about | support
home
 

Search Used

Tokina 10-17mm f/3.5-4.5 AT-X 107 AF DX Fisheye

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
24 110883 Mar 25, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $544.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.57
9.48
9.5
atx107dx

Specifications:
Mount availability: Canon EOS, Nikon-D,
Focal length: 10 to 17mm
Maximum aperture: f/3.5-4.5
Minimum aperture: f/22
Optical construction: 10 elements in 8 groups
SD glass: One elements
Coatings: Multi-layer
Angle of view: 180 to 100
Minimum focus distance: 5.5 in. (14 cm)
Reproduction ratio: 1:2.56
Zooming system: Rotary type
Number of diaphragm blades: 6
Filter size: N/A
Maximum outer diameter: 2.75 in. (70mm)
Dimensions: 2.75 in. (70mm) X L 2.79 in. (71.1mm)
Weight: 12.3 oz. (350g)
Lens Hood Built-in
Availability: October 2006


 


Page:  1 · 2 
      
BudS
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 12, 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 7
Review Date: Nov 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: good build quality, versatile, unique, good image quality
Cons:

My first lens review - I am an amateur photographer, having sold a few prints, but I just do it mostly as a hobby and for use through work.

For the cropped sensor, this is an excellent lens. The zoom gives the option of fisheye or ultrawide angle when out at 13mm or 17mm or anywhere else along the zoom range.

The image quality is great and when I realized that every other regular fisheye lens was more expensive, this is a wonderful deal. I can recommend this lens, it is a great deal for the price. You will have fun and you will end up pulling it out of the bag more often than just a single use specialty lens, because of the zoom range.

Buy one and have fun out there!


Nov 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add BudS to your Buddy List  
Frank Eleveld
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 4, 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 4, 2007 Recommend? no | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

Pros: Sharp, good contrast, resistance to flare, build quality
Cons:
Really bad CA, variable aperture

The Tokina 10-17 fisheye is an interesting special-purpose lens. I really love wide-angle and fisheye lenses, but I decided to skip the Tokina AT-107. Reason for this is that it has severe problems with chromatic aberration in high contrast areas. I've tried a Canon version of this lens on a 30D and color fringing was visible even in 4 by 5" prints. A Nikon version was equally bad. LCA can be easily corrected in post-processing, so for some this issue might not be something to loose sleep about. It's not a bad lens, but I'd rather use the more expensive Nikkor 10.5 instead since its optical performance is just a slightly better - just enough to justify its extra expense, in my opinion.

Sep 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Frank Eleveld to your Buddy List  
Phast1
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 14, 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2082
Review Date: Sep 4, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Zoom from ultrawide fish to normal fish, Very sharp, Great color, solid build.
Cons:
none.

Right off the bat I must admit I'm not a big fisheye fan. Why I love this lens is it's versatility. At 10mm it's as fishy as Bush's reasons for invading Iraq.
At it's widest is has severe line distortions as a true fisheye is supposed to have. Very awesome for artistic endeavors. At the long end (17mm) it still distorts but not as severe and actually in a way you'd want it to for accentuating depth etc...

Amazing build quality, solid and smooth focus. Very sharp too. I like the colors much better than the sigma 15 fish which were a tad too warm for my taste. I wasn't sure a zoom of this type would have any merit to it but now that I've used it I see tremendous ability for artistic freedom rather than being stuck at 15mm with just a prime fish or a prime ultra-wide.

A great investment, highly recommended.


Sep 4, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Phast1 to your Buddy List  
Lani Kai
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 782
Review Date: Aug 8, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: The only 180-degree diagonal fisheye available for APS-H Good colors and sharpness Close MFD for interesting effects Excellent build, very smooth zoom ring
Cons:
Wild CA, not very flare resistant, no focus clutch

This is a very fun lens to use. It gives a full 180-degree diagonal fisheye effect on my 1D Mark II at 12mm and is the only lens capable of doing so. The lens vignettes at wider focal lengths, as it was not intended to be used on APS-H. Build is excellent and the focus ring is well damped. The front lens cap is a push-on type for obvious reasons but it stays on very well. Color is very saturated and contrast is high. As for sharpness, I couldn't ask for more, especially from such a wide lens. Highly recommended.

Aug 8, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lani Kai to your Buddy List  
mdg137
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Mar 3, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 372
Review Date: Jul 23, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Razor sharp
Cons:
Pretty dramatic CA.

Really, an amazing lens-- CA is a problem, but I had the same issue with the Nikon 10.5mm as well.

Jul 23, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mdg137 to your Buddy List  
Toys6
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 17, 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 12
Review Date: Jun 19, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, very good colors, CA, flare
Cons:

I use it on an EOS 30D. The lens is extremely sharp from center to corner. The colors and contrast are a 10! When you use a lens with an angle of 180, in some pictures you can see the sun. But this lens is very resistent to flare. So these "sun pictures" have good contrast.

I think, pentax uses very high quality glass und a very good coating. Colors, contrast and resistance to flare are very good.

You can connect it to an EOS 5D, but then you have to zoom up to 16mm. And you can compare it against the Sigma 15-EX-Fisheye, and this Tokina Zoom is better! Ive not seen the Canon 15-Fish, some say, the Sigma where better.

AF is not as good as an USM, but it is fast enough, and the AF is relatively silent.
The zoomring turns the wrong way. :-(

Maybe some of you do not know, you can NOT compare this Fisheye against a circular fisheye, this Tokina makes rectangular pictures. A circular make round pictures.

And, 10mm of this Tokina are not the same 10mm of a Canon 10-22. The Canon only reproduces 107

Final: When you search for a Fisheye and you want the 180, there is no better lens out there for EOS bodies.


Jun 19, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Toys6 to your Buddy List  
imageos
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 21, 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 12
Review Date: Jun 16, 2007 Recommend? | Price paid: Not Indicated

Pros:
Cons:
Jun 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add imageos to your Buddy List  
imageos
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 21, 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 12
Review Date: Jun 16, 2007 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: great metal built....
Cons:
just for ASP-C

execelent...favor for tele, i just change my mind...now i took only fishees:)

Jun 16, 2007
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add imageos to your Buddy List  




Tokina 10-17mm f/3.5-4.5 AT-X 107 AF DX Fisheye

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
24 110883 Mar 25, 2012
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $544.33
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.57
9.48
9.5
atx107dx


Page:  1 · 2