.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open, excellent build quality, beautiful bokeh
Cons:

This lens has fantastic IQ. The focal point is razor sharp wide open and bokeh is amazing. The focus is fast, silent and accurate. This lens isn't the cheapest but it is well worth the extra money.

Jul 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Sea Dragon Rex to your Buddy List  
stuey5bellies
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 6, 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Review Date: Jun 25, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is a beautiful lens that produces rich images. Mine is sharp as a tack down to f/2 and I love the creamy bokeh it produces. Awesome for events when you want to catch some candid moments. I also found it good for portraits. It's discrete, unlike Canons bright white telephotos, and light.
Cons:
None - price maybe but for the quality of the images its just about worth it...



Jun 25, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add stuey5bellies to your Buddy List  
lsr792000
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 13, 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 18
Review Date: Jun 20, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp across entire range of aperture even at f2! Beautiful creamy bokeh with lightning fast AF comparable with my 300mm f2.8. Takes 1.4x TC and 2x TC better than most lens (you need to stop down at least 2/3 stops though). Light and versatile. Highly recommended!
Cons:
None.



Jun 20, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add lsr792000 to your Buddy List  
Enche Tjin
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 14, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 16, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, contrast, excellent built quality
Cons:
lack of IS

The images from this lens are very sharp, contrasty and show a lot of details even in wide open at f/2. The depth of field is very shallow at f/2. As a result, the background will be compressed.

Because of that features, Canon 135mm is ideal for portrait, especially candid portrait, street photography and indoor sports.

Build quality is very good, the best Canon can made. The lens is not as big and heavy as telephoto zoom.

But unfortunately, this lens does not have Image Stabilization built-in. Image stabilization in telephoto is quite important so you can shoot with shutter speed lower than the focal length X crop multiplier. For example, when you attach this lens into crop sensor camera such as Canon Rebel series or 0XD series, then you need to set a shutter speed to at least 1/200 or greater to get a tack sharp result. It is also depend on how steady your hand is. If you have steady hand, then 1/160 will be adequate.

This lens have a decent closing focus (1m) this is better than most of the telephoto zoom range. You can also get a extension tube to get the focusing even closer (.6m with 2x extension tube). Therefore, this lens will be quite good for macro photography.

Read full review with sample photos and video tour at my blog www.radiantlite.com thanks!


Jun 16, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Enche Tjin to your Buddy List  
artful
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 24, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 18
Review Date: Jun 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing low-light, fast-action lens. My favorite lens in the bag.
Cons:
None

This is my go-to lens for indoor, low-light, fast-action shots. Whether its dance recitals, cheerleading competitions, basketball, volleyball, or gymnastics, this lens never fails me. While I enjoy the versatility of the 70-200 2.8/IS, it sometimes is just not enough lens (even at high ISOs) to stop fast-action. The 135 is perfect in those situations. Beautiful bokeh, accurate auto-focusing, and super sharp wide-open, this lens on my 30D has produced thousands of gorgeous, eye-popping pics. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Jun 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add artful to your Buddy List  
OntheRez
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 16, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 2632
Review Date: Jun 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast!! Superb clarity.
Cons:
None

Beautiful Bokah. Light, easy to maneuver. Simply one of the finest lenses made by anyone. Anyone complaining about lack of IS just doesn't "get it"! Reasonably priced.

Jun 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add OntheRez to your Buddy List  
TeeJay
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 8, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 667
Review Date: May 19, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $935.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautiful Bokeh, Lighting fast AF, F2 is sharp, very affordable.
Cons:
no Image Stabilization

Picked this baby up after reading countless reviews that it's Canon's sharpest lens and has some killer bokeh, oh, and it's under $1000! Worth every penny and I plan on using it all summer for outdoor portraits. F2 is sharp and probably my favorite aperture.

If you're converting your zooms to primes like I am, the 135L needs to be in your bag.


May 19, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add TeeJay to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
389 528747 Sep 25, 2013
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,295.68
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.79
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next