about | support
home
 

Search Used

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
313 490186 Sep 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $350.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.91
9.44
9.4
ef85mmf_18usm_1_

Specifications:
A highly practical medium telephoto lens with superb delineation and portability. Images are sharp and clear at all apertures. Through computer simulations, the lens has been designed to give beautiful background blur. Since the front lens group does not rotate during focusing special filter effects are not affected.


 


Page:  20 
          
ShootsQA
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 28, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 26
Review Date: Nov 20, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $320.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Size, weight, super quality
Cons:
None

Absolutely my favorite lens in the bag. Super quality with really nice color and very, very sharp. No drawbacks at all.

Nov 20, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ShootsQA to your Buddy List  
ikiteboarder
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 27, 2003
Location: South Africa
Posts: 90
Review Date: Nov 11, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very fast autofocus, excellent bokeh, sharp lens. 9.5/10 for this lens.
Cons:
doesn't come with lens hood

I've been using the lens along with my 300D for a few days now. Good people lens. On a 300D it's a 136mm - perfect for portraits.

When you use the wider apertures you have to make sure to focus on the eyes, else your pictures won't be useable. This is standard in all people photography, but with this lens it is even more important at f1.8 or other wider apertures. I find it to be sharp at f1.8 and do not experience any softness as reported by others - you will only experience it to be soft if you focused on the wrong point of your subject.

I can't find anything wrong with the optical quality, af focus speed or build quality. Money well spent.


Nov 11, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ikiteboarder to your Buddy List  
Lars Johnsson
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 29, 2003
Location: Thailand
Posts: 33650
Review Date: Jul 25, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $355.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast focusing, Good build quality, Great value
Cons:
None

I really love this 85 mm lens. It's perfect for portraits on a 10D. Autofocus is very fast. The lens is very sharp also.

Jul 25, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Lars Johnsson to your Buddy List  
junbug
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 23, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Review Date: Jul 4, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, bright (f1.8), cost, good look on 10D
Cons:
misses focus sometimes

135mm equiv. on 10D. Perfect for my use (to get architectural details). Excellent image quality.

Jul 4, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add junbug to your Buddy List  
psquared
Online
Image Upload: On



Registered: Apr 29, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 332
Review Date: Jun 4, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $275.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast AF; Excellent Bokeh; Silent focus; Sharp and Contrasty; Excellent value; Excellent build quality.
Cons:
None

This is one of my favorite lenses in the lineup for portraiture and candids. The AF with the this lens is one of the fastest I've shot with, just lagging behind the 70-200/2.8L non-IS.

Shooting close quarters indoor candids, I tend to find this lens on my camera almost permanently for the working distance, the speed for lowlight, and the AF speed. This lens is very sharp around f/3.0 and up. Contrast and color are very good. Bokeh is pleasing.


Jun 4, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add psquared to your Buddy List  
hugoso
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 18, 2002
Location: China
Posts: 291
Review Date: May 27, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: fast focusing sharp and contrasty, but not as good as 50/1.4 focusing accuracy is even better than 50/1.4
Cons:
my piece gethered quite a lot of dusts in the lens afer a few times uses.

excellent applicaion for snapshots of children/kids with 10D, even in low light.

May 27, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hugoso to your Buddy List  
M. Best
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 9, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 560
Review Date: Apr 19, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $339.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great color, sharp, focuses fast, F1.8
Cons:
not a F1.2...

Love this lens. It focuses super fast, even with my D60. I like to use it for portraits but some might find it a tad too long with the D30/D60/10D.
The boken is VERY nice.


Apr 19, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add M. Best to your Buddy List  
Jack Flesher
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Oct 23, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 3489
Review Date: Apr 1, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $250.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Speed, decent optics
Cons:

A decent performer for the money. Great lens for portraits/people -- however, where ultimate resolution is the goal, the 85/1.2 or the 135/2 L are better choices IMO.

Apr 1, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add Jack Flesher to your Buddy List  
rebel300
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 30, 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 13833
Review Date: Mar 29, 2003 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very sharp
Cons:
none

An exceptional lens for the low cost. Extremely sharp on the 10D, and sharp on the 1D. This lens is a bargain.
I'd rate it at a 4.1 on a 5 scale
LM


Mar 29, 2003
View profile View recent posts View reviews View gallery Add rebel300 to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
313 490186 Sep 26, 2014
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $350.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.91
9.44
9.4
ef85mmf_18usm_1_


Page:  20