backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
50 137653 Aug 27, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $1,760.41
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.88
9.26
9.8
Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM

Specifications:
Name: Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor
Image Circle: 35mm
Type: Wide Zoom
Focal Length: 14 - 24mm
APS Equivalent: 21 - 36mm
Max Aperture: f/2.8
Min Aperture: f/22
Diaphragm Blades: 9 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 14 elements in 11 groups, including 2 ED, 3 aspherical, and one Nano Crystal Coat element
Diagonal Angle of View
(Based on image circle): 114 to 84 degrees
Focus Details: Silent Wave Motor; Internal Focusing
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: Rotary
Closest Focus: 28cm / 0.9 ft. (with focal length 18-24 mm)
Magnification Ratio: 0.15x / 1:6.7
Filter Size:
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): 131.5mm x 98mm / 5.2 in. x 3.9 in.
Weight: 1kg / 35.3 oz
Notes: Integrated hood. Included Accessories: Semi-soft Case CL-M3



 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 
          
Film_Ruled
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 20, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 653
Review Date: Dec 29, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp. Actually sharper than any prime in the range by *any* maker. Seriously...
Cons:
This ain't yo grandma'a 17-35. This is a very specialized lens that requires more care than the average lens. It is also big and heavy.

I had major hesitations in getting this lens as it is large and heavy *and* the front element is very exposed needing more care. I own all kinds of wide angle glass from Nikon, Canon, Zeiss, Leica and Hasselblad and this lens smokes all of them in anything comparable in the range. From 14-24 is is tack sharp all the way to the corners at 5.6 and beyond with very little difference from Center to edge. This lens is simply the best way to go if you need to go wider than 28mm. Wide open it simply sets a lofty new standard that nothing can touch. Handling is great, manual focus is smooth.

The zooming mechanism is most likely more delicate than most would imagine as it is moving the entire front element group to and fro in the zoom range so regular maintenance under pro use should be strongly considered to keep the tight tolerances of an ultra wide in play at all times.

This lens in no way replaces the 17-35 as it is much larger, heavy, more exposed and far more specialized. I intend on using this lens for aerial work, ultra wide advertising or anything in which there is low risk for scratches, inclement weather or hard environment PJ work.

Considering how much the Canon 14mm 2.8-II and the Nikon 14mm 2.8 are in price, this lens is a bargain as it simply blows away anything in the same focal lengths with ease at any aperture.

While it won't be going with me to the summit of Mt. Everest, I will be using it for a lot of things when practical to do so.

So Canon fanboys take heed: This lens is only the start from Nikon. One by one, Canon's optical lead will fall as each new well thought out and crafted Nikkor emerges.


Dec 29, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Film_Ruled to your Buddy List  
DavidWEGS
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3819
Review Date: Dec 14, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast to lock focus, sharp results at all apertures, great build, wide aperture.
Cons:
distorting a little a 14, minor but thought it worth mentioning.

Great fast(ish) wide zoom for quick work at parties. On the crop bodies it seems a great lens to replace the Nikon 12-24, or Tokina 12-24. I do think you need to be prepared to deal with the weight, though not like a 70-200.

There is no chance to use a polarizer as it won't take a filter.

I thought I would try it, and assumed it would be going back for a refund. Well, it's staying and I expect to start using it for work by early spring. Gives me time to adjust to it...


Dec 14, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add DavidWEGS to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
50 137653 Aug 27, 2016
Recommended By Average Price
98% of reviewers $1,760.41
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.88
9.26
9.8
Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM

supersize


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4