about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
391 537381 Aug 4, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,290.06
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.80
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_

Specifications:
The Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM is designed to meet the needs of a wide range of advanced amateurs and professionals. A ten element optical formula with two UD-glass elements serves to correct residual aberrations, resulting in superb sharpness and high image quality. It is also able to obtain superior background blur with the f/2 wide aperture. The EF 135mm f/2L USM is fully compatible for AF with Extenders 1.4x and 2x. A stellar portrait and available light lens.

Filter Size 72mm
f/Stop Range 2.0-32
Minimum Focus Distance 3'
Magnification 1:5.3
Zoom/Focus Control Not applicable
Angle of View 18 Degrees
Groups/Elements 8/10
Tripod Collar No
Length 4.4"
Maximum Diameter 3.3"
Weight 1.64 lb


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
sgtbueno
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 30, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 461
Review Date: Nov 25, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price!! Image quality, bokeh
Cons:
None

This is an amazing lens, I just can't believe that is so inexpensive.

Dont worry about non IS, this lens is great, my keeper rate with this lens on my 5dm11 is above 95%, and thats amazing with any lens on the mkii.

It is sharp and prodice an amazing bokeh,you will not find anything to hate about this lens, along with the 35L, is all you need for any wedding or event.


Nov 25, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add sgtbueno to your Buddy List  
Rob Holloway
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 28, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 28, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,050.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Color rendition Contrast Speed of focus Bokeh Balance
Cons:
None

The first L lens I purchased. Every time I looked through shots from a weekend these just shined. The lens yields great blacks and my keep rate is very high.

135mm might seem like a focal length you won't use. On a FF body it's awesome for portraits without being in the subjects face.

Bokeh is wonderful!

Another important point for me is that the lens is not white and obtrusive.

I have about 13 lenses and this is always in my bag.


Oct 28, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Rob Holloway to your Buddy List  
James Markus
Online
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 19, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 4411
Review Date: Sep 21, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, well built, superb optics, and bokeh to die for.
Cons:
none

As you can tell by the average user rating (9.9) here on FM that this is an exceptional lens. This is one of the finest lenses I have ever used, and I have used many, many lenses with many formats & manufacturers. Chromatic aberration is extremely well controlled. I have not experienced ghosting or lens flare at all...coma distortion is non-existent. A truly magic lens! Get it!

Sample:
http://www.fredmiranda.com/hosting-data//500/76816SomeMorePlease_135mm_Sample-Web.jpg


Sep 21, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add James Markus to your Buddy List  
n210s
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: May 6, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 229
Review Date: Aug 4, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast, lightweight and super nice bokeh.
Cons:
only if we can get IS for the same price

This is the third time I own this lens and will stay full time on my 1dmkII/5dc this time. Very sharp, very fast focus, light weight(compare to 70-200II) and great bokeh and did I say very sharp at f2

Aug 4, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add n210s to your Buddy List  
Ulan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 133
Review Date: Jun 13, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, fast AF, nice OOF blur, well built, crispy colors. A jewel.
Cons:
No IS.

An outstanding lens.

Jun 13, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ulan to your Buddy List  
polizonte
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Review Date: May 22, 2012 Recommend? | Price paid: $800.00

 
Pros: Fast focus, high contrast, brilliant colors, no distortion, great resolution.
Cons:
None

Years ago I used this lens on my former 40D and was amazed how different my images were compared to my 17-40mm L. This year, while on vacation in Medellín, Colombia, I used another EF 135mm f2 mounted on a 5Dmkii and I was amazed. Colombia. Wildlife shots, landscape, portraits - a perfect lens on full frame DSLR.

May 22, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add polizonte to your Buddy List  
wendra21
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 12, 2011
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 14, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SHARPPPPPP!!! amazing bokeh, light, tough..
Cons:
i think 72mm

i just bought this lens... and i can't stop to say WOW, OMG.. love this lens.. BOkeh, sharpness, speed AF, weather sealing.. everything is almost perfect...

May 14, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add wendra21 to your Buddy List  
nswelton
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 16, 2006
Location: N/A
Posts: 246
Review Date: Apr 11, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: unbelievably sharp, inexpensive for what you get, light
Cons:
none

best canon prime made and it can be had for a song on the used market. a bread and butter lens for wedding photography - once i invested in this lens i never again brought the heavy 70-200 2.8 to a wedding job again. 135 is long enough to shoot ceremonies with but also light enough to carry in a belt bag all day long.

Apr 11, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nswelton to your Buddy List  
Kevin Sherman
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 11, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1045
Review Date: Jan 19, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp sharp sharp, incredible bokeh, great value
Cons:
135mm can be a little long if you don't have a varied collection

Fast, light and sharp as heck. I love using this lens to cover the beam routines in gymnastics. the f2 vs f2.8 lets you drop a whole ISO stop cleaner, makes a HUGE difference in the quality of your pictures. The bokeh on a FF lens is so wonderful, it should be illegal.

Only caveat is that 135mm is pretty long, especially if you aren't using it on a full-frame body.


Jan 19, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kevin Sherman to your Buddy List  
taemo
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: May 22, 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 346
Review Date: Nov 14, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp at f2, amazing bokeh
Cons:
price

amazing lens, rented one over the weekend and instantly was in love, so much that I'm buying one now.

focal length is great, use it extensively for street and concerts.
incredibly sharp at f2

wish it was cheaper but wow is it worth it.


Nov 14, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add taemo to your Buddy List  
ZachBonnell
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 11, 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Nov 11, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great shots at F2, very solidly built, black instead of those white 70-200Ls, super cool bokeh.
Cons:
I've yet to find anything negative.

I've had this lens for a little over a year now. I've read reviews that say that the focal length is a little unfitting for an APS-C crop sensor, but I've been using this exclusively on my Canon 350d and the focal length is great for what I've been using it for. I've used it for landscape shots, city shots, portraits, and events. The images are nice and sharp all the way to F2, it's great for low light, and the build quality is nice and solid. Also, the fact that the lens is black instead of the other high end L white lenses is a positive to me. I can't think of anything negative to write about this one.

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6197/6118770868_39621cc543.jpg

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5103/5591644074_763660f3d9.jpg

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5284/5332851119_99fbf963bc.jpg

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6160/6185774445_b40ba1719e.jpg

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6151/6185774519_d43f4e008c.jpg


Nov 11, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ZachBonnell to your Buddy List  
Tredders
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 4, 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 530
Review Date: Aug 4, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, fast to focus, quiet, lightweight, relatively small when on a 1 series body.
Cons:
Nothing I've found yet

Very good build quality, and pretty light on my 1D mk III. Razor sharp images, even wide open.

I bought this with the intention of using it 99% of the time to shoot hockey, along with the 200 f/1.8 on my other 1 series, but it's actually pretty much a permanent fixture on the camera away from the rink, too. Beautiful portrait lens. Lovely creamy backgrounds. Lightening fast focusing. I got it for a good price (for the UK!), so what's not to like?


Aug 4, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Tredders to your Buddy List  
garydolson
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 28, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 125
Review Date: Aug 2, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: OH-MY-GOD sharp
Cons:
What?

I bought my 135L "used" a few days ago for $900 and did a n outside portrait session today with new mom, new dad, and new-born. 100% auto focus. Results:

$900 investment turned $1200 40D into $10,000 medium format camera. It's THAT good!


Aug 2, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add garydolson to your Buddy List  
antuni
Online
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Dec 5, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 139
Review Date: Jul 3, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp at wide open! Fast focus
Cons:
none

This is one of the best lens I have used.

Jul 3, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add antuni to your Buddy List  
Ghost
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 22, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2042
Review Date: Jun 15, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Relatively light weight, Fast AF, awesome bokeh, F2.0!, contrasty, sharp even wide open.
Cons:
Hood is rather big, can be tight on a crop body,

Need a good portrait lens. I have both a crop and a FF. On the crop, I can have a good reach of 216mm @f2.0! It makes for a great indoor sports lens. Toss in a tele-converter will only slow it down to 2.8 which is still fast.
On the FF, this lens totally shines as a portrait lens. Pleasing super smooth bokeh. Sharp at wide open becoming razor sharp when stopped to f2.8. This is my go to outdoors portrait glass. The white L zoom current stays at home gathering dust.
Unlike the 85L, this has a fast AF motor. From near to infinity, it snaps to focus instantaneously.
Overall this is a seriously good lens. It is considered one of the if not the best 135mm lens in the industry.


Jun 15, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Ghost to your Buddy List  
msavage
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 12, 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp
Cons:
No IS??

The best for unobstrusive street photography, or portrait. Much better than any zoom. The lens deserves its reputation, and its relatively inexpensive.

Jun 12, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add msavage to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
391 537381 Aug 4, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
96% of reviewers $1,290.06
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.80
9.40
9.9
ef135mmf_2l_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next